(EE)
EN / RU
Music

Comforting Noise: The Balinese Art of Baleganjur

Playlist by Putu Tangkas Adi Hiranmayena. See the tracklist on our Soundcloud page

The aggregate of soundscapes occupying the island of Bali and its nine regenciesregenciesThe second-level administrative subdivision in Indonesia, immediately below the provinces, and above the districts. suggests a vibrant and complicated cacophonous sociality. Diverse and disparate musics convene on one another in a clash for sonic and ideological space that is contentious yet harmonious. Performances of expressive arts spill over from rice fields to busking streets blurring the lines between sacred and secular. Processionals of clanging metal march down the street and are met with the incongruous rock concert in its periphery. Indigenous Balinese, Indonesian, and expatriate bodies in close quarters—and sonorities demystified as the promise of paradise is conflated. Within this chaos is a music that is deemed essential to Hindu-Balinese cosmology and performed specifically to appease dark or disruptive entities: Baleganjur.

Bali’s history of colonialism and tourism highlights local political agendas that are concerned with creating an ostensible utopia as its global worldview. Many come in search of higher consciousness and a yoga-fed spirituality that is usually predicated on the filtered social media-scape, which too often imposes stereotypical modalities of New Age cosmology. It is complicated by national discourse on sustaining an agrarian "play-state" as it is promoted through the enticing noise of capitalism. Baleganjur is a highly spiritual music that functions in opposition to these worldviews. Yet, the creativity of indigenous communities continues to be a hallmark of Balinese identity and this described ideological noise necessitates an affective comfort for the occupants and stewards of Bali. Baleganjur is music that not only evokes comfort in fulfilling ceremonial duties, but also provokes political ideology as a performative enactment of claiming indigeneity.

The genre is tied to Bali’s military history, in particular the mass ritual suicide, Puputan, which occurred on on September 20th, 1906, the day the regency of Badung (and subsequently, most of Bali) fell to Dutch colonial forces. The rivers of Balinese blood extracted from their own ceremonial daggers were showered by the confetti of jewels as they were thrown toward their colonizers and the bronze from the instruments of the court gamelan was melted in order to minimize the ransack of Balinese cultural artifacts. To these people of Badung, this was not war, this was an apocalypse. War implies a battle; here, hardly any colonizing bodies shed blood and reincarnation seemed unattainable. 

“The procession to the sacred source is accompanied by Gong Mudraswara, who play ‘bebonangan’ or ‘balaganjur music’.” Ubud, Gianyar, Bali, 1978–1979

W.L.J. van Gessel, CC BY-SA 4.0 / Nationaal Museum van Wereldculturen

The term baleganjur refers to processional gamelan music that is performed in support of Balinese social ideologies and functions. Bala means lines or troops and ganjur means to march. Based on baleganjur’s performativity, I extend the definition to include, “marching in haste with militarized choreography.” Here, I use the term “militarize” to invoke baleganjur’s historical past as a functional music of armed forces, as well as its desired character to embody kepahlawanan (heroism). Whether it is part of the procession with a deceased body to the cremation site (setra); in precisely choreographed competitions of regional pride (lomba); as a point of artistic hybridity with heavy metal communities; or aiding in protest sounds to fight the reclamation of Tanjung BenoaTanjung BenoaA peninsula in the Badung Regency of Bali that is famous for its beaches. There has been ongoing and significant local opposition to a proposed tourism mega-development planned for the area.; baleganjur’s dynamism affords comfort for Balinese people through discursive ontologies of commotion and darkness.

There are many iterations of baleganjur instrumentation. At its core baleganjur requires one or two gong ageng (large-sized gong), one kempul (medium-sized gong), one bende (flat gong), at least four ceng-ceng kopyak (hand cymbals), one kempli or tawa-tawa (hand held gong; time-keeper), one set of bebonangan or reyong (potted knobbed gongs), a pair of ponggang and a pair of kendang (hand drums struck with a mallet). Many baleganjur groups in Bali today expand this primary instrumentation to accommodate the number of performing personnel. Compositions range and vary in complexity but its traditional arrangement is in a form called batel and kalé: a two-beat gong cycle intended to rile up and arouse marchers into excitement. Most of the musicians do not play monophonic rhythms or melodic lines. Rather, they use kotekan (a Balinese interlocking techniqueinterlocking techniqueA musical practice where two musicians play on the opposite beats of one another so that when the two lines “lock” together, it gives the impression of a single composite rhythm and/or melody.) to create highly syncopated rhythms at rapid tempos, with gongs punctuating musical time.

Bangah Baleganjur Bebarongan. The Bangah Baleganjur group circles up to contribute to ramé. Video taken by author in 2014

Baleganjur in its traditional and ceremonial context is described as a music that is enacted to rid or disperse evil spirits. The trendy New Age terminology would be “space cleansing.” Indeed, practitioners of baleganjur will often translate an explanation of Balinese cosmologies in these contexts to this effect, but what is often overlooked is that the existence of these disruptive entities is seen as a necessity that maintains social order. Balinese cosmology is predicated on the concept of Rwa Bhineda (binary opposition) and therefore people recognize the need for the existence of the intangible world to coincide with the tangible for the sake of social balance. This philosophy manifests in many East, South, and South-East Asian cultures, yet here, Balinese indigeneity comes to the forefront of praxispraxisRefers to the act of engaging, applying, exercising, realizing, or practicing ideas; often the term is associated with action oriented toward changing society.. Many Balinese people find comfort in engaging with baleganjur’s ostensible noise and boister because it appeases and occupies dark and disruptive entities for the duration of a particular ceremony: it acts to entertain and distract. Thus, disruptive entities are not being dispelled; on the contrary, they are being proactively comforted to keep them at bay.

This cacophony or congregated excitement is what Indonesian peoples refer to as ramé. It serves as the affective agent in comfort and that which is the antithesis to its ominous sibling, silence. Spaces of silence in Hindu-Balinese cosmology tend to be perceived as areas where dark entities are active and occupational. That is, silence invites bhuta kala (entities of eternal time) to interact within the physical space of sentient beings. It is particularly auspicious at physical and temporal crossroads such as life cycle ritualslife cycle ritualsA ceremony to mark a change in a person's biological or social status at various phases throughout life and ceremonies of reorienting physical spacereorienting physical spaceThis could include the construction of a home on new land, the inauguration of a new business, and even renovations to an existing structure., as these spaces are where they thrive. During processionals, everyone moves with the baleganjur group behind the primary ceremony where priests and symbolic deities are. If at any time the group is seen as stationary, it is posted in front of temple gate entrances. This is to keep disruptive energies from entering the temple with village members.

Ngaben Apuan. Members of Apuan village parade a deceased body in circles at the crossroads as to confuse disruptive entities before heading to the cremation site. Video taken by author in 2016

Because of the exciting nature that baleganjur provokes, it is an active agent in upholding social traditions and maintaining creativity. Particularly for young men in the village, it is an activity that creates nuanced and intimate relationships with one another. It serves as one of the first spaces in which Balinese boys learn their personal roles in the village community. This includes their first experiences with economic interaction after a long day of busking; their first interactions with social hierarchy (who has the proper character to play which instruments); their first experiences of performing (for both human and non-human audiences). They become the caretakers of this music and of these instruments and the community’s trust in them is established.

But not all uses of baleganjur are entirely cosmological. New developments have made it a space that is prone to artistic hybridization. For example, fusing heavy metal instrumentation with baleganjur sensibilities. This opens up creative paths to converse with many people around the world that are interested in Balinese arts. It creates for a vibrant tradition that holds experimentation at its crux.

Today, baleganjur manifests as many characters and contends with the growing soundscape of Bali. The pictures painted here have only encompassed a small portion of baleganjur and its complexities. While it continues to sustain as a musical practice that is performed all over Bali for a myriad of functions, it is becoming a palpable music of globalization and a music that reorients the necessity to appease disruption.

Pengosekan. Balinese men in the Pengosekan village of Ubud accompany the village deities for safety. Video taken by Dewa Ayu Eka Putri in 2020
Contributors
Putu Tangkas Adi Hiranmayena
Musician and ethnomusicologist currently located between Denver, Colorado and Bali. He is in the midst of research, composition, and production on baleganjur and heavy metal music through the lenses of performance, cosmology, and environmentalism.

(EE)
EN / RU
Музыка

Умиротворяющий шум: балийское искусство балеганджура

Компиляция Путу Тангкаса Ади Хиранмайены. Треклист — в нашем Soundcloud

Совокупность звуковых ландшафтов острова Бали и девяти его регентстврегентствАдминистративное образование второго уровня в Индонезии. Регентство составляет часть провинции и подразделяется на округа. свидетельствует о насыщенной и сложной какофонической социальной системе. Разнообразные и непохожие друг на друга музыкальные традиции схлестываются между собой за звуковое и идеологическое пространство — противоречивое, но гармоничное. Исполнительская экспрессия выплескивается с рисовых полей на шумные улицы, стирая границу между священным и светским. Процессии со звоном металла и песнопениями маршируют по улицам, встречая на окраинах рок-концерты. Везде тесно соприкасающиеся тела иностранцев, коренных балийцев и индонезийцев, — и расколдованные благозвучия, рожденные разными обещаниями рая. В этом хаосе звучит балеганджур — музыка, играющая особенно важную роль в индуистско-балийской космологии, которую исполняют специально, чтобы умилостивить темных сущностей.

Благодаря истории колониализма и туризма на Бали заметнее местные политические повестки, конструирующие показную утопию в качестве глобального мировоззрения. Многие приезжают сюда в поисках просветления и духовности, питаемой йогой и проповедуемой в отфильтрованном медиапространстве, что часто навязывает стереотипные формы нью-эйджерской космологии. Это осложняется национальным дискурсом, направленным на поддержание аграрного государства-игрушки, которое рекламируется соблазняющим шумом капитализма. Балеганджур — духовная музыка, противостоящая этому порядку. Вместе с тем творчество представителей коренных общин остается отличительной чертой балийской идентичности, и этот описанный идеологический шум усиливает потребность жителей и правителей Бали в эмоциональном комфорте. Балеганджур не только умиротворяет, выполняя церемониальную функцию, но и перформативно утверждает право на самобытность и подпитывает этим политическую идеологию.

Жанр тесно связан в военным прошлым острова, особенно с массовым ритуальным самоубийством, пупутан, совершенным 20 сентября 1906 года, в день, когда регентство Бадунг (а впоследствии и большая часть Бали) было завоевано голландскими колониалистами. Реки крови балийцев, пущенные их церемониальными кинжалами (керис), были усыпаны конфетти из драгоценных камней, брошенных в колонизаторов, а бронза инструментов, использовавшихся музыкантами придворного гамелана, была расплавлена, чтобы предотвратить разграбление культурных атефактов. Для жителей Бадунга это была не война — это был апокалипсис. Война подразумевает битву, a здесь едва ли пролилась кровь хоть одного колонизатора — реинкарнация казалась недостижимой.

«Процессия, идущая к священному источнику, сопровождается Gong Mudraswara, которые исполняют бебонанган, или балеганджур». Убуд, Гианьяр, Бали, 1978–1979 годы

W.L.J. van Gessel, CC BY-SA 4.0 / Nationaal Museum van Wereldculturen

Само слово «балеганджур» относится к гамеланской музыке, которая исполняется для поддержания балийских социальных идеологий и функций. «Бала» означает «строй», или «отряд», а «ганджур» означает «марш». Основываясь на перформативности балеганджура, я расширяю это определение до «поспешного марша с военизированной хореографией». Здесь я использую термин «военизированный», обращаясь к историческому прошлому балеганджура как музыки, использовавшейся для военных нужд и воплощающей кепахлаванан (героизм). Музыка может сопровождать процессию с телом умершего к месту кремации (сетра), или становиться частью тщательно срежиссированных представлений на региональных состязаниях (ломба), или скрещиваться с местным хеви-металом, или звучать в знак протеста против освоения Тунджунг-БеноаТунджунг-БеноаИзвестный своими пляжами полуостров на территории регентства Бадунг. На Тунджунг-Беноа долгое время идет противостояние между крупным бизнесом и местными активистами, выступающими против мегапроекта, направленного на развитие туризма в регионе., — во всех этих случаях динамизм балеганджура дарит балийцам успокоение, прибегая к помощи дискурсивных онтологий смятения и тьмы.

Существует множество вариантов инструментовки балеганджура. Нужен как минимум один или два гонга агенг (гонг большого размера), один кемпул (гонг среднего размера), один бенде (плоский гонг), по крайней мере четыре ченг-ченг-копяк (ручные тарелки), один кемпли или тава-тава (ручной гонг, служащий хронометром), один набор бебонанганов или рейонгов (горшкообразные гонги с выступом), пара понгангов и пара кендангов (ручные барабаны, на которых играют с помощью молоточков). В современных балеганджурах этот набор инструментов может расширяться в зависимости от количества музыкантов. Композиции довольно разнообразны и различаются по сложности, но традиционная аранжировка балеганджура называется бател, или кале, и представляет собой повторяющийся цикл, состоящий из двух ударов гонга, предназначенный для поддержания духа марширующих. Большинство музыкантов не играют монофонических ритмов или мелодических линий. Вместо этого они используют котекан (балийская техника гокета, или интерлокингагокета, или интерлокингаОсобая практика игры: два музыканта исполняют разные партии, но у слушателя создается ощущение единого, вдвое ускоренного ритма или мелодии.) и создают синкопированные ритмы в быстром темпе с акцентирующими музыкальное время гонгами.

The Bangah Baleganjur собирается в круг. Видео было сделано автором в 2014 году

Балеганджур в его традиционном церемониальном контексте описывается как музыка, предназначенная для изгнания злых духов. В модной нью-эйджерской терминологии это называлось бы «чисткой пространства». Действительно, те, кто играет балеганджур, часто именно так объясняют свое занятие в контексте балийской космологии. Но упускается из виду, что эти сущности необходимы для поддержания социального порядка. Балийская космология основана на концепции «рва бхинеда» (бинарной оппозиции), и поэтому люди видят необходимость сосуществования нематериального и материального миров для поддержания баланса в обществе. Эта философия проявляется во многих культурах Восточной, Южной и Юго-Восточной Азии, но здесь балийская самобытность выходит на первый план праксисапраксисаВ философии термин обозначает область практического применения идеи и часто используется в контексте действия, направленного на изменение общества.. Многие балийцы находят успокоение, вовлекаясь в показной шум и буйство балеганджура, умиротворяющего темные сущности на время церемонии: он служит им развлечением и отвлекает внимание. Таким образом, духов не изгоняют, а, напротив, активно утешают, чтобы они не подобрались слишком близко.

Такую какофонию или всеобщее возбуждение индонезийцы называют раме. Раме служит средством поддержания эмоционального комфорта и является противоположностью своего зловещего брата — молчания. Пространства тишины в индуистско-балийской космологии чаще всего воспринимаются как области, где темные сущности наиболее активны. То есть тишина побуждает бхута-кала (сущности вечного времени) взаимодействовать с физическим миром живых существ. Особо благодатные условия для этого создаются на физических и временных перекрестках, таких как ритуалы жизненного цикларитуалы жизненного циклаЦеремонии, которыми отмечают изменение биологического состояния или общественного статуса человека в разные периоды его жизни. и церемонии переориентации физических пространствцеремонии переориентации физических пространствК ним могут относиться те, что связаны со строительством дома на новом месте, открытии бизнеса или ремонтом уже существующего строения., поскольку именно здесь эти сущности процветают. Во время процессий вместе с ансамблем, исполняющим балеганджур, все движутся за группой, включающей жрецов и символические воплощения божеств. Заметить их неподвижными можно лишь перед храмовыми воротами — это делается для того, чтобы разрушительные энергии не проникли в храм вместе с жителями деревни.

Жители деревни Апуан несут тело умершего к месту кремации и делают круги на перекрестке, чтобы запутать опасные сущности. Видео было сделано автором в 2016 году

Будучи таким захватывающим явлением, балеганджур остается активным посредником в поддержании общественных традиций и творческих способностей. В частности, живущие в деревнях молодые люди благодаря этому занятию могут заводить особо близкие отношения друг с другом. Балеганджур служит одним из первых пространств, где балийские мальчишки узнают о своих ролях внутри деревенской общины: получают первый опыт экономических отношений во время долгих уличных выступлений, первый опыт взаимодействия с социальной иерархией, определяющей, чей характер подходит для игры на каком инструменте, первый опыт исполнения как для людей, так и для слушателей, не принадлежащих к человеческому роду. Они становятся хранителями музыки и инструментов, таким образом заслуживая доверие сообщества.

Однако балеганджур используется не только в космологическом контексте. Это музыкальное пространство оказалось податливым и допускающим художественную гибридизацию с другими. Например, инструментовки хеви-метала накладываются на структуру балеганджура. Таким образом интересующиеся балийским искусством люди со всего мира получают возможность взаимодействовать с этой динамичной традиции, в основе которой лежит эксперимент.

У балеганджура много граней, и он продолжает утверждать себя во все более разнообразном звуковом ландшафте Бали. Приведенные здесь зарисовки охватывают лишь небольшую часть этой традиции и присущей ей сложности. В то время как балеганджур все еще остается музыкальной практикой, выполняющей на Бали огромное количество целей, он также становится осязаемой музыкой глобализации, которая переосмысляет потребность умиротворения разрушительных сил.

Перевод с английского Анны Шатиловой

Балийцы в деревне Пенгосекан округа Убуд сопровождают местных божеств. Видео было сделано Девой Аю Ека Путри в 2020 году
Авторы
Путу Тангкас Ади Хиранмайена
Музыкант и этномузыковед, живет между Денвером, Колорадо и Бали. Занимается исследованиями, сочинением и продюсированием музыки, сочетающей балеганджур и хеви-метал, через призму исполнительства, космологии и необходимости защиты окружающей среды.