(EE)
ISSUE 2: DREAM
Making space for dreaming means increasing the field of possibility
EN / RU
East Meets East

Following In The Footsteps Of Bruno Taut

Ikuru Kuwajima. Coast of the Sea of Japan in the Akita Prefecture, November 2019

While visiting his relatives in the north of Japan, the artist Ikuru Kuwajima accidentally came across a reference to the German avant-garde architect Bruno Taut, who had visited the area in the 1930s. Intrigued by the story of a European man, born in Königsberg, who happened to be in a remote region of the country that is rarely visited by the tourists even today, Ikuru decided to study Taut's diaries and repeat his route, moving from the shores of the Baltic Sea to the coastline of the Sea of Japan. In this essay, he speaks about the curious coincidences, personal revelations, and disappointments he experienced along this route. 

Japan—Prussia

In December 2018, I flew from Moscow to Japan and visited the small northern city of Ōmagari in the Akita Prefecture, in order to see my elderly uncle. This is the birthplace of my mother. During my childhood, I used to come here for holidays to enjoy the green rice fields in the summer and the thick snow in winter and to take a rest from the dense and crowded city near Tokyo where I grew up, where I was constantly experiencing fear and suffering from claustrophobia. Over the past few decades, Ōmagari has become considerably deserted, as if only old people remained there. However, while walking in the city center, I noticed something unusual—a modern four-storey building that stood out against the typical landscape of an uninhabited provincial Japanese city. It was a local history museum, recently built using state funding, in order to rehabilitate the region’s economy. I was taking a tour of the display, which was dedicated mainly to local history and the annual fireworks festival, when I suddenly caught sight of a portrait of a European man. The man in the photo was Bruno Taut—an architect born in 1880 in the Prussian city of Königsberg which later became the Russian city of Kaliningrad. “A native of Kaliningrad in the north of Japan…a native of Königsberg in a rice field...”—I was puzzled, imagining such a strange collage. I visited Kaliningrad in 2017 and the German, according to the text on the label, visited Ōmagari in the early 1930s and was pretty much the only famous foreigner to have praised this obscure northern town. In his diary, he wrote that the vista over the bridge and the distant mountains seen from the same place where the museum now stands was the most beautiful thing he had ever seen in his life. I often experienced the same view when I used to come to visit Ōmagar during my childhood. After such an amazing coincidence, I decided to learn more about Taut. On my return to Tokyo I bought all the books I could find about him and flew back to Russia. 

Top: Ikuru Kuwajima. Coast of the Sea of Japan in the Akita Prefecture, November 2019

Bottom: Anton Zabrodin. Pine forest as seen from the coast of the Baltic Sea, Zaostrovye (Rantau in German), Kaliningrad region, February 2020

Königsberg—Istanbul

Having read about the life of Bruno Taut, I discovered that this German has played an important role in Japanese culture. In Germany he is known as an avant-garde architect and a representative of expressionism, while in Japan he is famous as a man who uncovered the beauty of its traditional architecture to the world and to the Japanese themselves. Even my seventy-year-old father, not in any way connected to the cultural sector, knew Taut, as he was mentioned in the school books of 1960s as the man who gave descriptions of the Katsura Imperial Villa (Katsura Rikyū) which over the years has become a symbol of the beauty of Japanese architecture. Taut also worked on major construction sites in the USSR and Turkey, but as most of those projects were completed without him he remains largely unknown in Russia. Likewise, almost no one knows Taut in his hometown of Königsberg-Kaliningrad, where the majority of the German and Prussian legacy was destroyed some time ago. 

Let me introduce a detailed biography of Taut. He was born in the capital of Eastern Prussia in 1880 and spent more than twenty years there. After graduation, he worked in architecture buros in different German cities. In 1908, he settled in Berlin and started socializing closely with local cultural figures and artists, for example, Herwarth Walden—the founder of a literary magazine and the art gallery “Der Sturm”, which had Wassily Kandinsky and Paul Klee on display, among others. The influence of the avant-garde artists is already noticeable in Taut’s “Glass Pavilion”, which was constructed for an exhibition of the German Werkbund in Cologne in 1914. This futuristic project was created in collaboration with the fantasy author, experimental poet, and predecessor of German Dadaism Paul Scheerbart. In the early 1920s, Taut constructed expressionist houses in Magdeburg and, upon his return to Berlin, he started working on a large-scale project—the construction of modernist city blocks, which have recently been included on the UNESCO World Heritage List. Following his socialist beliefs, Taut travelled to the USSR in 1932 and took part in the design process for the construction of many important buildings, including the hotel “Moscow”. He left the country a year later due to conflicts with Soviet nomenclature representatives. The Nazis, who had just come to power, started to persecute the architect on his return because of his collaboration with the Soviet Republic. Together with his wife Erika, he managed to flee to Switzerland and from there to Japan via the Trans-Siberian Railway. 

Top: Ikuru Kuwajima. Coast of the Sea of Japan in the Akita Prefecture, November 2019

Bottom: Anton Zabrodin. Baltic Sea coast, Zelenogradsk (Cranz in German), Kaliningrad region, February 2020

Taut was invited there by patrons who wanted to foster Western Modernism in Japan. He first settled in Kyoto and later in a Buddhist temple 100 kilometers to the north of Tokyo. As a foreign architect he attracted the attention of intellectuals and journalists and even delivered a lecture in front of a full auditorium. Despite his popularity, he failed to get large-scale commissions. This can be partially explained by the rise of nationalism across the country as well by the sponsors who misunderstood his expressionist projects. However, thanks to the absence of work, Taut could travel freely and write the texts that later made a profound impact on the history of Japanese architecture. Taut was in love with local culture but left for Turkey in 1936 on receiving a job offer. Taut was supported by Atatürk himself and took part in the construction of important state buildings, including a new university in Ankara. Taut worked so hard on the funeral of the president-reformer that he critically damaged his health, eventually passing away in Istanbul in December 1938. A year later, his widow Erika traveled to Japan to fulfill her husband’s last will: she left his death mask and notes in a Daruma shrine where they had once stayed. 

Moscow—Tokyo—Ōmagari

While studying Taut’s legacy from my flat in Moscow, I decided to make something socially useful from his diaries and essays, offering them to a publishing house to be printed in Russian. They liked the idea and this began my work on a future book, even though I was not sure why I got myself into this essentially voluntary project. I lived in Moscow for almost a year, doing research and other work, until I had to travel again to Japan for personal reasons at the end of 2019. This time, thanks to Taut, I had a reason to go to the north of the country for the second time—possibly this was part of the motivation behind my interest in him. 

On my arrival to Japan I spent several days in Tokyo and its neighbourhoods, but soon I had a strong desire to escape from the airless, concrete ant hill that I’d run away from fifteen years ago. In his notes, Taut also, on several occasions, mentions his dislike of the capital, noticing the “monstrosities” in the chaos of the city planning, the excess of advertisements, and the impact of “Americanism”. He disdainfully referred to Frank Lloyd Wright’s hotel “Teikoku” as kitsch, despite the fact that the Japanese proudly considered it an important architectural achievement. According to Taut, this unbearable kitsch usually results from a vulgar imitation of Western Culture, an inferiority complex in the face of the West and a naive tendency to trust Western authority. Another aspect that, much to his disappointment, he noticed in the Japanese people was their materialism: it seemed to him that “everywhere people want to sell something”. 

Top: Ikuru Kuwajima. Coast of the Sea of Japan in the Akita Prefecture, November 2019

Bottom: Anton Zabrodin. Baltic Sea coast, Pionersky (Neukuhren in German), Kaliningrad region, February 2020

I set off towards the north on the “Shinkansen” high-speed train, which has made the journey to Ōmagari considerably shorter so that it now takes only three and half hours. In my childhood, my mother and I used to have to change trains multiple times and the journey could last up to half a day, which in a way had its own charm. Taut traveled even slower, following the route of Matsuo Bashō, a medieval poet and author of the diaries The Narrow Road to the Deep North. I had once wanted to travel that route as well, but changed my mind as Japan had become too touristy. As the train passed the Tochigi Prefecture, 100 kilometers to the north of Tokyo, the landscape transformed. There were less cold concrete houses outside the window, I could see rice fields, mountains, and yellowish red forests. We had been moving north for two hours before the train changed its direction and started heading towards the west of the Sea of Japan. The route ran over a mountain pass, already covered with snow, and then along a wide flatland—so I happened to be in Ōmagari again, from which the sea coast was not too far. The city itself is considered part of the “Ura Nihon”, which is translated as “back Japan”—the economically under-developed nearshore region in the Northwest that Taut admired most. 

I got off and as I walked through a deserted train station, I listened to the conversations of passersby, trying to catch the local dialect from which I had always felt a distinctive warmth. However, I did not find it in their speech, as most locals had begun speaking with a boring Tokyo dialect. Back in the day, each Japanese region had its own dialect, similar to the UK, so I often couldn't even understand people in the North. During the last century the government has in fact destroyed local identities and centralised the country, employing compulsory learning of the unified language. This is how the traditional culture of the most ancient people of Ainu, who have lived on the northern islands for centuries, was exterminated, together with the diversity of Japanese culture itself. 

My grandfather’s house, which was inherited by my uncle, stands on the outskirts of the city amidst a big rice field. Previously, the rice field was cultivated by the neighbouring families and there were many large cosy wooden houses here, which even if they have survived to today have already lost their authenticity due to numerous renovations. I remember that once the house of my grandfather even had an irori—a traditional fireplace in a square pit with sand and ashes on the floor where fish was sometimes cooked. Taut loved those old houses and wrote that he never encountered ugly farmhouses in Japan. He even dedicated a whole chapter to them in his book Houses and People of Japan, which was published in Japanese and English in 1938. In the book, he compares Japanese farmhouses with European ones, celebrating their cosmopolitanism and admiring, in particular, the variety of forms and materials used for roof construction. Nowadays, when taking a drive to my grandfather’s house, I mostly encounter boring shops with large car parks that one could see on the roadside of any American town. 

Top: Ikuru Kuwajima. The old building in Akita, November 2019

Bottom: Anton Zabrodin. Baltic Sea coast, Svetlogorsk (Rauschen in German), Kaliningrad region, February 2020

As a socialist, Taut displayed a special sympathy to the farmers who formed the overwhelming majority of the Japanese population and who, despite living in extreme poverty, remained polite and considerate. Unlike typical foreigners and Japanese nationalists, he did not fetishise and was critical of the privileged caste of samurai, which often exploited the farmers. For ideological reasons, or because of their aesthetic incongruity, Taut did not at all appreciate medieval castles and most of examples of “samurai” architecture, especially the famous Nikkō’s Tōshō-gū shrine built under the will of shogun Tokugawa Ieyasu in the early 17th century. He referred to it disdainfully as kitsch. At the same time, Taut did not criticise imperial culture which was considered by the Japanese left a remaining legacy of backward feudalism and the origin of class problems in the country. He even praised everything related to imperial culture and recognised, for example, the aesthetic and spiritual affinity of the Japanese farmhouses and Shinto shrine Ise, which was first built more than fifteen centuries ago. Perhaps these contradictions and simplifications were the result of his relatively short stay in Japan. Nevertheless, his viewpoint fascinated local patriots and was potentially one of the reasons that they so willingly accepted this avant-garde architect-socialist who opposed the Nazis. 

In addition to houses and landscapes, Taut was also interested in the domestic life of the Japanese people. During his trip around the Akita Prefecture, he wrote, for example, that “Men here dress like Russians while the women look Siberian”. He was bemused by the bamboo stick battles and processions with phallic symbols. I myself did not know about the existence of these exotics practices on the territory of my predecessors, even though it turns out these festivals still take place not far from my grandfather’s house. Taut also described kamakura—little houses made of snow that are usually built in winter in the north during the Shinto holidays. After the publication of the architect’s notes, Japanese from across the country started to travel to Akita Prefecture with the intention of seeing those houses. Basically, Taut was one of the few intellectuals who paid attention to this remote region. Perhaps precisely because of this unusual sympathy, Akira Kurosawa, whose father was born in the village near Ōmagari, wanted to bring Taut’s life to the screen. A German at the Daruma Temple could have become the debut of the world-famous director, but the film production was stopped due to the war. 

The Sea of Japan—The Baltic Sea

After visiting Ōmagari, I decided to travel to the capital of the same name in Akita Prefecture, situated on the shore of the Sea of Japan. My grandmother on my father’s side was born and brought up there, however, I have only passed through it. Taut loved this place greatly, and used to call it “ Northern Kyoto”, much to my surprise; as far as I remember, no one spoke so well of Akita. In this capital with a population of 300,000 people there is still not a single hostel, despite the famous architect’s good reviews and the growing number of foreign tourists travelling across Japan. Something was definitely wrong here. I decided to look at this “Northern Kyoto” with my own eyes.

Upon my arrival to the city, I was met by a local architecture specialist who agreed to give me a guided tour of the old city center, which once impressed Taut with its magnificent wooden houses. I set forth with her in hopes of witnessing that beauty, but was immediately disappointed as the region that Taut was writing about has only a couple of houses left from that period. Moreover, the facade of one of them was covered with a huge poster from a real-estate agency—”Northern Kyoto” evidently no longer existed. I had an idea that it was possibly destroyed during the bombardment and I almost began to blame America, when my guide rushed to explain that actually the city had safely survived the war and the unique wooden houses were demolished recently during the economic rise of the 1960s. “They wanted Daiei…”—she said sadly, naming a brand of an outlet chain that became widespread across the country during the twenty years of post-war economic growth.“People here love new things, shopping centers, McDonald’s, Starbucks. Everything that also exists in Tokyo”. The realisation of this cultural suicide shattered me. The northern pearl was destroyed not by poverty, war, earthquake or tsunami, but by the market and post-war centralization of the country. Ironically, this cursed shopping mall was recently demolished because of the decline of the regional economy. Now, all that is left here is a deserted car park.

Left: Bruno Taut. Sketch of the volcano Fuji on decorative cardboard, 8 September 1933
Baukunstarchiv, Akademie der Künste

Right: Ikuru Kuwajima. Bruno Taut’s painting, presented as a gift to the general manager of Kaoru-do confectionery factory in Akita in 1936, November 2019

We visited a few more places related to Taut, including the old house on the outskirts of the city where he stayed for one night. It later turned out that the owner of the house, who had once hosted the architect, was a close friend of my great-grandfather—so, I eventually found a personal connection with Taut, even if it is a very remote one. However, the most valuable catch awaited me in the office of a local traditional confectionery. Taut wrote in his diary that during his time in Akita he visited a confectionery works and tried the local delights. As a token of appreciation, he drew a pig, a symbol of good luck in Germany, on some thick paper packaging, put a marzipan inside (Königsberg’s culinary pride at that time), and gifted it to the owner of the factory, along with the recipe. To my surprise, this factory Kaoru-do still exists and the drawing was kept by the current director, who showed it to me with great pleasure. Actually, wherever Taut went he was always a shameless promoter of Prussian culture. For example, when he took part in the celebration of the traditional summer festival Tanabat during which it is common to attach notes with wishes to bamboo sticks, the architect wrote quotations from works by Immanuel Kant and distributed them amongst local residents. Taut probably missed his motherland and was unconsciously looking for its traces, even in the north of Japan. In his travel diary he wrote: “Pine trees, sand, water—as if of the Baltic Sea.”

I set forth for the nearest coast and Taut’s words proved correct: indeed, there were pine trees, sand, and the sea, which indeed reminded me of the Baltic Sea with its dull sky, cold wind, and desolate territory. The coasts of these remote seas remained uchanged—unlike the Königsberg, which had been totally destroyed after the war, and “Northern Kyoto”, which, unnoticed, had been wiped away by post-war capitalism and the centralisation of Japan. 

Translated from Russian by Alisa Oleva

Contributors
Ikuru Kuwajima
Artist, photographer, and writer based in Moscow. He was born in Japan and studied photojournalism in the Missouri University, USA. He has been traveling a lot and working on personal projects in Eastern European and Central Asian countries.

(EE)
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
С востока на восток

По следам Бруно Таута

Икуру Куваджима. Побережье Японского моря в префектуре Акита, ноябрь 2019

Гостя у родственников на севере Японии, художник Икуру Куваджима случайно наткнулся на упоминание о немецком архитекторе-авангардисте Бруно Тауте, побывавшем в этом краю в 1930-х годах. Заинтригованный историей европейца родом из Кенигсберга, оказавшегося в отдаленном регионе страны, куда и сегодня не добираются туристы, Икуру решил изучить его дневники и повторить маршрут от берегов Балтийского моря к побережью Японского. В своем эссе он рассказывает о тех удивительных совпадениях, личных открытиях и разочарованиях, что случились на этом пути. 

Япония — Пруссия

В декабре 2018 года, прилетев в Японию из Москвы, я посетил маленький северный город Омагари в префектуре Акита, чтобы повидаться со своим пожилым дядей. Это родина моей матери, и в детстве я часто приезжал туда на каникулах, чтобы насладиться зелеными рисовыми полями летом и густым снегом зимой и отдохнуть от тесного и многолюдного города неподалеку от Токио, где я рос, постоянно ощущая страх и страдая от клаустрофобии. За последние десятилетия Омагари заметно опустел, как будто там остались одни старики. Но, прогуливаясь по его центру, я вдруг увидел что-то необычное — современное четырехэтажное здание, сильно выделявшееся на фоне типичного пейзажа пустующих провинциальных городов Японии. Это был краеведческий музей, недавно построенный за счет государственных средств и призванный реабилитировать экономику региона. Я осматривал экспозицию, которая была посвящена главным образом местной истории и ежегодному фестивалю фейерверков, как вдруг увидел портрет европейца. Человека на фотографии звали Бруно Таут — архитектор, родившийся в 1880 году в прусском Кенигсберге, который впоследствии стал русским Калининградом. «Калининградец на севере Японии… Кенигсбержец на рисовом поле...» — представляя этот странный коллаж, я недоумевал. В Калининграде я побывал в 2017 году, а немец, согласно тексту на табличке, приезжал в Омагари в начале 1930-х годов и был чуть ли не единственным знаменитым иностранцем, хвалившим этот никому не известный северный городок. В своем дневнике он писал, что вид на мост и далекие горы, открывавшийся с той точки, где теперь находится музей, был самым красивым, что он видел в своей жизни. Тот же пейзаж часто видел я, когда приезжал в Омагари в детстве. После такого удивительного совпадения я решил больше узнать о Тауте. Вернувшись в Токио и закупив те книги о нем, что смог найти, я улетел обратно в Россию. 

Вверху: Икуру Куваджима. Побережье Японского моря в префектуре Акита, ноябрь 2019

Внизу: Антон Забродин. Вид на сосновый бор со стороны Балтийского моря. Заостровье (нем. Rantau), Калининградская область, февраль 2020

Кенигсберг — Стамбул

Почитав о жизни Таута, я узнал, что этот немец сыграл важную роль в культуре Японии. В Германии он известен как авангардный архитектор и представитель экспрессионизма, в то время как в Японии — как человек, открывший миру и самим японцам красоту их традиционной архитектуры. Даже мой семидесятилетний отец, никак не связанный со сферой культуры, знал Таута просто потому, что тот упоминался в школьном учебнике 1960-х годов как человек, описавший императорскую виллу Кацура (Кацура-рикю), которая со временем стала символом красоты в японской архитектуре. Таут также работал на крупных стройках в СССР и Турции, но, так как многие из них были завершены уже без его участия, в России так и остался неизвестным. И почти никто не знает Таута в его родном Кенигсберге-Калининграде, где давно уничтожена большая часть немецкого и прусского наследия. 

Приведу подробную биографию Таута. Он родился в столице Восточной Пруссии в 1880 году и провел там больше двадцати лет. После учебы работал в архитектурных бюро в разных немецких городах. Обосновавшись в Берлине в 1908-м, начал близко общаться с местными культурными деятелями и художниками, например Гервартом Вальденом — основателем литературного журнала и галереи Der Sturm, где выставлялись среди прочих работы Василия Кандинского и Пауля Клее. Влияние авангардистов заметно уже в «Стеклянном павильоне» Таута, построенном для выставки «Немецкого Веркбунда» в Кельне в 1914 году, — этот футуристический проект был создан в сотрудничестве с фантастом, экспериментальным поэтом и предшественником немецкого дадаизма Паулем Шеербартом. В начале 1920-х годов Таут строил в Магдебурге экспрессионистские дома, а после возвращения в Берлин приступил к работе над масштабным проектом — строительством городских кварталов эпохи модернизма, внесенных недавно в список ЮНЕСКО. Будучи социалистом, в 1932 году Таут отправился в СССР и участвовал в проектировании многих важных строек, в том числе гостиницы «Москва». Он покинул страну год спустя из-за конфликтов с представителями советской номенклатуры. Нацисты, как раз пришедшие к власти, начали преследовать вернувшегося архитектора из-за его сотрудничества с Советской Республикой. Ему удалось сбежать в Швейцарию вместе с женой Эрикой, а оттуда они отправились по Транссибирской магистрали в Японию. 

Вверху: Икуру Куваджима. побережье Японского моря в префектуре Акита, ноябрь 2019

Внизу: Антон Забродин. Побережье Балтийского моря. Зеленоградск (нем. Cranz), Калининградская область, февраль 2020

Туда Таут был приглашен меценатами, которые хотели привить Японии западный модернизм, и поселился сначала в Киото, а затем в буддийском храме в ста километрах к северу от Токио. Как иностранный архитектор, он привлекал внимание интеллектуалов и журналистов и даже выступил с лекцией при полном зале, но, несмотря на популярность, не смог получить крупные заказы. Это частично можно объяснить подъемом национализма в стране, а также неправильным пониманием спонсорами его экспрессионистских проектов. Но благодаря отсутствию работы Таут мог свободно путешествовать и писать тексты, позже оказавшие сильное влияние на историю японской архитектуры. Таут был влюблен в местную культуру, но отправился с женой в Турцию в 1936 году после получения приглашения работать там. Его поддержал сам Ататюрк, и Таут участвовал в строительстве важных государственных зданий, в том числе и университета в Анкаре. Похороны президента-реформатора, над которыми усердно работал архитектор, подорвали его здоровье, и Таут умер в Стамбуле в декабре 1938-го. Его вдова Эрика отправилась в Японию спустя год для исполнения последней воли покойного мужа: она оставила его посмертную маску и записи в храме Дарума, где они жили когда-то.

Москва — Токио — Омагари

Изучая наследие Таута в своей московской квартире, я решил сделать что-то общественно полезное и предложил одному издательству выпустить его дневники и эссе на русском языке. Идея им понравилась, и я начал работать над составлением будущей книги, хотя сам не очень понимал, зачем ввязался в этот, по сути, волонтерский проект. Почти год я жил в Москве, занимаясь исследованиями и другой работой, пока в конце 2019-го мне снова не пришлось ехать в Японию по личным делам. В этот раз благодаря Тауту у меня появился повод отправиться на север во второй раз — может быть, в этом и крылась причина моего увлечения им. 

Прилетев в Японию, я провел несколько дней в Токио и его окрестностях, но через несколько дней мне захотелось избавиться от тех душных железобетонных муравейников, от которых я сбежал 15 лет назад. В своих записях Таут также неоднократно упоминал свою неприязнь к столице, замечая «уродливость» в хаотичной планировке города, чрезмерном количестве рекламы и проявлениях «американизма». Он презрительно называл китчем спроектированную Фрэнком Ллойдом Райтом гостиницу «Тэйкоку», которую японцы с гордостью считали важным архитектурным достижением. По словам Таута, этот невыносимый китч обычно являлся следствием безвкусного подражания западной культуре, комплекса неполноценности перед Западом и склонности наивно доверять западным авторитетам. Другая черта, которую он подмечал в японцах с разочарованием, была их меркантильность: ему казалось, что «везде люди хотят что-то продавать».

Вверху: Икуру Куваджима. Побережье Японского моря в префектуре Акита, ноябрь 2019

Внизу: Антон Забродин. Побережье Балтийского моря. Пионерский курорт (нем. Neukuhren), Калининградская область, февраль 2020

Я отправился на север на скоростном поезде «Синкансен», благодаря которому путь до Омагари стал заметно короче и теперь занимает лишь три с половиной часа. В детстве мы с матерью ехали с пересадкой, путешествие могло длиться полдня, и в этом была своя прелесть. Таут двигался еще медленнее, следуя маршрутом Басе, средневекового поэта и автора дневника «По тропинкам Севера». Когда-то и я хотел путешествовать этими тропами, но потом передумал: Япония стала чересчур туристической. Когда поезд проезжал префектуру Тотиги в ста километрах к северу от Токио, пейзаж преобразился. За окном стало меньше холодных железобетонных домов, стали мелькать рисовые поля, начали виднеться горы и желто-красные леса. Два часа я двигался на север, пока поезд не сменил направление и не отправился на запад, к Японскому морю. Путь пролегал через перевал, где уже выпал снег, и затем по широкой равнине — так я снова оказался в Омагари, откуда до побережья уже не очень далеко. Сам город считается частью «уранихон», что дословно переводится как «задняя Япония» — северо-западный экономически отсталый прибрежный регион, который особенно любил Таут. 

Высадившись на станции и проходя по малолюдному вокзалу, я вслушивался в разговоры прохожих, стараясь уловить местный диалект, в котором мне всегда чувствовалась особая теплота. Но я не нашел ее в их речи: многие местные стали говорить на скучном токийском диалекте. Раньше в каждом регионе Японии существовало свое наречие, примерно как в Великобритании, и часто я с трудом понимал северный говор. Но за последний век правительство фактически уничтожило локальные идентичности и централизовало страну, используя для этих целей обязательное обучение на унифицированном языке. Так был истреблен не только традиционный быт древнейшего народа айнов, веками проживавших на северных островах, но и разнообразие самой японской культуры.

Дедушкин дом, унаследованный моим дядей, стоит на краю города посреди большого рисового поля. Раньше оно возделывалось соседствующими семьями, и здесь было много больших и уютных деревянных домов, которые сегодня если и сохранились, то утратили свою аутентичность из-за многочисленных ремонтов. Помню, когда-то в доме дедушки был даже «ирори» — традиционный очаг в квадратном углублении с песком и пеплом на полу, где иногда готовили рыбу. Таут очень любил эти старые дома и писал, что никогда не видел в Японии некрасивых фермерских коттеджей. Он даже посвятил им целую главу в своей книге Houses and People of Japan, которая вышла на японском и английском языках в 1938 году, — в ней он сравнивал японские фермерские дома с европейскими, отмечая космополитизм первых и особенно восторгаясь разнообразием форм и материалов, использовавшихся при строительстве их крыш. Сейчас же на пути к дедушкиному дому мне в основном встречались скучные магазины с большими парковками, которые, должно быть, можно увидеть на обочине любого американского города. 

Вверху: Икуру Куваджима. Сохранившийся старый дом в городе Акита, ноябрь 2019

Внизу: Антон Забродин. Работы по восстановлению берега. Светлогорск (нем. Rauschen), Калининградская область, февраль 2020

Будучи социалистом, Таут проявлял особую симпатию к фермерам, составляющим тогда подавляющее большинство японского населения и часто жившим в нищете, но при этом сохранявшим вежливость и доброжелательность. И, в отличие от типичных иностранцев и японских националистов, он не фетишизировал и весьма критично относился к привилегированной касте самураев, которая часто фермеров эксплуатировала. То ли по идеологическим причинам, то ли из-за эстетического несовпадения Таут совсем не ценил средневековые замки и большинство примеров «самурайской» архитектуры, особенно знаменитый храм Никко Тосе-гу, построенный по завещанию сегуна Иэясу Токугава в начале XVII века. С презрением он называл все это китчем. При этом Таут совсем не критиковал императорскую культуру, которую японские левые считают наследием дремучего феодализма и истоком классовых проблем в стране, и даже хвалил все с ней связанное, увидев, например, эстетическое и духовное сродство домов японских фермеров с синтоистским храмом Исэ, впервые построенным более 15 столетий назад. Возможно, эти противоречия и упрощения были следствием относительно недолгого пребывания Таута в Японии, но так или иначе эта позиция восхищала местных патриотов и, возможно, была одной из причин, по которой они так хорошо приняли авангардного архитектора-социалиста и противника нацизма.

Помимо домов и пейзажей, Таут также интересовался бытом японцев. Во время путешествия по префектуре Акита он писал, например, что «тут мужчины одеваются как русские, а женщины похожи на сибирячек». Его восхищали и местные языческие обычаи: оказавшись на одном из зимних фестивалей, Таут был поражен побоищем бамбуковыми палками и шествиями с фаллическими символами. Я сам не знал о существовании такого рода экзотики на земле моих предков, хотя эти фестивали до сих пор проходят недалеко от дома моего дедушки. Таут также описал «камакура» — снежные домики, которые обычно строят зимой на севере во время синтоистских праздников. После публикации заметок архитектора японцы со всей страны стали приезжать в префектуру Акита, чтобы на них посмотреть. Вообще, Таут был одним из немногих интеллектуалов, обративших внимание на этот отдаленный регион. Возможно, именно из-за этой необычной симпатии Акира Куросава, чей отец родился в деревне рядом с Омагари, хотел экранизировать его жизнь. «Немец в храме Дарума» мог стать дебютом всемирно известного режиссера, но из-за начала войны производство было прекращено. 

Японское море — Балтийское море 

После посещения Омагари я решил отправиться в одноименную столицу префектуры Акита, расположенную на берегу Японского моря. Там родилась и выросла моя бабушка по отцовской линии, но я бывал в городе только проездом. Таут очень любил это место и называл его «северным Киото», что меня сильно удивило: на моей памяти никто так хорошо об Акита не отзывался. В этой столице с населением 300 тысяч человек до сих пор нет ни одного хостела, несмотря на благосклонный отзыв известного архитектора и возросшее в последние годы количество иностранных туристов, путешествующих по Японии. Тут явно было что-то не так. Я решил посмотреть на «северный Киото» своими глазами.

В городе меня встретила местная специалистка по архитектуре, которая согласилась провести экскурсию по старому центру, когда-то впечатлившему Таута великолепием деревянных домов. Я отправился с ней в надежде увидеть эту красоту, но там меня ждало только разочарование: в районе, о котором писал Таут, осталась лишь пара строений того времени. Более того, на верхнем фасаде одного из них был размещен огромный плакат агентства недвижимости — «северный Киото» явно больше не существовал. Мне пришла в голову мысль, что он мог быть уничтожен бомбардировками, и я чуть было не начал проклинать Америку, но мой гид быстро объяснила, что на самом деле город благополучно пережил войну, а уникальные деревянные дома были снесены уже во время экономического взлета 1960-х годов. «Они хотели “Дайей”... — сказала она тоскливо, назвав бренд торговой сети, распространившейся по всей стране в последовавшие за войной двадцать лет экономического роста. — Люди у нас любят новые вещи, торговые центры, “Макдоналдс”, “Старбакс”. Все, что есть в Токио». Осознание этого культурного самоубийства сокрушило меня. Северный жемчуг был уничтожен не бедностью, не войной, не землетрясением и цунами, но рынком и послевоенной централизацией страны. По иронии судьбы этот проклятый торговый центр и сам не так давно был снесен из-за упадка региональной экономики. Теперь в этом месте осталась лишь безлюдная парковка. 

Слева: Бруно Таут. Рисунок вулкана Фудзи, сделанный на декоративном картоне, 8 сентября 1933
Baukunstarchiv, Akademie der Künste

Справа: Икуру Куваджима. Картина Бруно Таута, подаренная директору кондитерской компании «Каору-до» в городе Акита в 1936 году, ноябрь 2019 года

Мы посетили еще несколько мест, связанных с Таутом, в том числе и старый дом на окраине города, где он провел одну ночь. Позже выяснилось, что хозяин дома, когда-то приютивший архитектора, был близким другом моего прадеда — у меня даже нашлась личная связь с Таутом, хотя и очень далекая. Но самая ценная добыча была обнаружена мной в офисе местного производителя традиционных кондитерских изделий. Таут писал в своем дневнике, что во время пребывания в Акита посетил кондитерский завод и угощался местными сладостями. В знак благодарности он нарисовал на толстой бумаге свинью, символ удачи в Германии, и марципан, кенигсбергскую гордость тех времен, и подарил владельцу завода вместе с рецептом. К моему удивлению, это предприятие «Каору-до» продолжало существовать, и рисунок по-прежнему хранился у нынешнего директора, который мне его с удовольствием показал. Вообще, Таут без скромности пропагандировал прусскую культуру. Например, когда он участвовал в праздновании традиционного летнего фестиваля Танабата, во время которого принято привязывать к бамбуковым веткам бумажки с пожеланиями, архитектор писал на них цитаты из трудов Иммануила Канта и раздавал местным жителям. Возможно, Таут скучал по родине и подсознательно искал ее следы на севере Японии. В своем путевом дневнике он писал: «Сосны, песок, вода — точно Балтийского моря». 

Я отправился на близлежащее побережье, и слова Таута подтвердились: действительно, здесь были сосны, песок и море, напоминающее Балтийское своим тусклым небом, холодным ветром и безлюдным пространством. Сохранились берега этих далеких морей — но не Кенигсберг, полностью уничтоженный после войны, и не «северный Киото», незаметно сметенный капитализмом и централизацией страны. 

Авторы
Икуру Куваджима
Художник, фотограф и автор. Родился в Японии, изучал фотожурналистику в Университете Миссури, США. Много путешествует и работает над личными проектами в восточно-европейских и центрально-азиатских странах. Живет в Москве.