(EE)
EN / RU
News

Seminars on Art and Literature of Central Asia to be Held Online

A small group of men playing traditional instruments in Central Asia, 1964
Thomas Taylor Hammond / Wikimedia Commons

The aim of the seminar Art and Literature in Central Asia (1950–2021) is to study the relationship between art, literature, and cultural policy in the Soviet and post-Soviet periods. The main focus will be on the perception of the relationship between Soviet citizenship and nationality in the Central Asian republics from 1950 to 1991, as well as rethinking these relations after the countries gained independence. Registration is open for all three seminars.

The schedule of the meetings is below (each will start at 1 PM Moscow time):

–On April 19th, art critic and curator Alexei Ulko will talk about the postcolonial struggle around the book Song of Kashmir by Sharaf Rashidov and a typological sketch of the main poets in Central Asia: Rashidov, Nyazov, and Karimov;

–On May 17th, Lucille Lisack, an anthropologist from the Université Paris Nanterre, will give a lecture on the topic “musical creativity in Soviet and post-Soviet Uzbekistan” and present her monograph about contemporary music in Uzbekistan;

–On June 21st, Saida Elemanova, an ethnomusicologist from the Kurmangazy Kazakhstan National Conservatory, will hold a seminar “Decolonial Discourse in Ethnomusicology in Kazakhstan: Sources and Basic Principles”.

A series of seminars will be held by the French Institute for Central Asian Studies (Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan). It will focus on observing complex relationships between cultural beliefs and political practice, popular forms of political activity, and political imagination. The idea is to understand the internal dynamics of Central Asian societies at different scales by tracing their network structure, evolution and interconnections, including transnational connections.

Read more on the website.

(EE)
EN / RU
Новости

Семинары об искусстве и литературе Центральной Азии пройдут онлайн

Группа из Центральной Азии играет на традиционных музыкальных инструментах, 1964 год
Thomas Taylor Hammond / Wikimedia Commons

Цель цикла «Искусство и литература в Центральной Азии (1950–2021)» — изучение взаимоотношений между искусством, литературой и политикой в области культуры в советское и постсоветское время. Основное внимание будет сосредоточено на восприятии отношений между советским гражданством и национальностью в центральноазиатских республиках с 1950 по 1991 год, а затем и на переосмыслении этих отношений после получения странами независимости. Зарегистрироваться на все три семинара можно по ссылке.

Расписание встреч указано ниже (каждая начнется в 13:00 по московскому времени):

— 19 апреля искусствовед и куратор выставок Алексей Улько расскажет о постколониальной борьбе вокруг книги «Кашмирская песня» Шарафа Рашидова и типологическом очерке «правителей-поэтов» в Средней Азии: Рашидова, Нязова и Каримова;

— 17 мая Люсиль Лисак, антрополог из Университета Париж X — Нантер, прочтет лекцию на тему «Музыкальное творчество в советском и постсоветском Узбекистане» и презентует свою монографию «Современная музыка в Узбекистане. Политика, идентичность и глобализация (Париж: Petra, 2020)»;

— 21 июня Саида Елеманова, этномузыковед из Казахстанской национальной консерватории «Курмангазы», проведет семинар «Деколониальный дискурс в этномузыковедении в Казахстане: источники и основные принципы».

Серия семинаров пройдет на базе «Французского института исследований Центральной Азии» (Бишкек, Киргизия). Речь пойдет о наблюдении «сложных взаимосвязей между культурными представлениями и политической практикой, народными формами политической деятельности и политическим воображением». Идея состоит в том, чтобы понять внутреннюю динамику центральноазиатских обществ в различных масштабах, отслеживая их сетевую структуру, эволюцию и взаимосвязи, включая транснациональные связи.

Подробнее — на сайте