(EE)
EN / RU
News

Qatari Foundation Intervenes in Museum Artifacts Dispute in Jerusalem

Islamic artefacts that were expected to be sold by Sotheby’s auction house in London last October.
Sotheby's via Twitter

The collection of rare objects of the Museum of Islamic Art in Jerusalem appeared at the auction of Sotheby's in October 2019. However, due to numerous violations of the sale procedure, the transaction was suspended. A solution to the  situation was proposed by the Qatar Foundation for Education, Science and Social Development, owned by the ruling Al Thani family: this organization will pay the auction house compensation for losses due to the cancellation of the transaction and then the items will be returned from London to the Museum of Islamic Art in Jerusalem.

268 rare objects were put up for sale at the initiative of one of the Museum's sponsors to continue and support the institution's activities. But in the process of transferring the exhibits, the Ministry of Culture, Israel Antiquities Authority, the Museum, the sponsorship fund, and the auction house were convicted of violations of the law on museums and historical artifacts. The Israeli Supreme Court has suspended the deal and the Qatari foundation has proposed a solution to the protracted dispute—to pay compensation to Sotheby's and keep the collection in Jerusalem.

Exhibits accounted for five percent of the collection of the entire Museum, among the objects on display were manuscripts, carpets, music boxes, and clocks. According to various estimates, the sale of these works could bring the Museum of Islamic Art from 4.13 to 6.1 million dollars.

(EE)
EN / RU
Новости

Катарский фонд вмешался в спор о музейных артефактах в Иерусалиме

Исламские артефакты, выставленные на продажу аукционным домом Sotheby’s в октябре прошлого года в Лондоне.
Sotheby's via Twitter

Коллекция редких объектов Музея исламского искусства в Иерусалиме появилась на торгах аукционного дома «Сотбис» в октябре 2019 года. Однако из-за многочисленных нарушений процедуры продажи сделка была приостановлена. Выход из ситуации предложил Катарский фонд образования, науки и общественного развития, принадлежащий правящей семье Аль Тани: эта организация выплатит аукционному дому компенсацию убытков из-за отмены сделки, а затем предметы вернут из Лондона в Музей исламского искусства в Иерусалиме.

268 редких объектов было выставлено на продажу по инициативе одного из спонсоров Музея для продолжения и поддержки деятельности учреждения. Но в процессе передачи экспонатов Министерство культуры, Управление древностей Израиля, Музей, спонсорский фонд и аукционный дом были уличены в нарушениях закона о музеях и исторических артефактах. Верховный суд Израиля приостановил сделку, а фонд из Катара предложил решение затянувшегося спора – выплатить компенсацию «Сотбису» и сохранить коллекции в Иерусалиме.

Экспонаты составляли пять процентов от собрания всего Музея, среди выставленных объектов были рукописи, ковры, музыкальные шкатулки и часы. По разным оценкам, продажа этих произведений могла бы принести Музею исламского искусства от 4,13 до 6,1 миллиона долларов.