(EE)
ISSUE 2: DREAM
Making space for dreaming means increasing the field of possibility
EN / RU
News

EastEast: (no) borders Issue Call for Submissions

Rakhim Kalybaev. Tashkent, Uzbekistan. August 2020

We invite artists, researchers, scholars, thinkers, and writers to offer up projects and stories based around the theme of our upcoming issue, (no) borders.  

A border is a real or imaginary line in space or in time that separates one object or phenomena from another. It is an invariable certainty dividing two “somethings.” Borders can be spatial, temporal, qualitative and quantitative, speculative.

The pandemic has made state borders much more tangible for everyone regardless of their status, but at the same time, it has enhanced the hierarchies that define who is allowed to cross which border. Today we see that many states are talking about full transparency and openness, but actually there is a trend towards tighter borders between countries. The world crisis reinforces both real and metaphysical, cultural and social barriers. The essence of the boundaries blurred by globalization is gaining strength again. If we look at history, all borders are constantly changing, lands are merging and getting split, gates are being set up and taken down. Borders function in a state of simultaneity; they are ghostlike, and yet more real than real.

What is the function and meaning of borders? Which borders are benign and which are malign? How can we cross real and imaginary borders? Who sets the borders? Is it possible to live in a world without borders? How can we overcome the borders of individualistic society? How do humans and nonhumans live within and without borders? EastEast is offering a platform for those willing to research these questions and experiment with the idea of (no) borders.

To participate in the open call, please send a 300-word abstract introducing your text or project. The authors of three winning proposals will be invited to develop them into full-scale materials that will be published in EastEast in February 2021. Each finalist will receive an honorarium in the amount of 250 USD. At least five other authors will get a chance to have their materials featured in EastEast’s special sections. 

We are accepting proposals until November 20, 2020 at hi@easteast.world.

(EE)
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
Новости

EastEast объявляет опен-колл к следующему выпуску (no) borders

Рахим Калыбаев. Ташкент, Узбекистан. Август 2020

Тема границ станет центральной для нашего следующего выпуска, получившего название (no) borders. Мы предлагаем художникам и исследователям представить проекты, посвященные этому сюжету.

Граница — это реальная или воображаемая линия в пространстве или во времени, отделяющая объекты и феномены друг от друга. Это факт, который разделяет два нечто. Границы могут быть пространственными, темпоральными, умозрительными, количественными или качественными.

В условиях пандемии границы государств стали гораздо более реальными для всех людей — вне зависимости от их статуса. В то же время отчетливее проявились иерархии, определяющие, кому какие границы позволено пересекать. Мы видим, что многие государства заявляют о прозрачности и открытости, но в действительности границы между ними становятся все более непроницаемыми. Мировой кризис приводит к укреплению барьеров не только между культурным и социальным пространством, но и между реальным и метафизическим. Сущность размежевания, которая была скрыта глобализацией, снова становится видимой. История показывает, что границы постоянно меняются, земли делятся и воссоединяются, а врата между ними возводятся и рушатся вновь. Границы существуют синхронно; они призрачны и в то же время более чем реальны.

В чем функция и смысл границ? Какие границы полезны, а какие губительны? Как можно пересечь границы реальные и воображаемые? Кто их устанавливает? Можно ли жить в мире без границ? Как преодолеть границы в обществе индивидуалистов? Как люди и другие существа живут с границами и без них? Мы предлагаем всем желающим подумать над этими вопросами.

Для участия в опен-колле присылайте краткое описание проекта объемом не более 300 слов. Тексты трех победителей, каждый из которых получит гонорар в размере 250 долларов США, будут опубликованы на нашей платформе в феврале 2021 года. Еще пять авторов получат возможность разместить свои проекты в специальных разделах сайта.

Заявки принимаем до 20 ноября 2020 года на hi@easteast.world.