(EE)
ISSUE 2: DREAM
Making space for dreaming means increasing the field of possibility
EN / RU
News

Bangkok Art Biennale Confirmed for October 2020 Despite Covid-19

Time Out Bangkok

The Bangkok Art Biennale (BAB) has been confirmed for a start date of October 29, 2020, despite the difficulties presented by Covid-19. This second edition of BAB will feature thirty one Thai artists as well as fifty one international artists from thirty four countries. The theme, “Escape Routes”, was announced back in 2019, but according to the Biennale’s artistic director Apinan Poshyananda this framework has taken on new meanings during the global pandemic.

Poshyananda spoke about the contemporary relevance of BAB’s theme in a press release, saying that “In the grave, fragile ‘new normal’ world we live in, cracks are appearing everywhere. In recent months, we have been immersed in fear and despair... that has caused unprecedented calamity and disruption worldwide.” Poshyananda states that the works featured in this edition of BAB will indeed “challenge issues stemming from the current predicament” even though the concept of this edition of BAB was conceived under the “premises of the ‘old normal’.”

Among a list of artists that includes prominent names such as Anish Kapoor, Yoko Ono, and Dinh Q Le, participants from a wide variety of artistic practices will be showcasing their work. This includes Melati Suryodar, an Indonesian performance artist known for her iconic works, including Exergie—Butter Dance (2000) and Dialogue With My Sleepless Tyrant (2013), the Mongolian painter Baatarzorig Batjargal, who works with the techniques of Mongol Zurag painting in order to address the broader history of Mongolia’s development over the past century, and Farhana Islam Tani, an interdisciplinary artist working with installation and video art that uses Bangladeshi cultural content as material in her artwork. The long list of local artists includes Ubatsat, an artist-social activist that focuses on collective practice with the attempt to create understandings about people under pressure or in crisis, and Yuree Kensaku, who is known for her use of electrifying colors, rich sense of humour, and candy-coated cartoon characters with a dark twist. The Biennale will run until January 31, 2021.

For more information visit their website bkkartbiennale.com.

(EE)
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
Новости

Bangkok Art Biennale пройдет в октябре 2020 года, несмотря на пандемию коронавируса

Time Out Bangkok

Подтверждены даты проведения Bangkok Art Biennale (BAB): несмотря на трудности, возникшие в связи с эпидемией коронавируса, она откроется 29 октября 2020 года. На биеннале будут представлены художники со всего мира: 31 из Таиланда и 51 из 34 других стран. Тема «Пути эвакуации» была объявлена еще в 2019 году, но, по словам арт-директора биеннале Апинана Пошьянанды, глобальная пандемия придала ей новые смыслы.

Пошянанда рассказал об актуальности выбранной темы в пресс-релизе выставки: «Мрачный и хрупкий мир, в котором протекает наша жизнь и который мы принимаем за “новую норму”, дает трещины повсеместно. Последние месяцы наполнили нас страхом и отчаянием... что повсюду вызвало беспрецедентные бедствия и кризисы». Пошянанда обещает, что работы, представленные в этом году на BAB, «бросят вызов вытекающим из нынешнего положения проблемам», несмотря на то, что концепция биеннале разрабатывалась еще до эпидемии.

Наряду с такими выдающимися художниками, как Аниш Капур, Йоко Оно и Динь Куанг Ле, в биеннале будут участвовать авторы, представляющие широкий круг художественных практик. Например, индонезийская перформансистка Мелати Сурьодармо, известная такими работами, как Exergie — Butter Dance и Dialogue with My Sleepless Tyrant; живописец Батжаргалын Баатарзориг, через технику «Монгол зураг» обращающийся к истории развития Монголии за прошедшее столетие; и междисциплинарная художница Фархана Ислам Тани, в своих инсталляциях и видеоарте использующая культурный контекст Бангладеша. Список местных участников включает социально ориентированного художника и активиста Убатсат, который вовлекает в создание своих работ людей, оказавшихся в критической ситуации, и Юри Кенсаку, известную яркими цветами своих полотен, неоднозначными мультяшными героями и богатым чувством юмора. Биеннале продлится до 31 января 2021 года.

Подробная информация — на сайте bkkartbiennale.com.