(EE)
EN / RU
Community

Sergey Sapozhnikov on His Grandma, Graffiti, and Rostov-on-Don

Left: Sergey Sapozhnikov holds a camera for the first time. The photo was taken by Sergey's grandmother, Evgenia Vasilievna Pavlenko. Rostov-on-Don, 1995
Right: Evgenia Vasilievna Pavlenko, Sergei Sapozhnikov's grandmother. The photo was taken by himself. Rostov-on-Don, 1995

Everything started in 1994, when, at the age of ten, I got into music. I used to buy cassettes and listened to rap, which was super popular at the time. It had to do with the advance of Western culture in Russia: “Kinder Surprise,” chewing gums, and “Snickers.” By 1997, I had already started roller skating—the trend eventually reached Rostov-on-Don. We started studying roller skaters and skaters, and grew interested in breakdancing. The film Bullet was showing at that time and that’s where I saw graffiti for the first time—something that later also attracted my attention. 

My grandmother liked photography and was always busy shooting and documenting something: family, trips, and holidays. She was the first person who taught me to hold a camera and it was thanks to her that I realized we needed to photograph ourselves roller-skating and breakdancing and to shoot graffiti, which would not survive otherwise. When I became interested in art-related activities, there were actually no activities associated with it in my hometown, although some communities did exist—for example, “Art or Death” Society (Товарищество «Искусство или смерть»), although its members pretty quickly moved to Moscow.

When I was eighteen or nineteen years old, I also travelled to the capital and got in touch with graffiti artists, one of whom came to visit us in Rostov, and so moving out of the city seemed a natural step in my further development. At the age of twenty one, I was already partially living in Moscow, thinking it was extremely cool: I was delighted with its large scale, with the metro… At the age of twenty four or twenty five I entered the Institute of Contemporary Art. We had a very interesting class: Zhenya Antufiev, Sasha Povzner, Taus Makhacheva . . . Perhaps I was lucky, although my choice of that university was mainly determined by the desire to get to know everyone. The Institute itself did not have any influence on me: I never shared its values, aesthetics, and visual language. 

At that point, the strong influence of Western culture in which I had been raised started manifesting itself. People in Moscow really like writing and telling something, reflecting and conceptualizing—this is generally very true of Moscow. But as for me, I was used to listening to Western music, which provides a different understanding of aesthetics in art. I realized that I was more interested in the world and communication with international artists. By the way, I am still strongly connected with music, I also have a large collection of vinyl.

There are three important things I've learned thanks to my experience in photography,  breakdance, and graffiti. First, you need to catch a beautiful moment—this has to do with sport. Secondly, find an angle in which this moment looks spectacular. Third, shoot it by making it look better than it really is. These three principles, plus my fascination with Western cultural trends, played a major role in my studies of contemporary art.

My exhibition activity did not start right away, since I was doing contemporary photography that many failed to understand. In the former USSR, there were several photographers associated with contemporary art: Igor Mukhin, Sergey Bratkov, Arsen Savadov, Boris Mikhailov, and others. My career actually started in 2008 in Moscow, when I was working as Valery Koshlyakov’s assistant. He used to say that I needed to do art in the West. But I was a very young man from a poor family, so I had no opportunity to leave—I was earning my living myself. Thanks to Koshlyakov, I met Vladimir Levashov, who confirmed that it would be difficult for me to build a career in Moscow and said that as soon as Western curators paid attention to me, everything would be fine. In 2010, at the initiative of Teresa Mavica, I met curators of a large exhibition Modernikon organized by the V-A-C Foundation—Irene Calderoni, who was in charge of participants’ selection, and Francesco Bonami, who had the final word in approving their candidatures. It was a joint project with Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo. Having seen a few photographs of mine there, Irene immediately started negotiations regarding their purchase for the collection of this Turin fund.

Photos from the Khalabuda series by Sergey Sapozhnikov, 2008

My first good museum exhibition, Total Picture, was also held in Italy, at Poldi Pezzoli Museum in Milan, and it was also curated by Francesco Bonami. I am incredibly grateful both to him and Irene, they believed in me. It should be noted that in general I had few solo exhibitions in Russia. I made one in 2010—it was called Retreat and took place in the Paperworks gallery in Moscow. The next was set up only five years later in XL gallery. As a result, my first serious, well-thought exhibition was made in Russia only in 2016—The Drama Machine—curated by Irene Calderoni. Moreover, it was consciously created to be held in Rostov-on-Don. In my opinion, the main thing is to make a high-quality exhibition and it is not so important where it is held—in Moscow or elsewhere. 

By that time, I had already moved back to Rostov. How did it occur? From 2011 to 2013, I spent a lot of time in Europe. I got used to going to biennales, attending all kinds of museums and galleries, and visiting cool exhibitions. Of course, I was studying all Western classical art, Italian churches, paintings, sculptures—I felt delighted by the entire Italian culture. In 2013, when the rent of my Moscow apartment was already due, I decided to go to Malta to study English. This trip completely changed my idea of ​​how I wanted to live. It was incredibly beautiful there, just like paradise. There wasn’t the bustle of Moscow, but I also couldn't find any art life there as such. There was one museum, no galleries, but churches, murals, and the stunning Caravaggio in the Central Cathedral instead. I attended classic acoustic concerts at the church held every Friday.

On returning to Moscow and living there for two or three months, I packed my things and went back to Rostov. I realized that all the most interesting things in my life were not happening in Moscow, and living in Rostov-on-Don was pretty comfortable for me. I accepted my identity. We are often at odds with ourselves, we are ashamed of something, we fail to like things, we look for some flaws and try to seem better. Rostov is my hometown, where I grew up and I know everything, where I understand the course of things. For others it may be totally boring, but it gives me endless food for creativity. I shot all my projects here, including the book City, which I made together with Vladimir Levashov. I don't have to leave the city at all, since I will always have something to do here, and it is very important for me. 

Photos from the City series by Sergei Sapozhnikov

Not long ago, I returned from a trip to Dagestan. Ekaterina Privezentseva, whom I met while preparing an exhibition in Milan, invited me to take part in a local art residency. Then we worked together for a long time and developed a complete trust for each other. When Katya called and invited me to Dagestan, I never had a minute of doubt—I knew I had to go there. On this trip, I was partly inspired by photographers Ron Jude and Axel Hütte. I have lots of their books, and if one day I am able to shoot the way they do, it will be incredible. Speaking about the series on Dagestan, I was guided by the classics and was trying to figure out how to avoid copying anyone—without quoting directly, so as not to seem a follower, and at the same time—to enter into a dialogue with them. I believe it should be done like this.

It took us about ten hours of travelling in the mountains, we were shooting non-stop, tried local food, and were crazy about homemade national dishes. I think one should avoid tourist places, because through them you can never learn anything about the local culture and people. By the way, this is partly why I live in Rostov. Rostov is the real Russia and Moscow is a little fake. It is very important to think realistically. When Katya and I were talking about Dagestan, our initial goal was to draw attention to the region, to make people interested in it and to motivate them to go there. For example, in provincial cities architectural monuments can still be found, but many do not even know about it: in Dagestan we saw the House of Soviets designed by Ivan Zholtovsky and the Rostov Drama Theater named after Gorky, which by the way, was created by architects V. A. Shchuko and V. G. Gelfreich, known for their Lenin State Library project in Moscow. 

This trip was real research through which we aimed to understand what was already present there and with what we could start working. The history of Dagestan, its culture, architecture, national cuisine, arts and crafts, carpets—all this, of course, deserves special attention. In general, small settlements have a special rhythm of life that cannot be found either in Moscow or Rostov. Contemporary photography explores this particular feature, it helps to visually understand ​​how things look, how they have been preserved so far, and what has happened to them. As I have already said, it is important to think through the history of photography, to engage in dialogue with photobooks and other projects, to move in line with what has been reached by artists of the past, so that your work does not become isolated or follow some ambiguous purposes. This is what I am going to continue doing, helping to form interest in the region through photography.

Visage Hall, a North Caucasian perfumery chain, was a sponsor of the art residence in Dagestan.

Smart Art presents the works of Sergey Sapozhnikov.

Translated from Russian by Olga Bubich

Contributors
Sergey Sapozhnikov
Artist, photographer, curator. He was born in 1984 in Rostov-on-Don and graduated from the Department of Psychology of the Southern Federal University, later he studied at the Moscow Institute of Contemporary Art. Lives and works in Rostov-on-Don.

(EE)
EN / RU
Сообщество

Сергей Сапожников о бабушке, граффити и Ростове-на-Дону

Слева: Сергей Сапожников впервые держит в руках фотоаппарат. Фотография сделана бабушкой Сергея, Евгенией Васильевной Павленко. Ростов-на-Дону, 1995 год
Справа: Евгения Васильевна Павленко, бабушка Сергея Сапожникова. Фотографию сделал он сам. Ростов-на-Дону, 1995 год

Мой путь начался в 1994 году, когда мне было 10 лет и я активно интересовался музыкой. Ходил покупать кассеты, слушал рэп, который тогда был на пике популярности. Это было связано с проникновением в Россию западной культуры: киндер-сюрпризов, жвачек, сникерсов. К 1997-му я уже начал кататься на роликах, тогда этот тренд дошел до Ростова-на-Дону. Мы изучали роллеров, скейтеров, интересовались брейк-дансом. В прокате тогда шел фильм «Пуля», где я впервые увидел граффити, которыми впоследствии заинтересовался. 

Моя бабушка увлекалась фотографией и всегда что-то снимала и документировала: семью, поездки, отдых. Она научила меня держать в руках фотоаппарат, и благодаря ей я понял, что надо фотографировать, как мы катаемся на роликах, занимаемся брейк-дансом, снимать граффити, которые иначе не сохраняются и не выживают. Когда я заинтересовался художественной деятельностью, в родном городе связанной с ней жизни как таковой не было, хотя кое-какие объединения существовали, например Товарищество «Искусство или смерть», участники которого, правда, быстро перебрались в Москву. 

В 18–19 лет и я съездил в столицу, начал общаться с граффитчиками, кто-то из них бывал у нас в Ростове, и мне казалось, что естественным продолжением моего развития должен быть переезд. В 21 год я уже одной ногой жил там и думал, что это очень круто, был в восторге от масштаба, от метро. В 24–25 лет поступил в ИПСИ, у нас был очень интересный курс: я учился в одной группе с Женей Антуфьевым, Сашей Повзнером, Таус Махачевой. Пожалуй, мне повезло, хотя в ИПСИ я пошел больше для того, чтобы со всеми познакомиться. Сам институт не оказал на меня никакого влияния: мне всегда были ближе другие ценности, эстетика и визуальность. 

В этот момент также проявилось сильное влияние западной культуры, на которой я был воспитан. У нас любят что-то писать, рассказывать, рефлексировать, концептуализировать — это все очень аутентичная московская история. А я привык слушать западную музыку, которая дает другое понимание эстетики в искусстве. Понял, что мне больше интересен мир и общение с иностранными художниками. С музыкой я, кстати, до сих пор сильно связан, есть большая коллекция винила.

Благодаря тому что я фотографировал брейк-данс и граффити, я усвоил три важные вещи. Во-первых, нужно поймать момент, который будет красивым, — этот принцип вышел из спорта. Во-вторых — найти ракурс, в котором момент будет выглядеть эффектно. В-третьих — снять так, чтобы казалось лучше, чем есть на самом деле. Эти три принципа, а также увлечение трендами западной культуры и сыграли главную роль в моем обучении современному искусству.

Моя выставочная деятельность началась далеко не сразу, так как я занимался современной фотографией, которую многие не понимали. В странах бывшего СССР было несколько фотографов, связанных с современным искусством: Игорь Мухин, Сергей Братков, Арсен Савадов, Борис Михайлов и другие. Моя карьера начала развиваться в Москве в 2008 году, когда я подрабатывал ассистентом у Валерия Кошлякова. Он говорил тогда, что мне надо заниматься искусством на Западе. Но я был совсем молодым человеком из небогатой семьи, поэтому возможности уехать не было: зарабатывал на все сам. В 2010 году по инициативе Терезы Мавика я познакомился с кураторами выставки Modernikon, организуемой фондом V-A-C, — Ирене Кальдерони, которая занималась отбором участников, и Франческо Бонами, который уже окончательно их утверждал. Это был совместный проект с Фондом Сандретто Ре Ребауденго. Увидев тогда несколько моих снимков, Ирене сразу же начала договариваться об их приобретении в коллекцию этого туринского фонда.

Фотографии из серии «Халабуда» Сергея Сапожникова, 2008 год

У меня и первая хорошая музейная выставка Total Picture прошла в Италии, в миланском Музее Польди-Пеццоли, где куратором также был Франческо Бонами. Ему и Ирене я очень благодарен: они в меня поверили. Надо отметить, что у меня в России вообще было мало персональных выставок. Я сделал одну такую в 2010 году — она называлась «Отход» и проходила в галерее Paperworks в Москве. Следующая была лишь через пять лет в галерее XL. В итоге первая серьезная продуманная выставка — The Drama Machine — состоялась в России лишь в 2016 году. Мы специально подготовили ее для Ростова-на-Дону, а Ирене Кальдерони выступила куратором. По-моему, главное — сделать качественную выставку. И не так важно, где она будет — в Москве или где-то еще.

К тому моменту я уже перебрался жить обратно в Ростов. Как так получилось? С 2011 по 2013 год я провел очень много времени в Европе. Привык ездить на биеннале, ходить во всевозможные музеи и галереи, посещать крутые выставки. Безусловно, я изучал все западное классическое искусство, итальянские церкви, росписи, скульптуры — вся итальянская культура для меня остается предметом восторга. В 2013 году, когда у меня уже заканчивалась аренда квартиры в Москве, я решил поехать учить английский язык на Мальту. И эта поездка полностью изменила мое представление о том, как я хочу жить. Там безумно красиво, просто как в раю. Там нет московской суеты, как и художественной жизни как таковой. Там один музей, нет галерей, зато есть церкви, росписи, потрясающий Караваджо в Центральном соборе. Я ходил на классические акустические концерты, которые давали в церкви каждую пятницу.

Вернувшись в Москву и прожив в ней два или три месяца, собрал вещи и уехал обратно в Ростов. Я понял, что все самое интересное в моей жизни происходит не в Москве, а находиться в Ростове-на-Дону мне комфортно. Я принял свою идентичность. Мы зачастую не в ладах с самими собой, чего-то стесняемся, что-то нам не нравится, какие-то изъяны ищем, пытаемся казаться лучше. Ростов — мой родной город, где я вырос и все знаю, где понимаю, что происходит. Для других он может быть абсолютно неинтересным, но мне дает бесконечную пищу для творчества. Я снимал здесь все свои проекты, в том числе и книгу «Город» совместно с Владимиром Левашовым. Я могу отсюда вообще никуда не выезжать, мне есть чем здесь заняться, это для меня очень важно. 

Фотографии из серии «Город» Сергея Сапожникова

Буквально недавно я вернулся из поездки в Дагестан. Принять участие в местной арт-резиденции позвала Екатерина Привезенцева, с которой мы познакомились, когда делали выставку в Милане. Потом долгое время работали вместе, полностью доверяем друг другу. Когда Катя позвонила и пригласила в Дагестан, я ни на минуту не сомневался, что надо ехать. В этой поездке я отчасти вдохновлялся работами фотографов Рона Джуда и Акселя Хютте. У меня много их книг, и, если когда-нибудь мне удастся так же снимать, это будет невероятно. В серии о Дагестане я ориентировался на классиков и придумывал, как ни в кого не «попасть», не процитировать напрямую, чтобы не показаться последователем и в то же время вступить с ними в диалог. Считаю, что так и надо делать. 

Мы по десять часов путешествовали по горам, бесконечно снимали, пробовали дагестанскую еду, балдели от домашних национальных блюд. Думаю, что нужно избегать туристических мест: они не дают ничего понять о местной культуре и людях. Между прочим, отчасти именно поэтому я живу в Ростове. Ростов — это реальная Россия, а Москва — немного надуманная. Очень важно мыслить реалистично. Когда мы с Катей разговаривали о Дагестане, наша изначальная цель была привлечь внимание к региону, сделать так, чтобы люди заинтересовались и захотели туда поехать. Например, в провинциальных городах находятся памятники архитектуры, но многие об этом даже не подозревают: в Дагестане мы увидели Дом Советов, который был спроектирован Иваном Жолтовским. А Ростовский театр драмы имени Горького, кстати, создали архитекторы В. А. Щуко и В. Г. Гельфрейх, известные своей работой над московской библиотекой имени Ленина.

Эта поездка была настоящим исследованием: мы смотрели, что уже есть и с чем мы будем работать. История Дагестана, его культура, архитектура, национальная кухня, декоративно-прикладное искусство, ковры — все это интересно. Вообще, в маленьких местах особый ритм жизни, которого нет ни в Москве, ни в Ростове. И современная фотография исследует именно эту исключительность, дает визуальное представление о том, как она выглядит, как сохранилась, что с ней происходило. Как я уже говорил, важно мыслить историей фотографии, вести диалог с фотокнигами, другими проектами, продолжать линию художников прошлого, чтобы работа не стала чем-то оторванным и непонятно зачем сделанным. Этим я и продолжу заниматься — и таким образом, через фотографию, помогу пробудить интерес к региону.

Спонсором арт-резиденции в Дагестане выступила северокавказская парфюмерная сеть Visage Hall.

Компания Smart Art представляет работы Сергея Сапожникова

Авторы
Сергей Сапожников
Художник, фотограф, куратор. Родился в 1984 году в Ростове-на-Дону. Закончил в 2008 году факультет психологии Южного федерального университета. Учился в Институте проблем современного искусств в Москве. Живёт и работает в Ростове-на-Дону.