(EE)
EN / RU
Artifacts

Flags of Traditional Military Associations from Ghana Available Online

Images: Karun Thakar

Collector Karun Thakar has shared his collection of over 250 Asafo flags that he had found during his trips to Ghana in the 90s. Textiles and their fragments were restored and digitized for an online exhibition. We have highlighted some of the most interesting artifacts from the collection.

Between 1471 and 1828, various European countries built trading settlements along the coastal territories of Ghana where the Asante and Fante peoples of the linguistic and ethnic Akan group lived. At the peak of the slave trade in the late 17th and early 18th centuries, among the Fante people the first Asafo associations emerged—military associations with complex social and political structures created to protect people from abduction and to ensure the safety of local communities. Within these groups, a special kind of visual art was developed: frankaa flags with drawings depicting historical episodes, folk proverbs, messages to enemies, or even local anecdotes. These objects became a symbol of resistance during the period of the slave trade, and later were used to showcase the power, authority, and wealth of local competing groups.

Each divisiondivisionBrodie Cruickshank, Eighteen Years on the Gold Coast of Africa Including an Account of the Native Tribes, and Their Intercourse with Europeans, 1966 ed. (London: Cass & Co., 1853), vol. I, p. 245. had a leader, an advisor, a flag-bearer, and a drummer. Today, the main role of the flag-bearer is to dance with the object during parades and festivals, but in the past he and the guards had to defend the artifact from opponents at all costs. The flags were ordered by Asafo officials individually from professional craftsmen. Each company believed that it had ownership of certain designs and colors on its flags. Common motives included images of weapons, episodes of military clashes, and figures of animals (for example, lions, crocodiles, and scorpions), which were used to scare off potential offenders.

There are approximately three periods in the development of this African art. Early flags depicted a small Union Jack in the left corner or a simplified version of it, consisting of several multi-colored lines.

The period from 1910 to 1957 is considered a golden age in the development of this textile art. In small towns, special workshops arose in which several generations of artists could work.

After Ghana gained independence in 1957, a new Black Star flag replaced the British flag as a symbol of African emancipation and unity in the fight against colonialism. The background uses a wide range of colors and text components, such as the number or name of a representative of the company that ordered the textile product.

Flags still play an important public role in Fante villages. They can often be seen at annual festivals, funeral processions, and other events. Additional information about this textile art can be found on Instagram.

Contributors
Elizaveta Fokina
Special Features and News Editor at EastEast. Author of non-acid arab telegram-channel. Independent researcher on contemporary art from Arab region. Graduated from the RSUH with a degree in Middle Eastern Studies with Arabic language. Lives in Moscow.

(EE)
EN / RU
Артефакты

Частная коллекция военных флагов из Ганы доступна онлайн

Изображения: Карун Тхакар

Коллекционер Карун Тхакар поделился собранием из более чем 250 флагов асафо, которые ему удалось отыскать во время поездок в Гану в 90-х годах. Для онлайн-выставки текстильные изделия и их фрагменты отреставрировали и оцифровали, а мы выбрали лучшие артефакты.

В период с 1471 по 1828 год различные европейские державы строили торговые поселения на прибрежных территориях Ганы, где жили народы ашанти и фанти, относящиеся к лингвистической и этнической группе акан. На пике развития работорговли у народа фанти в конце XVII-начале XVIII века появились первые объединения асафо — военные ассоциации со сложной социальной и политической структурой, созданные для защиты людей от похищений и обеспечения безопасности местных сообществ. Внутри этих групп развивался особый вид изобразительного искусства: флаги frankaa с рисунками, изображающими исторические эпизоды, народные пословицы, послания врагам или даже местные анекдоты. Эти объекты стали символом сопротивления во время периода работорговли, а позднее —  использовались с целью демонстрации власти, могущества и богатства местными конкурирующими группировками. 

В каждом подразделении обязательнообязательноBrodie Cruickshank, Eighteen Years on the Gold Coast of Africa Including an Account of the Native Tribes, and Their Intercourse with Europeans, 1966 ed. (London: Cass & Co., 1853), vol. I, p. 245. был руководитель, советник, знаменосец и барабанщик. Сегодня основная роль знаменосца — танцевать с флагом во время парадов и фестивалей, но в прошлом ему и стражникам приходилось защищать артефакт от противников любой ценой. Флаги заказывались должностными лицами асафо индивидуально у профессиональных мастеров. Каждая компания считала, что у нее есть права собственности на определенные рисунки и цвета на своих флагах. Распространенные мотивы включали в себя изображения оружия, эпизоды военных столкновений, фигуры зверей (например, львов, крокодилов, скорпионов), которые использовались с целью отпугивания потенциальных обидчиков.

Можно выделить приблизительно три периода развития этого африканского искусства. На ранних флагах в левом углу изображался небольшой Union Jack либо его упрощенная версия, состоящая из нескольких разноцветных линий.

Период с 1910 по 1957 год считается золотым в развитии этого текстильного искусства. В небольших городках возникли специальные мастерские, в которых могли работать несколько поколений художников.

После обретения независимости Ганой в 1957 году новый флаг Black Star пришел на смену флагу Великобритании как символ африканской эмансипации и единства в борьбе против колониализма. На фоне используется широкий диапазон цветов и текстовые вкрапления: например, номер или имя должностного лица компании, выступившей заказчиком текстильного изделия.


Флаги до сих пор играют важную общественную роль в деревнях фанти. Их зачастую используют на ежегодных фестивалях, во время траурных процессий и на других мероприятиях. Дополнительную информацию об этом текстильном искусстве можно найти в инстаграме

Авторы
Елизавета Фокина
Редактор новостей и специальных материалов EastEast. Независимый исследователь современного искусства арабского региона. Автор телеграмм-канала non-acid arab. Окончила РГГУ по специальности востоковедение с арабским языком. Живет в Москве.