(EE)
EN / RU
Community

Histories are Waged in Rooms and Destinies are Vectorised in Dreams

Sofya Chibisguleva and Lena Kilina introduce the work of the Mainline Group: an artist collective that doesn’t have to coexist in order to co-create, operating via Zoom, Skype, Twitch, and other media of instant communication. Their pandemic Zoom dream diary titled Chthonian Rehab is available to watch above. Text below was written by Sofya and photos were provided by Lena.

There are the two laws human reality has been obeying and shall continue doing so unless machine learning goes sideways (like in one of David Eagleman’s afterlife talestalesDavid Eagleman, Sum: Forty Tales from the Afterlife, 2009). Whether you are in the Matrix or the Pandemic (or you wish for them to be nested in one other), the stretching of time that dreams provide benefits a productive kind of dissociation—a psychological distancing from our worn out subconscious (newsflash: a woman in Saratov took her iron out for a walk instead of a dog—she failed to distance herself). Dreams give us control when we don't have it or relinquish it when we are overflowing. Either way, we often underestimate the influence that day and nighttime dreams have on us in the post-religious pragmatism of the 21st century. In the meantime, dreams are the real-world stick-shift of the Matrix.

To learn to communicate with our dreams, we must discover the alphabet of our personal unconscious. Unfortunately, there are no textbooks or video tutorials available and the process resembles something of a PhD in psychoanalysis, not a magical spiritual awakening. However, as a result of undying curiosity and unhinged laziness dream mythologies were born. The armies of one's visual, audio, and sensory memories become solidified as bad signs or warnings from spirits. One of the greatest pieces of Eastern Literature is centred around a dream that determines the destiny of a powerful family—Dream of the Red ChamberDream of the Red ChamberDream of the Red Chamber, also called The Story of the Stone, or Hongloumeng, composed by Cao Xueqin in 1791–92, is one of China's Four Great Classical Novels.. In 2020, all of us, including Lena Kilina and myself in the Mainline Group, are dreaming, making plans, and performing life and art from our chambers. 

Sometime in April we began seeing dreams of each other and decided to document them. To this day dreams remain one of the lesser-studied areas of human consciousness—both the unconscious state of rest and the wake state of desires and longings. Dreams are where the archaic and the scientific touch and even bridge into one another. They are Möbius-esque spirals of time-consciousness—you can observe Lena's through these film diptychs.

Left: Brazil
Right: China
Photography by Lena Kilina, 2017-2018

When I came to know Lena in late 2017—who has since joined me as one half of the Mainline Group—she was in Shanghai, wrenching her almost beastful energy into the city like a beetstock—working for a “dream.” In 2020 her entire family is purposefully scattered—Visaginas, Birmingham, herself in São Paulo. We make Zoom performances and the cries of exotic birds disturb our sound checks in Moscow. Long before Lena started singing Russian folk songs with a Capoeira beat, she started her journey to Brazil, then to China, and back to Brazil again. What might seem like a Brownian migration is in fact a result of a dream diffraction.

In 1992 she was a child sheltered from the turmoil of the violently disintegrating Soviet Union in a small town on the border of Russia, China, and Mongolia. It belongs to one of those Google Maps destinations that have only pictures of snow. There is an infinite number of shapes that dreams inhabit but at that time  Lena Kilina knew only two of them—the sweaty night-time kind and the gazing-at-the-Siberian-sky kind. These dreams would, in time, birth aspirations, longings, calls, wishful thinking, hype and superstition, and, of course, contemporary art. 

Even language can dictate the way we strive to achieve our dreams. In Russian, we ”следуем за мечтой,” that is, “we follow the dream”, meanwhile in English—the language of globalisation—the expression is “chase the dream”. While other phrases are possible, of course, the above mentioned forms are a default preset. The Russian version implies that a dream is a tour guide, a leader, a lighthouse, while the English has a strong stench of futility. Dreams do move us forward physically, but do they mentally? The short answer is no. Any expansion from the norm comes at a price of fragmentation. Our own selves fragment, our dreams fragment, our sense of “home” fragments. Moving a profoundly Eastern person like Lena—a Sinologist from Siberia—into the tropical concrete forest of Brazil forewarns of a major psychological shattering. Here is where dreams come to help us reconstruct wholeness or turn into torment that one can't help but contemplate an escape from. 

Paradoxically, the escape routes humans tend to choose—like addictions, video games, knitting, painting—are targeted to achieve the same state of bliss and lack of control we get in our sleep, or the opposite state of complete control we get when we daydream. It is a utopia-dystopia balancing act with no East-West meridian, it has its own cultural logic. 

Dreams are never a choice between knowing and seeing. The choice is impossible. While Freud described this tug-of-war process “whereby resembling would equal dissembling, and figuring would equal disfiguring,” I prefer Didi-Humerman’s specific commentarycommentaryGeorges Didi-Huberman, Confronting Images, 2005 on dream imagery as the “means of appropriate disfiguration.” Dreams are an enforced rehab, some good, some bad, but nevertheless compulsory. 

Left: China
Right: Brazil
Photography by Lena Kilina, 2017-2018
Contributors
The Mainline Group
The Mainline Group is an art and research duo of ancient storytellers armed for a discussion with the technosphere working internationally. Its two lungs are Lena Kilina (PhD, UNICAMP)—a visual anthropologist and performance artist; and Sofya Chibisguleva (MA, Royal College of Art)—a writer and sculptor. Their genres and tools of cultural engagement include sound art, audiobooks, art therapy, and printed media.

(EE)
EN / RU
Сообщество

История вершится в комнатах, судьбы обретают цель в грезах

Софья Чибисгулева и Лена Килина — о мечтании во время пандемии

The Mainline Group — это новый тип художественного коллектива, которому для сотворчества не нужно сосуществование. Его участницы Софья Чибисгулева и Лена Килина взаимодействуют посредством Zoom, Skype, Twitch и других инструментов, позволяющих поддерживать связь в любой точке мира. Мы публикуем текст Софьи и фотографии Лены, а также показываем их работу Chthonian Rehab  — своеобразный дневник пандемии, записанный во время их регулярных видеозвонков.

Человеческая реальность всегда подчинялась и будет подчиняться двум законам — по крайней мере пока машинное обучение не слетело с катушек (как в одной из историй Дэвида Иглмена о возможных сценариях жизни после смерти). Находимся ли мы внутри Матрицы или внутри Пандемии (или желаем, чтобы они срослись), даруемое сновидениями растяжение времени приносит пользу за счет продуктивной диссоциации — психологического дистанцирования от истощенного подсознания (срочные новости: женщина в Саратове вместо собаки вывела на прогулку утюг — она не сумела дистанцироваться). Сны помогают обрести контроль, когда его нет, или ослабить его, если мы не справляемся. В условиях пострелигиозного прагматизма XXI века влияние, которое оказывают на нас грезы во сне и наяву, зачастую недооценивается. А ведь именно они остаются рычагом переключения передач Матрицы в реальном мире, хотим мы этого или нет.

Чтобы научиться общаться со снами, нужно освоить алфавит своего подсознания. К сожалению, по теме нет ни учебников, ни видеоуроков, и процесс напоминает скорее написание докторской диссертации по психоанализу, чем сказочное духовное пробуждение. Мифология сновидений рождается из неистребимого любопытства и бесстыдной лени. Сонмища зрительных, звуковых и чувственных воспоминаний застывают в виде дурных знаков или предостережений потусторонних сил. В центре «Сна в красном теремеСна в красном теремеРоман «Сон в красном тереме», также известный как «Записки о камне», был написан Цао Сюэцинем около 1791 года и считает одним из четырех классических романов на китайском языке.» — одного из величайших произведений восточной литературы — находится сон, сыгравший решающую роль в судьбе могущественной семьи. А в 2020 году уже все, включая Лену Килину и меня — участниц The Mainline Group, мечтают, строят планы, выражают себя в жизни и в искусстве напрямую из своих спален. Где-то в апреле мы начали видеть сны друг о друге и решили документировать их. 

Сновидения, подразумевающие одновременно бессознательный покой и преисполненное желаний и томлений бодрствование, до сих пор остаются одной из наименее изученных областей человеческого сознания. Сны — это место, где соприкасаются и переплетаются друг с другом архаика и наука. Это похожие на ленту Мебиуса спирали времени-сознания — и благодаря сопровождающим текст пленочным диптихам видны те из них, что принадлежат Лене.

Слева: Бразилия
Справа: Китай
Фотографии Лены Килиной, 2017-2018 годы

Лена стала половиной The Mainline Group. Мы познакомились в конце 2017 года — тогда она жила в Шанхае, с почти звериной энергией выгрызая у города свою «мечту». В 2020 году вся ее семья оказалась разбросана по миру: Висагинас, Бирмингем, она сама в Сан-Паулу. Теперь крики экзотических птиц мешают нашему московскому саундчеку во время подготовки перформанса в Zoom. Задолго до того, как Лена начала петь русские народные песни в ритме капоэйры, она отправилась путешествовать — в Бразилию, затем в Китай, затем снова в Бразилию. То, что может показаться броуновской миграцией, на деле было эффектом преломления мечты.

В 1992 году ребенком она укрылась от смятения и насилия, сопровождавшего развал Советского Союза, в маленьком городке на пересечении границ России, Китая и Монголии. Это одно из тех мест, что на Google Maps представлены только фотографиями снега. Грезы принимают бесконечно разные формы, но тогда Лена Килина знала только о двух из них — тех, что приходят с ночным потом и от разглядывания сибирского неба. Постепенно эти грезы породили стремления, томления, зовы, самовнушение, известность, суеверия и, разумеется, современное искусство. 

Даже язык влияет на то, как мечты воплощаются. Мы «следуем за мечтой» по-русски, «преследуем мечту» по-английски, — интересное столкновение. Конечно, можно построить фразу иначе, но эти словосочетания используются по умолчанию. В русском мечта  — это проводник, предводитель, маяк, от английского же остается привкус тщеты. Мечты действительно двигают вперед наши тела — а умы? Краткий ответ: нет. Любое расширение нормы влечет за собой распад. Распадается наше «я», наши мечты, наши сны, наше чувство «дома». Перемещение столь глубоко «восточного» человека, как Лена, — синолога из Сибири — в тропический бетонный лес Бразилии заведомо предвещает серьезное душевное потрясение. Вот тогда-то на помощь и приходят сны, чтобы вернуть целостность — или обернуться мукой, которой хочется избежать во что бы то ни стало.

Парадоксальным образом маршруты побега, которые люди склонны выбирать, — вроде зависимостей, видеоигр, вязания или живописи — нацелены на достижение того же состояния блаженства и отсутствия контроля, в которое мы погружаемся во сне, или же противоположного состояния полного контроля, как в момент, когда мы предаемся мечтам. Это балансирующее между утопией и дистопией действие без нулевого меридиана, обладающее собственной культурной логикой вне оппозиции Запада и Востока.

Сны — это не выбор между тем, что знаешь, и тем, что видишь. Выбор невозможен. Фрейд называл сновидение перетягиванием каната, «когда сходство равнозначно сокрытию, а образование — искажению», но я предпочитаю формулировку Диди-Юбермана, определившего сновидения как «средство уместной деформации»«средство уместной деформации»Цит. по: Georges Didi-Huberman. Confronting Images: Questioning the Ends of a Certain History of Art. C. 154.. Сны — это принудительная реабилитация. Какие-то из них оказываются хорошими, какие-то — плохими, но в любом случае они обязательны. 

Перевод с английского Карины Папп

Слева: Китай
Справа: Бразилия
Фотографии Лены Килиной, 2017-2018 годы
Авторы
The Mainline Group
Художественно-исследовательский дуэт древних повествовательниц, готовых к спору с техносферой. Легкие коллектива составляют визуальный антрополог и перформансистка Лена Килина (аспирантка UNICAMP) и писательница и скульптор Софья Чибисгулева (магистр Royal College of Art). Используемые ими жанры и инструменты культурного взаимодействия включают саунд-арт, аудиокниги, арт-терапию и печатные материалы.