(EE)
EN / RU
News

UAE Presents First Female Astronaut from Arab Region

Nora AlMatrooshi.
Mohammed Bin Rashid Space Centre via Twitter

More than 4,000 candidates applied for the ambitious space program from the government of the United Arab Emirates, but it was Nora AlMatrooshi who became the finalist and the first female astronaut from the Arab region.

For 27-year-old AlMatrooshi, who received a bachelor's degree from the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, space has been a passion since childhood: "The nation gave me unforgettable moments today. I aim to work hard to script historical moments and achievements that will be etched forever in the memory of our people." Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, ruler of Dubai and prime minister of the country, commented on the event on Twitter: ""We announce the first Arab female astronaut, among two new astronauts . . . to be trained with NASA for future space exploration missions."

In February, the UAE became the first Arab country and the fifth country in the world to reach Mars after the Hope Probe spacecraft orbited the Red Planet. In addition, the United Arab Emirates has set ambitious goals to fly to the moon in 2024 and establish settlements on Mars by 2117.

(EE)
EN / RU
Новости

В ОАЭ представили первую женщину-астронавта из арабского региона

Нора аль-Матруши.
Mohammed Bin Rashid Space Centre via Twitter

Более 4000 кандидатов претендовали на участие в амбициозной космической программе от правительства Объединенных Арабских Эмиратов, но именно Нора аль-Матруши стала финалисткой и первой женщиной-астронавтом из арабского региона.

Для 27-летней аль-Матруши, получившей степень бакалавра на факультете машиностроения, космос был страстью с детства: «Страна преподнесла мне незабываемый подарок. Я буду усердно работать, чтобы записывать моменты истории и те достижения, которые навсегда останутся в памяти нашего народа». Шейх Мохаммед бин Рашид Аль Мактум, правитель Дубая и премьер-министр страны, прокомментировал это событие в твиттере: «Первая женщина из арабского региона станет участницей тренировочных программ NASA для будущих миссий по исследованию космоса».

В феврале ОАЭ стали первой арабской страной и пятой страной в мире, достигшей Марса после запуска космического корабля Hope Probe на орбиту Красной планеты. Кроме того, Арабские Эмираты поставили амбициозные цели — полететь на Луну в 2024 году и основать населенные пункты на Марсе к 2117-му.