(EE)
EN / RU
EASTEAST PAPER

EastEast Paper is an art publication and artefact. Published in Russian, English, and Arabic, it orchestrates dialogue among a multitude of different “easts”—geographical, intellectual, historical, and socio-cultural—involving artists, curators, philosophers, and researchers.

The centerfold of each issue is taken up by “Majlis,” a section, featuring Arabic translations, that metaphorically unites different cultures and viewpoints like a round table. “East Mirrors East” is a conversation between former Qatari Ambassador to Russia Fahad Al-Attiyah and philosophers and people from the field of art: in our first issue, “On Water,” he spoke with Boris Groys; in our second issue, “Crossroads,” with Hermitage director Mikhail Piotrovsky. The “Portraits” section features two poster-size artworks, continuing the tradition of making art accessible to everyone.

Translating iconic texts into Russian and English is one of the missions of EastEast Paper. So far, in Russian, we have published Egyptian architect Hassan Fathi’s programmatic guide to mudbrick architecture, the chapter “Moorish Ornament” from Owen Jones’s The Grammar of Ornament, and conversations with Ahmed Paul Keeler and Patti Smith. Kuzma Petrov-Vodkin’s Samarkandia (1923) was first published in English in EastEast Paper, along with Boris Groys’s “Virus as Cultural Ideal” (2020) and other texts.

EastEast Paper charts an alternate course through the present outside the fairway formed by the Orientalist approach, setting new coordinates for possible scenarios of future development. At the moment, we have published two issues, each in a circulation of ten thousand copies: “On Water” (ISBN 978-5-6045059-0-8) and “Crossroads” (ISBN 978-5-6045059-1-5).

EastEast Paper is distributed free of charge in art institutions, museums, galleries, bookstores, libraries, restaurants and hotels in Moscow and St. Petersburg. The full list can be found here.

You can contact us at paper@easteast.world


TEAM:

Elena Yushina
Chief Editor

Andrey Shelyutto
Art Director

Irina Chekmareva
Design and layout

Arina Oblakova
Executive Secretary

Olga Ulyanova
Editor

Andrey Bauman, Thomas Campbell
Proofreading

Thomas Campbell
English translation

Olga Ulyanova
English–Russian translation

Alexandra Shirshova
Arabic–Russian and Russian–Arabic translation

Diana Valaeva
Distribution manager

(EE)
EN / RU
EASTEAST PAPER

Художественное издание-артефакт на русском, английском и арабском языках, которое выстраивает диалог между множеством Востоков — географических, ментальных, исторических и социокультурных — при участии представителей художественной среды, философов и исследователей.

Центральный разворот каждого выпуска занимает рубрика Majlis с переводами на арабский язык, метафорически объединяющая вокруг себя разные культуры и точки зрения. Рубрика «Восток в отражении Востока» включает беседы экс-посла Катара в России Фахада Аль-Аттыйя с философами и профессионалами из сферы искусства: для первого выпуска издания, «На воде», он беседовал с Борисом Гройсом, а для второго, «Перекрестки», — с директором Эрмитажа Михаилом Пиотровским. Две полосы рубрики «Портреты» занимают произведения-постеры, которые мы публикуем, продолжая традицию доступного «искусства в каждый дом».

Одна из ключевых особенностей издания — переводы знаковых текстов на русский и английский язык. На русском уже опубликованы программный «Путеводитель по саману» египетского архитектора Хассана Фатхи, глава «Мавританский орнамент» из книги Оуэна Джонса «Грамматика орнамента», беседы с Ахмедом Полом Килером и Патти Смит. На английском языке впервые вышли «Самаркандия» (1923) Кузьмы Петрова-Водкина, «Вирус как культурный идеал» (2020) Бориса Гройса и другие тексты.

EastEast Paper создает альтернативную навигацию по современности и вне проекции ориенталистского подхода задает новые координаты для возможных сценариев развития будущего. Вышло два номера издания — «На воде» (ISBN 978-5-6045059-0-8) и «Перекрестки» (ISBN 978-5-6045059-1-5). Тираж каждого составляет 10 тысяч экземпляров.

Издание распространяется бесплатно в художественных институциях, музеях, галереях, книжных магазинах, библиотеках, ресторанах и отелях Москвы и Санкт-Петербурга. Полный список мест вы найдете по ссылке.

Связаться с редакцией можно по адресу paper@easteast.world


КОМАНДА:

Елена Юшина
Главный редактор

Андрей Шелютто
Арт-директор

Ирина Чекмарёва
Дизайн и верстка

Арина Облакова
Ответственный секретарь

Ольга Ульянова
Редактор

Андрей Бауман, Томас Кэмпбелл
Корректура

Томас Кэмпбелл
Перевод на английский язык

Ольга Ульянова
Перевод на русский язык

Александра Ширшова
Перевод на арабский и с арабского на русский язык

Диана Валаева
Менеджер дистрибуции