(EE)
ISSUE 2: DREAM
Making space for dreaming means increasing the field of possibility
EN / RU
News

Artist Leila Awadallah Collects Stories and Myths From the Mediterranean

Photo by Isabel Fajardo

“TERRANEA: Hakawati of the Sea” is an interdisciplinary performance project developed by choreographer and artist Leila Awadallah for the Arab American National Museum. Dance plays an important role in the project, which aims to link together the stories, myths and cultural phenomena of the Mediterranean region. Applications are accepted until October 31st.

Leila collects audio recordings of stories from friends, family, and others about the mythology of the Mediterranean Sea and related memories. The place of hakawati—the traditional storyteller in the Arab tradition, which gives the project its name is thus taken by a community that speaks about collective experiences, beliefs, and spiritual ideas.

In order to participate, you need to send an audio recording of one to ten minutes in length about a myth or story related to the Mediterranean region, a migration experience, or any other related memory. Applicable entries, recorded in Arabic or English, will be included in the dance performance soundtrack.

More information at arabamericanmuseum.org.

(EE)
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
Новости

Художница Лейла Авадалла собирает истории и мифы Средиземноморья

Фотография: Изабель Фаджардо

TERRANEA: hakawati of the sea — междисциплинарный проект-перформанс, разработанный хореографом и художницей Лейлой Авадаллой для Арабоамериканского национального музея. Танец играет в нем важную роль и призван связать воедино истории, мифы и культурные явления Средиземноморского региона. Заявки принимают до 31 октября.

Лейла собирает аудиозаписи рассказов друзей, членов семьи и всех желающих о мифологии и воспоминаниях, связанных со Средиземным морем. Место хакавати — традиционного рассказчика в арабской традиции, к которому отсылает название проекта, — таким образом занимает сообщество, повествующее о коллективном опыте, своих верованиях и духовных представлениях.  

Для участия нужно отправить аудиозапись длительностью от одной до десяти минут с рассказом о мифе или истории, связанной со Средиземноморским регионом, об опыте миграции или с любыми другими воспоминаниями. Подходящие заявки, записанные на арабском или английском, будут включены в саундтрек танцевального выступления.

Больше информации — на arabamericanmuseum.org.