(EE)
EN / RU
Community

The Doors Are Always Open

Text: Kamilla Akhmedova Photos: Kamila Rustambekova

Stylist Kamilla Akhmedova and photographer Kamila Rustambekova explore the uniquely designed doors to the traditional neighbourhoods—mahallas—of their native Tashkent. Marking the borders of local communities, the distinctive style of each door mirrors the characteristic features of these areas. 

Sometimes, you might feel like a tourist in your own hometown. You wander around the city and seem to be teleported to another life. For me, it has become a kind of ritual, and now, when I want to recharge my batteries, I always go to the old bazaar or to the mahallas. Especially to the old ones. 

Mahalla is something like a self-governing quarter where all the residents know one another and are very close-knit. Here you can see kids flying kites, elderly men playing backgammon, and covered women watering the ground. Mahalla is a place where you will always be greeted, offered fruits from people’s private gardens, and provided help if needed because both the doors and hearts are always wide open.

I find Soviet doors to be the most beautiful. They are often painted yoghurt-like or bright colors as if to symbolize summer. You cannot confuse them with anything else. Now, such doors are not as numerous as before since construction works are carried out chaotically in Tashkent. The owners of public and private territories favor new residential areas and there is a decreasing number of people who are eager to preserve the old look of the city.

But there are also exceptions. For example, this year the Art and Culture Development Foundation under the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Uzbekistan is taking part in the Venice Biennale of Architecture with a pavilion that has chosen the phenomenon of the mahalla as its subject. So, I thought it was a good reason to make a text about it and invited the photographer Kamila Rustambekova (who completely shares my love of the mahalla) to take pictures of these very Soviet doors.

As it turned out, not so many people know the stories behind mahalla doors, so we have enthusiastically reconstructed them by collecting fragments of information. We started with the artisan stalls near the Chorsu bazaar where craftsmen shared with us the origin of the interesting word “hasham,” translated from Old Uzbek as “aesthetics.” If translated literally, it means the soul and creativity that the “usto” (the master) puts into his creation. The doors also represent the style of a particular artisan. 

Contributors
Kamilla Akhmedova
Stylist from Tashkent, founder of 7/1 bureau. She has worked as an editor for Uzbek magazines and currently organizes public talks on fashion and consults with local brands to help them improve.
Kamila Rustambekova
Photographer from Tashkent. She specializes in portrait photography and has an interest in fashion.

(EE)
EN / RU
Сообщество

Всегда открытые двери

Текст: Камилла Ахмедова
Фото: Камила Рустамбекова

Представляем визуальное исследование дверей, которые можно встретить в старых районах Ташкента — махаллях. Стилист Камилла Ахмедова и фотограф Камила Рустамбекова рассказывают об этих уникальных архитектурных элементах, отмечающих границы в местных сообществах и отражающих неповторимый характер каждого из них.

Бывает так, что чувствуешь себя туристом в родном городе. Бродишь по улочкам и словно телепортируешься в другую жизнь. Для меня это стало своего рода ритуалом, и теперь, когда я хочу перезагрузиться, всегда отправляюсь на старый базар Ташкента или в махаллю. Особенно в старую махаллю. 

Махалля — это что-то вроде самоуправляемого квартала. В ней все жители друг друга знают и очень сплочены. А на улочках можно встретить детей, запускающих воздушных змеев, пожилых мужчин, играющих в нарды, а также покрытых женщин, поливающих землю. Махалля — это то место, где с тобой всегда поздороваются, угостят фруктами из своего сада и обязательно помогут, если попросишь. Сердца людей и двери домов здесь нараспашку. 

Самыми красивыми мне кажутся советские двери. Они часто выкрашены в йогуртовые или яркие цвета, будто олицетворяют собой лето. Их ни с чем не спутать. Сегодня таких дверей осталось не так уж и много, так как Ташкент хаотично застраивается. Владельцы государственных и частных территорий ратуют за новодел, и остается все меньше людей, которые хотят сохранить прежний облик города. 

Но есть и исключения. Фонд развития культуры и искусства при Министерстве культуры Республики Узбекистан в этом году участвует в Архитектурной биеннале в Венеции с павильоном, тема которого — Mahalla. Я подумала, что это хороший повод сделать материал о махалле, и позвала фотографа Камилу Рустамбекову (которая любит махаллю не меньше меня) поснимать эти самые советские двери. 

Оказалось, их историю знает не так много людей, поэтому мы решили собрать ее по крупицам. Для этого отправились к ремесленным рядам около базара «Чорсу», где нам поведали историю слова «хашам», которое переводится со староузбекского как «эстетика». Если переводить дословно, то это душа и творчество, которые вкладывает усто — по-узбекски «мастер» — в свое творение. По дверям можно отследить стиль того или иного ремесленника. 

Авторы
Камилла Ахмедова
Стилист из Ташкента, основательница бюро 7/1. Работала редактором в узбекских журналах, сейчас организует паблик-токи, посвященные моде, и помогает местным брендам стать лучше.
Камила Рустамбекова
Фотограф из Ташкента. Специализируется на портретной съемке, интересуется модой.