(EE)
ISSUE 2: DREAM
Making space for dreaming means increasing the field of possibility
EN / RU
News

Minds Rising, Spirits Tuning Online Journal Published in Advance of the 13th Gwangju Biennale

Sketch for Gwangju Biennale 2020. Design studio WORKS SERVICES (Seoul)
13th Gwangju Biennale

The team of the 13th Gwangju Biennale have begun publishing issues of a bi-monthly, bilingual online journal that is meant to chronicle the process of research and feature “interdisciplinary content and artistic ideas” related to the Biennale. The publication features a series of articles related to women’s issues and resistance movements in Gwangju, along with a diverse series of contributions on subjects ranging from the sexual and geographic landscapes of Chukotka and the Russian Far East, to Sámi Women and the influence of colonialism.

Among the recent materials is an essay, “Eurasian Geo-fictions: Models for Transformations”, by Mi You, a curator, researcher, and academic staff at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne. You questions and considers varying ideas and conceptualizations of Eurasia through examples from Siberia, the Urals, and Western China (among many others). According to You, Eurasia is “a geological and geopoetical space, which invites us on a never-ending time journey, backward and forward, transcending fixed territories, undoing and remaking the norms that structure modern thought.” 

The 13th Gwangju Biennale, titled Minds Rising, Spirits Tuning, is scheduled to take place between February 26th and May 9th, 2021 in Gwangju, South Korea. The Biennale entails multiple events at locations around Gwangju, and will showcase a “dynamic program encompassing an exhibition, a performance program, an online publishing platform and publications, and a series of public forums bringing together artists, theoretical scientists, and systems thinkers.” These events are intended to coincide with the 40th anniversary of the 40th anniversary of the May 18 Democratic Uprising and people’s movement in Gwangju.

For more information visit 13thgwangjubiennale.org

(EE)
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
Новости

13-я Биеннале в Кванджу запустила онлайн-журнал Minds Rising, Spirits Tuning

Скетч для Биеннале в Кванджу 2020. Дизайн-студия WORKS SERVICES (Seoul)
13th Gwangju Biennale

Команда 13-й Биеннале в Кванджу запустила двуязычный онлайн-журнал, в котором публикуются результаты исследований, проведенных в процессе подготовки к выставке, и «междисциплинарные и художественные материалы», связанные с ней. Текущий номер, наряду с текстами о женском вопросе и движении сопротивления в Кванджу, содержит материалы о сексуальном и географическом ландшафте Чукотки и российского Дальнего Востока, женщинах коренного народа саамов и влиянии на них колониализма. Журнал будет выходить два раза в месяц. 

Одно из исследований, опубликованных в последнем выпуске, — эссе куратора и преподавательницы Академии медиаискусства Кельна Ми Ю «Евразийские геофикции: модели для трансформаций». Автор рассматривает различные трактовки и интерпретации Евразии, обращаясь к примерам из Сибири, с Урала и из Восточного Китая (а также множества других мест). Как пишет Ми Ю, Евразия — это «геологическое и геопоэтическое пространство, которое приглашает нас в бесконечное путешествие в будущее и прошлое в обход установленных территориальных границ, в нем разбираются и пересобираются нормы, по которым строится современная мысль».

13-я Биеннале в Кванджу, тема которой «Minds Rising, Spirits Tuning», продлится с 26 февраля по 9 мая 2021 года. Приуроченные к ней мероприятия пройдут по всему южнокорейскому мегаполису и в его окрестностях — планируется «динамичная программа, объединяющая перформативные выступления, издательскую платформу и онлайн-публикации, а также серию масштабных публичных мероприятий, где вместе выступят художники, исследователи и ученые, занимающиеся теорией систем». В этот раз даты проведения биеннале совпадут с 40-й годовщиной народного восстания в Кванджу.  

Подробнее — на сайте 13thgwangjubiennale.org