(EE)
ISSUE 2: DREAM
Making space for dreaming means increasing the field of possibility
EN / RU
On Air

Life on Mars?

WA'AD (2014) by YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES

The work of the Seoul-based artist duo YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES — that is, Young-Hae Chang and Marc Voge, — has been shown at and acquired by a variety of big museums, including the Tate in London, the Centre Pompidou in Paris, the Whitney and the New Museum in New York, as well as the M+ in Hong Kong; presented at numerous biennials, among which are the ones in Venice and Sao Paulo; and celebrated and admired by many. For our Dream issue, we have asked Young-Hae and Marc to show their work WA’AD. YHCHI have produced a brand new Russian-language version of this piece exclusively for EastEast. WA’AD is also available in Arabic on the artists’ website. One of EastEast’s senior editors, Lesia Prokopenko, makes her best attempt at introducing YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES below.

There’s one particular problem with writing about (and towards) YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES: the moment I begin to construct a sentence, I feel like I’m writing from the inside of one of their works. The sentences are breaking into sections, the outlines of letters are getting saturated, the screen starts flashing, and the words are moving to the rhythm of a jazz soundtrack as featured in the artist duo’s enchanting, at times whimsically titled, tongue-in-cheek animations.

In case you haven’t experienced any art by YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES yet, this is how Rhizome’s Net Art Anthology describes it: “Adopting the model of a fictional corporation, they produce online artworks that follow a strict formula: Flash movies consisting of texts set in all-caps Monaco typeface, appearing onscreen in sync with jazz and bossa nova soundtrackssoundtracksMusic pieces used in YHCHI's works are listed here.. Employing an ‘extremely pushy visual language,’ in the words of Josephine Bosma, the works of YHCHI borrow from cinema, poetry, and propaganda.” 

That said, WA’AD, the piece we are showing here on the platform of EastEast, is set to a slower, dreamier, and, perhaps, more melancholic tune than the majority of YHCHI’s works, and its visual language probably doesn’t feel as “pushy.” This is because it is, in fact, an interplanetary transmission, with its text flowing through outer space…  

In case you haven’t immediately stopped reading this introduction for the sake of watching WA’AD (as you should), I will try to write a bit more about YHCHI. To be honest, I don’t know much about YHCHI, and I wouldn’t have dared to write about them if it weren’t for YHCHI themselves. Having suggested doing an interview, I received the following reply: 


“In truth, we don’t have much to say about anything outside of what we put in our work. Or rather, what we have to say we hope we say best in our work. If you care to Google us, you may notice that, relatively speaking, there isn’t much on or by us out there. So here’s a suggestion. Why not write something on us? We would love it if you speculated on YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES in the most critical or uncritical fashion. Why not let go, let yourself muse on anything about our work that strikes your fancy?

A couple years ago we gave our ‘final’ artist talk. Its premise was that artists talk too much, and were spoiling things for the professional art lovers—curators, critics, historians, those whose job it is to explain art to us. Those who, for better or worse, are creating the history of art. Of course, since that talk we’ve talked a bit more, except now we call them performances. What’s the difference? Our performances are, we hope, basically incoherent, like all good performances are. They’re the opposite of the discursive writing we expect in the history of art. They’re everything that would be out of bounds for critics, curators, and historians to say. They’re, we hope, art.”

 

As you can see, I’m already cheating, as I’m neither a critic nor a curator, and the larger part of the text I’ve compiled so far consists of words that are not even my own. And yet, I must fulfil my promise: I must “write something on YHCHI.” I must “speculate on YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES in the most critical or uncritical fashion.”

To begin with, we definitely met, but I can’t remember any details of this brief encounter. It was in summer 2012, when I was working as an international project coordinator at a state institution in Kiev that organized the first (and, officially, the last) biennial there. In those days, I was so exhausted and overwhelmed by dozens of new faces every day that eventually I couldn't remember meeting Young-Hae and Marc. We probably shook hands and I said I was the person behind all those emails—or did that take place at all? We definitely didn’t attend any of the numerous grand corporate dinners together. 

In any case, in a couple of months, we got in touch again and did a succinct written interview titled “Art is not a Democracy,” which is, surprisingly, still available online in Russian, and from which one may learn that YHCHI believed jazz would make them even funkier (it definitely does). It also features a quote from Marcel Duchamp: “Tout ce que je vous dis est stupide et faux” (“Everything I say is stupid and fake.”) 

To me, YHCHI, with their piece MY DMZ, were hands down the most important artists of the mentioned biennial. Over the winter, when the project was in the works, I watched every single animation on their website, and in spring I’d walk to the office listening to the remix of Nina Simone’s “See-Line Woman” featured in one of the duo’s most famous pieces. At the time, coming into contact with the art of YHCHI was a much more demanding process, since Flash animations could be neither paused nor rewound. The fact that today all of them have been uploaded to Vimeo (a very understandable compromise) feels like an unheard-of liberty. 

My second close encounter with the art of YHCHI took place three years later, during the second (unofficial) biennial in Kiev where I happened to work as well. For one of its projects, the curators asked artist and writer John Miller to recreate a group exhibition he had earlier organized under the title Bad Conscience—the Kiev version was called Mistakes Were Made. Fifteen participants of John Miller’s show included YHCHI, in collaboration with Takuji Kogo: theirs was STATEMENTS: 0029: T0 MY GOOD AND LOYAL SUBJECTS AND 0063: AFTER RECENT SURGERY ON MY SCALP, a piece that combined the World War II surrender speech by the Japanese Emperor Hirohito (Shōwa) with fragments of Michael Jackson’s declaration following accusations of child molestation. Since my duties on the project were highly heterogeneous, I ended up being the one to translate their work into Ukrainian. Frankly speaking, I’m afraid I сould have forgotten about that too if it weren’t for the existing online proof. 

However, STATEMENTS ended up not being included in the exhibition: due to the poor organizational conditions, there wasn’t enough equipment for another video piece. I smuggled the work to groups of viewers twice, screening it shamelessly from my own laptop both times. Why was it so important for me to show it? Perhaps because it was about the collapsing of petty tyrants. And it was also fun. It’s always this kind of fun that makes petty tyrants collapse. This is the superpower hidden in the works of YHCHI (besides the funkiness, of course).

Why have I, five years later, working as one of the editors of EastEast, decided to brainwash my colleagues, contact YHCHI again, translate WA’AD to Russian, and present it to you right here, in our Dream themed issue? Obviously, WA’AD is a touching and humorous account of small affairs against the backdrop of big dreams, small dreams against the backdrop of larger-than-life affairs, collapsing dreams from which new dreams emerge. And also, WA’AD is an eerily accurate depiction of our current planetary predicament: broken transmissions, bankrupt missions, humans stuck in their designated locations, reinventing body, history, and love. That’s why.

Contributors
YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES
It is yhchang.com is Young-Hae Chang (Korea) and Marc Voge (USA). Based in Seoul, they write and animate texts set to their own music. They gave the 2020 Renato Poggioli Lecture at Harvard University.
Lesia Prokopenko
Senior Editor at EastEast. Researcher and writer with a curatorial background, she is studying Chinese Philosophy at East China Normal University in Shanghai.

(EE)
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
Эфир

Есть ли жизнь на Марсе?

WA'AD («Ваад»), YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES, 2020 год

Участники YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES Ёун-Хэ Чан и Марк Фоге живут в Сеуле. Их работы показывали на биеннале в Венеции и Сан-Паулу, выставляли и приобретали в коллекции таких крупных музеев, как лондонский Тейт, парижский Центр Помпиду, нью-йоркские Уитни и New Museum, а также гонконгский M+. Для выпуска, посвященного мечте, мы попросили Ёун-Хэ и Марка подготовить и показать русскоязычную версию своей работы WA’AD («Ваад»), которая также доступна на арабском на их сайте. В предисловии старший редактор EastEast Леся Прокопенко попробовала рассказать о том, чем занимается коллектив и почему так важно показывать их работы.

Написать текст о YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES — огромная проблема: стоит только начать строить предложение, как я чувствую, что пишу изнутри очередной их работы. Предложения разбиваются на части, очертания букв становятся толще, монитор начинает мигать, и слова двигаются под ритм джазового саундтрека, как это происходит в их завораживающих, порой причудливо озаглавленных ироничных анимациях. 

Если вы раньше не сталкивались с творчеством YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES, то вот как его описывает составленная платформой Rhizome «Антология нет-арта»: «Выступая в роли воображаемой корпорации, они производят свои онлайн-работы по строгой формуле: в программе Flash создаются фильмы, полностью состоящие из текста, набранного заглавным шрифтом Monaco. Текст появляется на экране под звуки джаза или босановыпод звуки джаза или босановыСписок музыкальных композиций, использованных в работах YHCHI, можно посмотреть по ссылке.. Используя, как выразилась Жозефин Босма, “крайне напористый визуальный язык”, работы YHCHI заимствуют элементы кинематографа, поэзии и пропаганды».

При этом «Ваад», произведение, которое мы здесь показываем, сопровождается более медленной, мечтательной и, возможно, более меланхоличной музыкой, чем большинство работ YHCHI, и его визуальный язык, вероятно, не такой уж «напористый». А все потому, что это межпланетная трансляция, и текст ее идет к нам через открытый космос...

В случае, если вы тут же не прекратили читать это введение и не бросились смотреть «Ваада» (как и следовало бы сделать), я все-таки попробую написать что-нибудь о YHCHI. Честно говоря, мне о YHCHI известно не так уж много, и я бы не осмелилась писать о них, если бы не сами YHCHI. Предложив им провести интервью, я получила следующий ответ:


«На самом деле нам особо нечего сказать о себе — помимо того, что мы вкладываем в свои работы. Или даже так: если нам и есть что сказать, то мы, как нам хочется верить, лучше всего рассказываем это в наших работах. Если нас погуглить, то наверняка станет очевидно, что о нас или нами сказано относительно немного. Итак, вот что мы предлагаем. Почему бы тебе самой не написать что-нибудь о нас? Было бы так здорово, если бы ты могла поразмыслить о YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES самым критическим или некритическим образом. Почему бы не дать себе волю, не написать о нашем творчестве как тебе заблагорассудится?

Пару лет назад мы провели свою “финальную” беседу. В ней речь шла о том, что художники слишком много болтают и только все портят профессиональным любителям искусства: кураторам, критикам, историкам и всем тем, чья задача — объяснять нам искусство. Именно последние, хорошо это или плохо, пишут историю искусства. Само собой, после этой беседы мы продолжили изредка беседовать, но теперь называем это перформансом. В чем разница? Мы надеемся, что наши перформансы в целом бессвязны, как и полагается хорошим перформансам. Они — противоположность тому дискурсивному письму, которое мы ожидаем от истории искусства. В них заключается все, что критики, кураторы и историки не смогли бы выразить. И мы надеемся, что это и есть искусство».

 

Как видите, я блефую, потому что я не критик и не куратор, и большая часть текста, который я уже успела скомпилировать, состоит из слов других людей. И все-таки я должна исполнить свое обещание — «написать что-нибудь о YHCHI». Я должна «поразмыслить о YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES самым критическим или некритическим образом».

Начну с того, что мы однозначно виделись, но я совершенно не помню подробностей этой короткой встречи. Это было летом 2012 года, когда я работала координатором международных проектов в большой государственной художественной институции в Киеве, которая организовывала там первую (и, официально, последнюю) биеннале. В те дни я была крайне измотана, и дюжины новых лиц, с которыми нужно было ежедневно контактировать, сливались в одну лавину, поэтому в конце концов встреча с Ёун-Хэ и Марком просто стерлась из моей памяти. Мы наверняка пожали друг другу руки, и я сообщила им, что именно со мной они все это время обменивались имейлами, — а может, этого и не было? Мы точно не бывали вместе ни на одном из многочисленных грандиозных корпоративных ужинов.

Как бы там ни было, несколько месяцев спустя мы снова связались, и я взяла у YHCHI лаконичное письменное интервью, которое вышло под заголовком «Искусство — это не демократия» и каким-то чудом до сих пор доступно онлайн на русском языке. Из него можно узнать, что YHCHI полагали, будто джаз сделает их еще более funky (это уж точно). В нем также приводится цитата Марселя Дюшана: «Tout ce que je vous dis est stupide et faux» («Все, что я говорю вам, чепуха и вранье»).

Для меня YHCHI, с их произведением MY DMZ («Моя ДМЗ»), были чуть ли не важнейшими художниками на упомянутой биеннале. За зиму, пока велась подготовка проекта, я пересмотрела все до единой анимации на их сайте, и весной по дороге в офис слушала ремикс See-Line Woman Нины Симон — он звучит в одной из самых известных работ коллектива. В то время контакт с искусством YHCHI был гораздо более требовательным, поскольку flash-анимацию нельзя было ни поставить на паузу, ни прокрутить назад. То, что сегодня все видео загружены на Vimeo (вполне объяснимый компромисс!), кажется неслыханной вольностью.

Моя вторая близкая встреча с искусством YHCHI произошла три года спустя, во время второй (но неофициальной) киевской биеннале, где мне также довелось поработать. В качестве одного из проектов ее кураторы предложили художнику и писателю Джону Миллеру повторить групповую выставку, которую он проводил ранее под заглавием Bad Conscience («Нечистая совесть»), — киевская версия называлась Mistakes Were Made («Были сделаны ошибки»). В числе пятнадцати участников выставки Джона Миллера были и YHCHI в сотрудничестве с Такудзи Кого: это была работа STATEMENTS: 0029: T0 MY GOOD AND LOYAL SUBJECTS AND 0063: AFTER RECENT SURGERY ON MY SCALP («Заявления: 0029: “К моим добрым и верным подданным” и 0063: “После перенесенной операции на скальпе”»), которая объединяла речь японского императора Хирохито (Сёва) о капитуляции во Второй мировой войне с фрагментами обращения Майкла Джексона после обвинений в растлении малолетних. Поскольку мои обязанности были очень разнородными, я среди прочего выступила в роли переводчицы их работы на украинский язык. Боюсь, если бы не существующие в интернете доказательства, этот факт мог бы тоже стереться из памяти.

Однако «Заявления» так и не попали в экспозицию: из-за скверных организационных условий для видеоработы не хватило оборудования. Дважды я проносила анимацию контрабандой и показывала ее группам зрителей с собственного ноутбука. Почему для меня было так важно показать ее? Возможно, потому что она — о падении самодуров. И потому что она забавная. Именно такой смех способствует падению самодуров. Это и есть суперсила, заложенная в работах YHCHI.

Почему пять лет спустя, в ипостаси одного из редакторов EastEast, я решила промыть мозги своим коллегам, снова выйти на связь с YHCHI, перевести на русский работу «Ваад» и представить ее вам в рамках нашего тематического выпуска о мечте? Очевидно, потому, что «Ваад» — трогательный и юмористический рассказ о маленьких делишках на фоне больших мечтаний, о маленьких мечтах на фоне гигантских дел, о рушащихся мечтах, из которых рождаются новые. Кроме того, «Ваад» представляет до жути точную картину нашего текущего общепланетарного состояния: прерывающиеся трансляции, обанкротившиеся миссии, человеческие существа, застрявшие в (не)назначенных местах, — им не остается ничего, кроме как переизобретать тело, историю и любовь. Вот почему.

Авторы
YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES
Это yhchang.com, и это Ёун-Хэ Чан (Корея) и Марк Фоге (США). Они живут в Сеуле, где пишут и анимируют тексты под собственную музыку. В 2020 году они провели лекцию Renato Poggioli в Гарвардском университете.
Леся Прокопенко
Старший редактор EastEast. Исследовательница и в прошлом куратор, изучает китайскую философию в Восточно-китайском университете в Шанхае.