(EE)
ISSUE 2: DREAM
Making space for dreaming means increasing the field of possibility
EN / RU
News

Syg.ma announces an open call for participation in the Tashkent-Tbilisi research project

Tatar club. Poster by A. Platunova, 1935

Mardjani Foundation

The independent platform Syg.ma, which publishes texts on humans, cultural phenomenons, and society, is starting a new research project, "Tashkent-Tbilisi", about the recent history of the countries of the former USSR,  supported by The Prince Claus Fund. Authors and editors are invited to reflect on developments in Central Eurasia before and after the October Revolution, the formation of national republics and new identities, and the challenges faced by the independent republics after the collapse of the Soviet Union. Applications with the research description can be submitted by September 10th.

The preparatory phase of the project will run from October 2020 until May 2021 and will include presentations of research and artwork on the culture and history of the region. Presentations in the format of a conversation or a lecture will be broadcast online on the Syg.ma YouTube channel. The final stage of the project will be a publication on Syg.ma that will include a series of essays, interviews, and notes derived from presentations.

Independent authors—sociologists, historians, cultural theorists, artists, and directors working with archival materials and documentary chronicles, are invited to participate in the open call. As for editors of the project, applications are expected from employees of universities and cultural institutions, as well as from independent curators. There is a fee provided for both authors and editors. 

You can follow news on the project on the telegram channel "Tashkent-Tbilisi". Applications in the form of motivation letters can be submitted by September 10th at: furqat@syg.ma

(EE)
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
Новости

«Сигма» объявляет опен-колл на участие в исследовательском проекте «Ташкент-Тбилиси»

Татарский клуб. Плакат А. Платуновой, 1935 год

Mardjani Foundation

Независимая платформа «Сигма», на которой публикуются тексты о человеке, культурных явлениях и обществе, начинает новый исследовательский проект «Ташкент-Тбилиси» о новейшей истории стран бывшего СССР при поддержке The Prince Claus Fund. Авторы и редакторы приглашаются подумать о процессах в Центральной Евразии до и после Октябрьской революции, о формировании национальных республик и новых идентичностей и о тех вызовах, с которыми столкнулись независимые республики после распада Советского Союза. Заявки с описанием исследований можно подать до 10 сентября. 

Подготовительный этап проекта будет длиться с октября 2020 года по май 2021 года. Он включает в себя презентации исследований и художественных работ, посвященных культуре и истории региона, в режиме онлайн-трансляций на YouTube-канале «Сигмы» — в формате беседы или лекции. Финальным этапом работы проекта станет публикация на «Сигме» серии эссе, интервью и публицистических заметок, подготовленных по следам презентаций.

К участию в опен-колле приглашаются независимые авторы: социологи, историки, теоретики культуры, художники и режиссеры, работающие с архивными материалами и документальной хроникой. В качестве редакторов проекта ждут заявки от сотрудников вузов и культурных институций, а также независимых кураторов. За публикации на платформе и за работу над проектом предусмотрен гонорар. 

За новостями проекта можно следить в телеграмм-канале «Ташкент-Тбилиси». Заявки в виде мотивационных писем можно подать до 10 сентября по адресу: furqat@syg.ma