(EE)
EN / RU
News

Cultural Figures Invited to Reflect on Berlin's Colonial Past

Dekoloniale via Instagram

The Dekoloniale project invites artists, architects, designers, writers, and other practitioners to participate in residency “Dekoloniale Memory Culture in the City” in Berlin. Candidates are invited to discover and transform colonial meanings in the public space of the city and in Germany in general. Applications are accepted until April 23rd.

The year 2021 marks the 125th anniversary of the First German Colonial Exhibition, held in 1896 in Berlin's Treptower Park. It was a trade fair where the German Empire presented itself as a colonial power. Part of this event was a demonstration of people from the German colonies at the Völkerschauen (human zoos). This is an example of how, in the colonial era, politics, economics, entertainment, and science functioned as a single system, mutually reinforcing each other. In 2017, the Dekoloniale project hosted the Gazing Back [wards] exhibition, dedicated to the resistance of families from Cameroon and other “exhibits” of the fair, who did not consider themselves part of the exhibition and studied culture, language, and technology.

Successful candidates will make artistic interventions in public spaces where they can use new ways of thinking and interdisciplinary research and practice. The organizers support projects related to locations and topics already outlined in the Gazing Back [wards] exposition. The residence will run from August to October 2021. Participants will be paid for accommodation, travel expenses, a budget for the creation of the project, and a fee upon completion of the work. Please send your motivation letter, brief description of the project, CV, and portfolio to residency@dekoloniale.de. Knowledge of English is required.

Read more on the website.

(EE)
EN / RU
Новости

Деятелей культуры приглашают поразмышлять о колониальном прошлом Берлина

Dekoloniale via Instagram

Проект Dekoloniale приглашает художников, архитекторов, дизайнеров, писателей и других практиков принять участие в резиденции Dekoloniale Memory Culture in the City в Берлине. Кандидатам предлагается раскрыть и трансформировать колониальные смыслы как в публичном пространстве города, так и в Германии в целом. Заявки принимают до 23 апреля.

В 2021 году исполняется 125 лет Первой немецкой колониальной выставке, проходившей в 1896-м в берлинском Трептов-парке. Она представляла собой торговую ярмарку, где Германская империя презентовала себя как колониальная держава. Частью этого события была демонстрация людей из немецких колоний в человеческих зоопарках Völkerschauen. Это пример того, как в колониальную эпоху политика, экономика, индустрия развлечений и наука функционировали как единая система, взаимно усиливая друг друга. В 2017 году на базе проекта Dekoloniale прошла выставка Gazing Back[wards], посвященная сопротивлению камерунцев и других «экспонатов» той ярмарки, которые не считали себя частью экспозиции и изучали культуру, язык и технологии.

Успешные кандидаты совершат художественную интервенцию в публичные места, где смогут использовать новые способы мышления, междисциплинарные исследования и практики. Организаторы поддерживают проекты, связанные с локациями и темами, уже обозначенными в экспозиции Gazing Back[wards]. Резиденция пройдет с августа до октября 2021 года. Участникам оплатят проживание, транспортные расходы, выделят бюджет для создания проекта и выплатят гонорар по окончании работ. Мотивационное письмо, краткое описание проекта, резюме и портфолио отправляйте на residency@dekoloniale.de. Знание английского языка обязательно.

Подробнее — на сайте