(EE)
EN / RU
Cultural Creative Agency

They Fought for Their Youth

On June 4–6, several free screenings will take place in St. Petersburg as a part of the Qatar Film Days festival of contemporary cinema from the Middle East and North Africa. One of the films presented to Russian audiences is Nardjes A.—the documentation of a day in the life of an Algerian activist who takes part in an anti-government rally. Anna Filippova explains why this story does not feel like something that occurs in a distant land. 

The film was shot by Karim Aïnouz. Born in Brazil, he is half Algerian: his father is a Berber. Initially, he came to his ancestral homeland to work on a completely different film, Algerian by Accident, an autobiographical story about a person who travels to his native land for the first time, visiting a place he has never actually been. The director’s first visit took place in 2019, when he arrived to shoot an episode about the war of independence of Algeria (1954–1962) that his father had participated in. A week after his arrival, local mass protests broke out and he decided to film them. And it is with a mention of the events of the war of the middle of the 20th century in the opening credits—a landmark event for Algerians and a decolonial starting point—that the film Nardjes A. begins.

February 2019: the formation of a social movement called Hirak (Arabic for “movement”) became a turning point. Every Friday, Algerians took to the squares demanding political changes. The uncompromising thesis of the first rallies was the resignation of President Abdelaziz Bouteflika, who by then had not been appearing in public for many years. He was once a national hero who had unified the country after a bloody and brutal civil war during the 1990s—the so-called “Black decade.” Twenty years later, having suffered a stroke in 2013 and celebrated his 82nd birthday, Bouteflika continued heading the state. The trigger for the outbreak of the protests was the presidential nomination for his fifth term of office.

The old establishment representatives were still ruling in Algeria and their personal enrichment was possible thanks to the developed oil and gas sector. Over those two decades, all the super-profits of the state were spent not on the support of entrepreneurial initiatives or the development of civil institutions, but solely on facilitating a consumer boom: payments to the population, housing benefits, profitable loans given for the purchase of cars—all the means were meant to ensure loyalty.

Demographics undermined the stability of this, in general, already tried-and-tested model underlined by the authoritarian government and the loyalist society. Arab countries, and Algerian society in particular, are very young. A new generation had grown up characterized by fearlessness regarding the horror stories of the civil war the current government supposedly protects people from. Moreover, the young people were very much annoyed by the fact that under the current regime they have absolutely no future. There were no social lifts, no jobs, no civil liberties. To paraphrase the Kabakovs, “the wrong people will be taken into the future.”

Nardjes is one of the participants in the mass protest, a fearless emancipated woman. It is with her that Aïnouz spent the whole day on March 8, 2019—from early morning until late at night. The director speaks fluent Arabic, but he sometimes prefers to keep this fact a secret—for example, during the making of his other film Tempelhof Central Airport when he communicated with Arab protagonists, pretending to be a foreigner who did not understand anything. He needs such a distance both as a person who has come to look at his own, but at the same time, has come from a foreign country, and as a director who is simply obliged to take a couple of steps back in order to prevent himself from involuntarily showing his feelings and give space for authorial manipulations. This time, he also neither asks questions nor interacts with the protagonist in any way—the only thing he does is dispassionate observation. The entire film was shot on a smartphone because the Algerian authorities banned the use of professional equipment, threatening to revoke the license. This is a good example of how technical limitations can be compensated for by a director's ingenuity and editing. Having a story is the most important thing—a shooting method is something to come up with later. 

Obviously, Nardjes was not taking part in the rallies not for the first time, as even her body seemed to be getting used to a special routine. When waking up early on the morning of March 8, she felt the lack of sleep, she was nervous and shaking. The protagonist’s father, who was also an activist in the past and was accused of having connections with the communists, was living abroad, and judging by his question about what was happening in Algeria, was far removed from the local political agenda. Certainly, Nardjes did not tell him she was going to attend a rally she risked not returning from. She had a casual talk with her father while finishing breakfast and then took a taxi to the city center, where she was met by roaring crowds.

The feeling of being immersed in the diverse exalted crowd that seems to carry you along wide avenues lined with houses built in the style of the Second Empire—another reminder of the metropolis—is generally a powerful feeling that the film gives. The protesters are chanting, “We demand a civil, not a military state!”, “No to the fifth term!No to the fifth term!After Bouteflika’s resignation on April 2, 2019 and the appointment of a new election, it was changed to “No to the shameful vote on December 12!”.”, “You are destroying the country!” They dance, sing songs, and beat drums.

Before my eyes, there is an amazingly cinematic image peaceful for the Eastern European eye: what kind of protest can be held with such Dionysian dances? At some point, the buzz started in my head because of all those chants, pitches, and patriotic songs: it is hard to imagine what a person on the other side of the screen feels in the epicenter of that orgy. After the end of the rally, the protesters begin collecting garbage, helping victims, checking on one another—did everyone return safe? Certainly, this almost idyllic picture does not contribute much to getting to the point of the Algerian regime: it was only in the beginning, when the authorities tried to pretend to start a dialogue with the opposition. Even in the pre-election campaign videos broadcast before the presidential election with similar candidates, Bouteflika’s functionaries, one could spot the footage from the spring protests. All this was just an imitation and the hypocrisy was instantly recognized: there were calls to boycott the presidential election, demands for lustration and a complete change of the political elite. Then sporadic detentions and arrests escalated into prison sentences for the protest leaders and some of its participants.

After a few hours full of adrenaline, simply returning home feels like an impossible thing to do and in the evening Nardjes, together with her friends, goes to a cafe to discuss this endless day. There is no fierce debate about the future of Algeria and the ways “to build the country back.” No one has any energy left and they keep on communicating, staying around for the sake of the sense of support and because of the impossibility to go to bed in their state. After the cafe, the friends head off to the club to forget themselves in dance and at least for a minute remember what their youth is for. Isn’t the point of youth to direct all your energy and time trying to be heard? Otherwise, one just has to endlessly wait.

The youth all around the world finally seems to be tired of waiting. They are ready to make themselves heard—another point is that nothing guarantees success. The euphoria of 1968 was followed by the disappointment of the 1970s, and the same thing can occur this time, too. This multi-million crowd has a lot of energy and hope, but in the political struggle neither, alas, are they seen as arguments or tools, moreover all is done to exclude the youth from economic life. To some extent, Nardjes A. is a very cosmopolitan film: it does not limit itself to documenting the Algerian protest, but captures something that instead reflects the worldwide resentment and the demand for global restructuring .

Nardjes A. creates a meaningful connection with the film Papicha by Mounia Meddour which will also be shown during the first screenings at Qatar Film Days. It also presents a story about youth and its sometimes insidious nature—because it gives you hope even when you find yourself in the epicenter of hell. Papicha documents the events of that very “Black decade”—the beginning of the civil war, anarchy, and violence. Twenty years later, the youth face the choice again—how to behave when your life is stolen. So far, they are choosing to resist.

Translated from Russian by Olga Bubich

Contributors
Anna Filippova
Editor and film producer. Graduated from Moscow State Institute of International Relations with a major in Turkish language and from a business school in San Francisco. Anna writes about the cinema and musical culture of Turkey and West Asia, as well as the growing role of women in cultural and political processes of the region.

(EE)
EN / RU
Cultural Creative Agency

Они сражались за молодость

С 4 по 6 июня в Санкт-Петербурге пройдет несколько бесплатных показов в рамках фестиваля современного кино стран Западной Азии и Северной Африки Qatar Film Days. Среди фильмов, которые можно будет увидеть, — документальная лента «Нарджес А.», хроника одного дня алжирской активистки, отправляющейся на антиправительственный митинг. Анна Филиппова рассказывает, почему этот фильм не ощущается как рассказ о чем-то далеком. 

Автор дока, режиссер Карим Айноз, хотя и родился в Бразилии, сам наполовину алжирец: его отец — бербер. Изначально Карим приехал на родину предков снимать совсем другой фильм, Algerian By Accident («Случайный алжирец»), — автобиографический рассказ о человеке, который возвращается домой, где никогда не был. Впервые режиссер попал туда в 2019-м — снимать эпизод про войну за независимость Алжира 1954–1962 годов, в которой участвовал его отец. Через неделю после приезда Карима начались местные массовые протесты, и он решил снимать их. Но с титров о той войне середины XX века — знаковом для алжирцев событии и точке деколониального отсчета — начинается фильм «Нарджес А.». 

Февраль 2019 года: поворотным моментом стало формирование общественного движения под названием Hirak (с араб. — «движение»). Каждую пятницу алжирцы выходили на площади с требованием политических перемен. Бескомпромиссный тезис первых митингов — отставка президента Абделя Азиза Бутефлики, на тот момент уже много лет не появляющегося на публике. Когда-то он был национальным героем, объединившим страну после кровавой гражданской войны 1990-х — так называемого «черного десятилетия». Двадцать лет спустя, пережив инсульт в 2013 году и отпраздновав 82-й день рождения в 2019-м, Бутефлика продолжал управлять государством. Триггером для начала протестов стало выдвижение президента на пятый срок. 

В Алжире до сих пор правят представители старого истеблишмента, и их личное обогащение обеспечивается развитым нефтегазовым сектором. Все сверхдоходы государства эти два десятилетия уходили не на поощрение предпринимательской инициативы или развитие гражданских институтов, но исключительно на фасилитацию потребительского бума: выплаты населению, льготы на жилье, выгодные кредиты на машины. Все для обеспечения лояльности.

Устойчивость обкатанной модели «авторитарная власть и вращающееся вокруг нее лоялистское общество» подрывает демография. Арабские страны и, в частности, алжирское общество очень молодые. Выросло новое поколение, и оно не реагирует на страшилки про гражданскую войну, от которой якобы защищает нынешняя власть. Зато молодые люди раздражены тем, что при нынешнем режиме у них нет решительно никаких перспектив. Нет социальных лифтов, работы, гражданских свобод. Перефразируя Кабаковых, «в будущее возьмут не тех». 

Нарджес — одна из участниц массового протеста, бесстрашная эмансипе. Именно с ней Айноз проводит целый день 8 марта 2019 года, с раннего утра до поздней ночи. Режиссер свободно разговаривает на арабском, но иногда этот факт скрывает — например, во время съемок другого своего фильма, «Центральный аэропорт Темпельхоф», он общался с арабскими героями, притворяясь ничего не понимающим иностранцем. Такая дистанция ему необходима и как человеку, который приехал посмотреть на свою, но чужую страну, и как режиссеру, который просто обязан сделать пару шагов назад, чтобы невольно не дать воли чувствам и не допустить авторской манипуляции: речь все-таки о документальном кино. В этот раз он тоже не задает вопросов, никак не взаимодействует с героиней, только бесстрастно наблюдает. Фильм целиком снят на смартфон, потому что профессиональную аппаратуру алжирские власти использовать запретили, пригрозив отобрать лицензию. Это хороший пример того, как можно компенсировать технические ограничения за счет режиссерской изобретательности и монтажа. Был бы сюжет, а способ снять найдется. 

Нарджес явно не в первый раз отправляется на митинг, даже ее организм уже выработал особую рутину. Утром 8 марта она не выспалась, нервничает, ее трясет. Отец героини, в прошлом тоже активист, обвиненный в связях с коммунистами, живет за границей и, судя по их телефонному разговору, далек от алжирской политической повестки. Нарджес, само собой, не говорит, что идет на акцию протеста, с которой может не вернуться. Она буднично разговаривает с отцом за завтраком, а потом берет такси до центра города, где ее встречает ревущая толпа. 

Это мощное ощущение от фильма, чувство погружения в разношерстную, экзальтированную толпу, которая как будто несет тебя по широким проспектам, застроенным домами в стиле Второй империи, — еще одно напоминание о метрополии. Протестующие скандируют: «Требуем гражданское, а не военное государство!», «Нет пятому сроку!»«Нет пятому сроку!»После отставки Бутефлики 2 апреля 2019 года и назначения новых выборов лозунг сменится на «Нет позорному голосованию 12 декабря!»., «Вы разрушаете страну!». Они танцуют, поют, бьют в барабаны.

Перед глазами какая-то удивительно киногеничная и мирная для восточноевропейского глаза картинка: что это за протест с дионисийскими танцами? В какой-то момент начинает гудеть голова от кричалок, вувузел и патриотических песен — сложно представить, что чувствует человек, находящийся по ту сторону экрана, в эпицентре этой вакханалии. После окончания акции протестующие идут собирать мусор с улиц, помогают пострадавшим, обзванивают друг друга: все ли вернулись? Конечно, эта почти идиллическая картинка мало отражает суть алжирского режима: это первое время власти пытались делать вид, что пошли на диалог с несогласными и стали к ним прислушиваться. Даже в предвыборных агитроликах с похожими друг на друга кандидатами — функционерами Бутефлики можно было увидеть кадры из весенних протестов. Все это было лишь имитацией, и это лицемерие было мгновенно распознано — звучали призывы бойкотировать президентские выборы, требования люстраций и полной смены политической элиты. Потом единичные задержания переросли в тюремные сроки для лидеров протеста и некоторых его участников. 

После нескольких адреналиновых часов невозможно просто вернуться домой, и вечером Нарджес идет в кафе с друзьями, чтобы обсудить этот бесконечный день. Никакой бурной дискуссии про будущее Алжира и то, «как нам обустроить страну», не последовало. Ни у кого не осталось сил, все общаются по инерции и остаются тут ради чувства плеча и из-за невозможности в таком состоянии просто отправиться спать. После кафе друзья отправляются в клуб, чтобы забыться в танце и хотя бы на минуту вспомнить, для чего дана молодость. Разве для того, чтобы тратить все силы и время, пытаясь быть услышанными? В противном случае — просто ждать, ждать, ждать. 

Кажется, молодежь по всему миру окончательно устала ждать. И наконец готова громко заявить о себе, — другое дело, что ничто не гарантирует ее успеха. После эйфории 1968 года последовало разочарование 1970-х, и не факт, что этого не произойдет на этот раз. У этой многомиллионной толпы есть много энергии и надежды, но в политической борьбе это, увы, не аргумент и не инструмент, а из экономической жизни этих людей старательно исключают. В какой-то степени «Нарджес А.» — очень космополитичный фильм: он не ограничивается зарисовкой алжирского протеста, но схватывает что-то, отражающее общемировой ресентимент и запрос на глобальную перестройку. 

«Нарджес А.» хорошо рифмуется с фильмом из первой волны показов Qatar Film Days — «Лапочка», снятым кинематографисткой Мунией Меддур. Это тоже история про молодость и про то, как коварна она порой бывает, потому что дает тебе надежду, даже если за окном кромешный ад. «Лапочка» фиксирует происходящее в то самое «черное десятилетие» — начало гражданской войны, анархию, насилие. Двадцать лет спустя молодые люди опять стоят перед выбором: как вести себя, когда твою жизнь крадут. Пока они выбирают сопротивляться. 

Авторы
Анна Филиппова
Редактор, продюсер. Закончила МГИМО со специализацией по турецкому языку и бизнес-школу в Сан-Франциско. Пишет о кинематографе и музыкальной культуре Турции и Западной Азии, а также о растущей роли женщин в культурном и политическом процессе.