(EE)
EN / RU
News

Robot with Saudi Arabian Citizenship Sold Self-portrait at NFT Auction

Sophia.
via Instagram

Saudi Arabia’s citizen Sophia—the world's first humanoid robot developed by a Hong Kong-based company—sold a digital self-portrait in the form of a non-fungible token (NFT) for nearly $ 700,000. This is her debut in the art world.

Sophia, who appeared in 2016, has been creating art in collaboration with the thirty one year old Italian digital artist Andrea Bonacheto. She has combined elements from the works of Bonacheto, works of world art, and her own drawings and paintings performed on various surfaces. The digital work, titled Sophia Instantiation, is a twelve second MP4 file showing the transformation of Bonaceto's portrait into a digital painting, accompanied by a physical copy of the work. The robot's creator, based in Hong Kong, David Hanson of Hanson Robotics, said he was surprised by the auction’s results.

NFT, a digital signature stored in blockchain ledgers, allows anyone with ownership of an item to sell it. Such auctions have become one of the latest investment trends: the cost of one work reached almost $ 70 million.

(EE)
EN / RU
Новости

Робот с гражданством Саудовской Аравии продал автопортрет на торгах NFT

София.
via Instagram

Гражданка Саудовской Аравии София — первый в мире робот-гуманоид, разработанный компанией из Гонконга, — продала цифровой автопортрет в форме non-fungible token (NFT) почти за 700 000 долларов. Это ее дебют в мире искусства.

София, появившаяся в 2016 году, занималась творчеством в сотрудничестве с 31-летним итальянским художником по цифровым технологиям Андреа Боначето. Она сочетала элементы из работ Боначето, произведений мирового искусства и своих собственных рисунков и картин, выполненных на различных поверхностях. Цифровая работа под названием Sophia Instantiation представляет собой 12-секундный файл MP4, демонстрирующий превращение портрета Боначето в цифровую картину, и сопровождается физической копией произведения. Создатель робота, проживающий в Гонконге Дэвид Хансон из Hanson Robotics, сказал, что был удивлен результатами торгов.

NFT, цифровая подпись, сохраненная в блокчейн-реестрах, позволяет любому с правом собственности на предмет выставлять работы на торги. Подобные аукционы стали одним из последних инвестиционных трендов: стоимость произведений доходила почти до 70 000 000 долларов.