(EE)
ISSUE 2: DREAM
Making space for dreaming means increasing the field of possibility
EN / RU
East Meets East

Stories of Resistance

BAALBEK, BEQAA, LEBANON — MAY 2018
CHOUCHA CAMP, TUNISIA — JULY 2011

CALAIS, FRANCE — JULY 2016
ZAATARI CAMP, JORDAN — APRIL 2014

EastEast features selected stories of everyday life in refugee camps from Henk Wildshut’s photobook Rooted (2019). It presents his nearly decade-long exploration of how precarious gardens grown by the displaced become expressions of resistance to bureaucratically imposed victimhood.

Update as of September 2, 2020: EastEast has received comments from philosopher and translator Diana Khamis, touching on several significant errors in the text of Henk Wildshut’s book, republished by our platform. In particular, the name Abu Hamzi should not be shortened to “Abu,” since “Abu Hamzi” literally translates as “the father of Hamzi”—respectively, this name cannot be split into two parts. The text also mentions “the desert sands of the Bekaa valley”:  the Beqaa (or Bekaa) Valley is known as the most fertile land of Lebanon with abundant groundwaters, with no sand whatsoever in the area. “The stereotype that Arab countries are all desert is so strong and so ignominious in Lebanon...” wrote Diana. We are extremely grateful for this feedback and are glad to be able to share it. As a new public platform, we acknowledge that we work with highly sensitive content, and we keep learning—but this by no means justifies the occurrence of such unfortunate mistakes. We are going to be even more attentive to detail and careful about the content we are sharing. And we encourage our readers to contact us whenever they encounter any problem or feel like a certain point requires further discussion.

I

I was engaged in a reportage project in the earthquake-struck region of northern Pakistan in 2005 when I first noticed a newly planted micro-garden in a refugee camp. The sight of something so prosaic in such a chaotic situation was unexpected and moving. The existence of these tiny gardens changed my view of refugees: I began to see the residents as resilient survivors instead of as victims. It was with this outlook that in 2006 I began my study of refugee issues in Calais. It was not until 2015 that little gardens like these started to appear outside the makeshift huts and tents in the “Jungle”. The arrival of thousands of migrants in 2015 had provoked stringent security measures in Calais harbour. It became clear to the camp residents that their stay in the French seaport of Calais would last longer than they had planned. By planting little gardens in this unwelcoming setting, the migrants in the sand dunes seemed to be striving to reconcile themselves with the situation. They used plants to create a gentler, more domestic atmosphere. The impersonality of the unofficial camp was diminished and the camp dwellers literally began to put down roots in foreign soil.

CALAIS, FRANCE — NOVEMBER 2015
TERBOL, BEQAA, LEBANON — MAY 2018

When in Amsterdam, I usually cycle past the front gardens of my neighbourhood without giving them a second glance. In a refugee camp, however, the sight of gardens suddenly takes on a different significance. The more desperate the situation in which the garden is planted, the more emphasis there is on the willpower of the gardener. But it turned out that these little gardens, created despite the unpleasant circumstances that prevailed in the dunes of Calais or the desert sands of the Beqaa Valley, were nothing new. Kenneth Helphand’s book, Defiant Gardens: Making Gardens in Wartime, describes the vegetable patches cultivated in the trenches during World War I. The soldiers, many of them from a farming background, planted vegetables for their own consumption. Seeing the plants sprouting and growing must have been a welcome distraction. The soldiers could briefly turn to a mundane task amid the grim reality of trench warfare. A plant or miniature garden in the chaotic surroundings of a refugee camp brightens the mood of not only the gardeners, but of their fellow residents as well. Planting a little garden becomes a focus for optimism and encourages camp neighbours to begin their own microgardens. As a visitor, I felt the loving attention given to the greenery as a welcoming gesture. Admiring the beauty of a flower patch made it easier for me to strike up a conversation. It helped me establish contact with the gardeners and to better understand and record their experiences.

Despite the scorching desert heat, I was amazed to find little garden plots complete with garden ornaments all over the Choucha refugee camp during my visit to Tunisia in 2011. I also witnessed how the inhabitants personalized the standard tents provided by UNHCR. They would cut into the tent fabric in order to increase the height or in order to add on an entrance awning. Strangely, the public relations officer who guided me around the camp had never noticed these expressions of individuality. He seemed fixated on the victimhood of the camp inhabitants and was completely oblivious to the signs of their resistance to that stigma. Aware that they were probably fated for a long stay in the camp, the inhabitants felt a need to distinguish themselves from the monotonous official surroundings. These little gardens were expressions of resistance to bureaucratically imposed victimhood.

SEA FIG. NASRIYEH, BEQAA, LEBANON — MAY 2018, MARCH 2019

The sea fig (Carpobrotus chilensis) is an ice plant that produces beautiful flowers and juicy, edible leaves. Originally a South African plant, it spread to South America long enough ago for it to be considered a native species. Perhaps the explorers and conquistadors who first visited the Caribbean and South America took it with them as a source of fresh greenery and a remedy against scurvy. It has since spread along the world’s warm coasts and beaches

II

In 2013, Nura and her family fled from Idlib in north-western Syria to a small, informal refugee camp just outside the village of Chtaura in Lebanon’s Beqaa Valley. The camp is located next to a factory where her husband sometimes works. Nura was given a cutting of a sea fig by someone who took a specimen of the plant with them from Syria. It is not available in the Beqaa Valley. She has put the cutting in a glass of water in the hope that it will grow roots. She is very happy about it, because the sea fig has beautiful flowers and reminds her of her own garden, where she also had this plant.

Curious about the winter conditions in the refugee camps, I revisited the Bequaa Valley at the beginning of March. It had been nearly a year since I first met NURA and I went to look for her. The sea fig cutting had grown tremendously but had not borne any flowers so far. Nura was unsure whether that would ever happen. Now that the war in Syria seemed to be over, I asked her what she thought about going back home. Nura was not optimistic. The neighbourhood where she had lived had been totally destroyed and there was nothing to go back for.

KHALDI AMGHALID. BAR ELIAS, BEQAA, LEBANON — MAY 2018

III

Khaldi Amghalid fled from Syria to Lebanon in 2013 with her husband and seven children. The family rented a plot of land near the town of Bar Elias in the Beqaa Valley. Amghalid has planted a large vegetable garden next to their corrugated tin shack. She and her children take care of the garden. It gives them great satisfaction to be able to eat produce from their own small plot of land. The snapdragon is her favourite flower. It comes back every year and blooms for a long time. Amghalid dreams of being able to work again someday in her garden back home in Syria. But she realizes that it might be a long while before this can happen, as her house and all everything around it was destroyed. Their shelter in the Beqaa Valley lies only twenty kilometers away from their ruined home and garden in Syria. 

WALID MEHRE. SAADNEYEL, BEQAA, LEBANON — MAY 2018

IV

At one point, I discovered a place that was a veritable oasis of colour. There were so many flowering plants that I thought I had stumbled on a florist’s shop. On enquiry, I learned that these sea of flowers were the property of Walid Mehre. He assured me that the plants were not for sale, but he occasionally gave them as presents to his neighbours. Walid told me that he loves his plants as though they were his children. Flowering plants are the most beautiful thing in the world, he explained. Every morning, he drinks tea in the garden with his wife. Then spends the morning caring for his plants, watering them and pruning them wherever necessary. Walid speaks to his plants. They seem to answer him too. The cultivation of plants is, he feels, vital to his mental survival. He needs a distraction to help him forget all the misery for a while. The sheer quantity of plants he has around him betrays the horrors of the past from which he has escaped. When I asked what his favourite flower was, he brought out two gardenias from his tent; he kept them inside because they cannot thrive in direct sunlight. I can see his eyes light up a bit whenever he talks about his plants, after which he quickly resumes the downcast gaze of a severely traumatized man.

After my visit to the Beqaa Valley, I told Walid’s story to a Lebanese friend from Beirut. He was familiar with that love of flowers. During the civil war that raged in Lebanon from 1975 to 1990, a flower was a symbol of hope to many people. Once the dust settled in Beirut after a heavy bombardment, the baker would be the first to open his doors again; the second was the florist. 

HAYAT ABOU JABÁ. BAR ELIAS, BEQAA, LEBANON — MAY 2018
CANARY AT ZAATARI CAMP, JORDAN — APRIL 2018

V

Grandma Hayat Abou Jabá has been living with her family for over two years in the Beqaa Valley, Lebanon. At home in Syria, she had a garden with many flowers and other plants. When the war came too close, she fled with her children and grandchildren, sadly leaving the garden behind. As soon as the family found a place to build a temporary dwelling, Hayat began cultivating new plants. It soon became her daily routine. Geraniums in pots now flourish in her “front room”, while roses put on a colourful display outside. Grandma Hayat’s plants play an important part in binding the family together, her daughter told me. The pleasant atmosphere created by the greenery in the front room has made it into a central place where family and friends can gather and relax. In the few years she has been in the Beqaa, Hayat has sprouted so many cuttings that she can give many away. Her plants are now spreading among her family and neighbours. Hayat does this for her own pleasure, her daughter said. An amaryllis is growing in the soil outside. It is known as a “wedding plant”, she told me, because two flowers grow on each stem.

AHMED SALIM AHMED. SAADNAYEL, BEQAA, LEBANON — MAY 2018

VI

Ahmed Sailm Ahmed has a grass lawn next to his dwelling. It was surprising because this was the first time I had seen a lawn growing in a refugee camp. Ahmed described the envious glances of neighbours who would have liked a lawn of their own. He prefers a lawn to bedding or pot plants because you can sit there in order to enjoy it. And enjoy it he does. Every morning at sunrise, he takes breakfast on the lawn with his family. He mows the lawn every two weeks using a mower borrowed from a farmer in the vicinity. The smell of newly mown grass takes him back to his past in Homs. When mowing, he feels somehow closer to home, to the large lawn alongside his house. But returning to that house and lawn in Homs is impossible. Everything has been destroyed.

REFLEXED STONECROP. TERBOL, BEQAA, LEBANON — MAY 2018
BEETROOT. CALAIS, FRANCE — OCTOBER 2016

The beetroot (Beta vulgaris subsp. vulgaris) originally grew in countries around the Mediterranean Sea, in Asia, and along the coasts of Europe. The Romans probably brought beet plants to Northern Europe. Centuries of cultivation have led to several edible varieties including the red beet with its plump red root and edible green leaves known as chard.

VII

The mainly Sudanese camp dwellers in Choucha bought seedlings in nearby villages and planted them in the desert sand of the camp. They used an ingenious system for irrigating their plants. Plastic water bottles would be filled with a mix of sand and water and thrust upside-down into the soil, so as to gradually dispense the moisture the plants needed to survive in the desert heat. They told me that it was a technique that they had learned in their Sudanese homeland. Many of the men I met in the camp had fled in the preceding years from Darfur, a province inhabited principally by nomadic tribes. The bottles visible in the photo were not made in Darfur, however. I saw these in the Beqaa Valley in Lebanon. Ahmad devised the system together with his son. They cut a hole in the base of a plastic bottle and then attached the neck of another bottle with glue, resulting in a drip watering system. Ahmad also has several other ideas for ways of using empty bottles to make irrigation systems.

ABU HAMZI. PEACH TREE. ZAATARI CAMP, JORDAN — APRIL 2018
LIME TREE. ZAATARI CAMP, JORDAN — APRIL 2018

Citrus aurantifolia or the lime-tree originated in south-east Asia and then spread throughout the Mediterranean region. It can grow from six to seven metres tall.

VIII

Abu Hamzi and his family fled the horrors of the war in Syria and arrived at the Zaatari refugee camp in Jordan in 2013. Abu had worked as a horticulturist in Damascus and specialized in the shaping of shrubs. He has planted a beautiful garden with flowers and lots of succulents that do well in the dry ground around his shelter in the camp. When he feels stressed, he goes into his garden. Its beauty relaxes him, he says, and caring for the garden is good for his soul. A few weeks ago he discovered a peach sprouting in the back of his garden, presumably growing from a discarded pit. Abu put crates over the young sapling “to protect it from the kids, who yank everything out of the ground if you don’t watch out.” He is hoping it will grow into a nice big tree, because that will give him shade and fruit.

MERIAM. ROSE. BAR ELIAS, BEQAA, LEBANON — MAY 2018
PEAS. CALAIS, FRANCE — JULY 2016

Peas are among the many legumes (chickpeas, lentils, broad beans, etc.) that have been cultivated around the Mediterranean Sea since prehistoric times. They are still a crucial part of everyday cuisine in many cultures. Today’s green “garden peas” are mostly of the species Pisum sativum. These climbing plants easily reach 150 cm in height. Peas, broad beans, and several other legumes do equally well in colder climates such as northern Europe.

IX

The white rose is the favorite flower of Meriam, who comes from Aleppo. She sees each opening flower bud as a newborn baby. “It’s lovely to see a new little rose smiling at you when you get up in the morning,” she told me. It is also a joy for her to come back home and see the well cared for garden after a day’s hard work outdoors. “Growing roses in the Beqaa Valley is harder than in Syria,” Meriam said. Here, she could not get more than four roses to bloom on each plant. Perhaps it was because the Syrian soil was better for roses; that is after all her home soil, she said. In Syria, at least twelve roses would bloom on one plant.

Contributors
Henk Wildschut
Dutch documentary photographer based in Amsterdam. He studied at the Royal Academy of Art in The Hague and travels a lot, working on personal and commercial projects.

(EE)
EN / RU
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
Вне поля зрения

Истории сопротивления: проект Хенка Вилдсхута о садах беженцев

БААЛЬБЕК, БЕКАА, ЛИВАН — МАЙ 2018 ГОДА
ЛАГЕРЬ «ЧУЧА», ТУНИС — ИЮЛЬ 2011 ГОДА

КАЛЕ, ФРАНЦИЯ — ИЮЛЬ 2016 ГОДА
ЛАГЕРЬ «ЗААТАРИ», ИОРДАНИЯ — АПРЕЛЬ 2014 ГОДА

EastEast публикует избранные истории о повседневности в лагерях для перемещенных лиц из фотокниги Хенка Вилдсхута Rooted (2019). В течение десяти лет Вилдсхут исследовал то, как хрупкие сады, выращиваемые беженцами, становятся выражением сопротивления статусу жертвы, навязанному бюрократическим аппаратом.

Обновление от 2 сентября 2020 года. EastEast получил от философини и переводчицы Дианы Хамис комментарии, касающиеся некоторых значительных неточностей в опубликованном на нашей платформе тексте книги Хенка Вилдсхута. В частности, имя Абу Хамзи не следует сокращать до Абу, так как Абу Хамзи буквально значит «отец Хамзи» — соответственно, разбивать это имя некорректно. В тексте также упоминаются «пустынные пески долины Бекаа»: долина Бекаа известна как наиболее плодородная земля Ливана с обильными грунтовыми водами — пустыни на этой территории нет. «Стереотип о том, что арабские страны — это пустыня, так силен и настолько постыл в Ливане…» — говорит Диана. Мы очень благодарны за этот фидбек и рады им поделиться. Мы осознаем, что работаем с крайне чувствительными темами, и продолжаем учиться — но это никоим образом не оправдывает допущения таких досадных ошибок. Впредь будем еще внимательнее к деталям и строже к публикуемой информации. А также призываем наших читателей связываться с нами, если они столкнутся с какой-либо ошибкой или почувствуют, что определенный вопрос требует дальнейшего обсуждения.

I

Я впервые заметил крохотный, только что разбитый садик в лагере беженцев, когда работал над репортажем о последствиях землетрясения на севере Пакистана в 2005 году. Неожиданная встреча с чем-то настолько обыденным посреди хаоса тронула меня. Эти маленькие сады изменили мой взгляд на беженцев: я стал видеть в них не жертв, а выживших. Именно с таким отношением я подошел к изучению проблемы беженцев в Кале в 2006-м. В «Джунглях» (название лагеря нелегальных мигрантов и переселенцев, просуществовавшего с января 2015 по октябрь 2016 года. — Прим. пер.) похожие садики стали появляться рядом с самодельными хижинами и палатками не раньше 2015 года. Тогда в лагерь начали прибывать тысячи мигрантов, что привело к введению в гавани строгих мер безопасности. Беженцы поняли: их пребывание во французском порту продлится дольше, чем они планировали. Казалось, что, разбивая садики в этом неприветливом месте среди песчаных дюн, мигранты пытаются примириться с ситуацией. С помощью растений они создавали более приятную, домашнюю атмосферу. Стихийно возникший лагерь начинал обретать лицо, а его жители — в буквальном смысле слова — пускать корни в чужой стране.

КАЛЕ, ФРАНЦИЯ — НОЯБРЬ 2015 ГОДА
ТЕРБОЛ, БЕКАА, ЛИВАН — МАЙ 2018 ГОДА

Бывая в Амстердаме, я обычно проезжаю мимо палисадников, даже не замечая их. Но вид садов в лагере беженцев неожиданно приобретает совсем другое значение. Чем более отчаянными казались обстоятельства, в которых возникали сады, тем больше зависело от силы воли садовника. Но, как я выяснил, маленькие сады, созданные вопреки неблагоприятной среде дюн Кале или пустынных песков долины Бекаа, отнюдь не новое изобретение. В книге Кеннета Гельфанда Defiant Gardens: Making Gardens in Wartime описаны грядки в окопах Первой мировой войны. Солдаты, многие из которых были родом из крестьянских семей, растили там овощи для своего стола. Наблюдение за побегами и зреющими плодами, вероятно, отвлекало их от мрачной реальности траншейных сражений, помогая хотя бы ненадолго вернуться к простым, будничным делам. Растение или миниатюрный сад в хаосе лагеря улучшали настроение не только тех, кто ими непосредственно занимался, но и других обитателей. Забота о маленьком клочке зелени внушала оптимизм и вдохновляла соседей на создание своих собственных садиков. Посещая дома беженцев, я воспринимал их внимательность к растениям как проявление гостеприимства, и разговор мне часто было легче начать с комплимента о красоте цветочной грядки. Это помогало установить контакт с садоводами, лучше понять и записать их истории.

Когда я приехал в Тунис в 2011 году, то удивился, обнаружив маленькие палисадники, украшенные садовыми безделушками и разбитые по всей территории лагеря беженцев «Чуча», несмотря на невыносимую жару пустыни. Я также стал свидетелем того, как жители переделывали под себя стандартные палатки, предоставленные УВКБ ООН, — например, разрезав ткань, чтобы увеличить высоту, или добавив козырек на входе. Как ни странно, специалист по связям с общественностью, показывая лагерь, никогда не замечал этих проявлений индивидуальности. Мне он показался зацикленным на «жертвенности» местных жителей, а признакам их сопротивления стигме не придавал никакого значения. Осознавая, что, возможно, им придется остаться в лагере надолго, его обитатели чувствовали необходимость выделить себя из монотонности официальной обстановки. Крошечные садики стали выражением сопротивления статусу жертвы, навязанному бюрократическим аппаратом. 

КАРПОБРОТУС. НАСРИЯ, БЕКАА, ЛИВАН — МАЙ 2018 ГОД, МАРТ 2019 ГОДА

Карпобротус (Carpobrotus chilensis) — суккулент с красивыми цветами и сочными съедобными листьями. Несмотря на южноафриканское происхождение, довольно давно растение получило широкое распространение и на своей второй родине — в Южной Америке, куда оно, возможно, попало вместе с первыми экспедициями исследователей и конкистадоров, которые брали этот суккулент с собой как источник свежей зелени и средство против цинги. С тех пор карпобротус постепенно разросся вдоль теплых морских побережий и пляжей по всему миру

II

Нура и ее семья бежали из Идлиба, города на северо-западе Сирии, в 2013-м и оказались в небольшом стихийном лагере недалеко от деревни Чтаура в ливанской долине Бекаа. Лагерь находится рядом с фабрикой, где иногда работает ее муж. У кого-то из других сирийских беженцев оказался с собой карпобротус, и одним из черенков поделились с Нурой. В долине Бекаа это растение встретить невозможно. Женщина опустила черенок в стакан с водой, надеясь, что однажды тот пустит корни. Карпобротус ей нравится красивыми цветами и напоминает о доме: когда-то в ее собственном саду были такие растения. 

Заинтересовавшись условиями в лагерях беженцев зимой, я вновь приехал в долину Бекаа в начале марта. С моего знакомства с Нурой прошел почти год, и я отправился на ее поиски. Карпобротус сильно разросся, но цветов так и не дал — Нура сомневалась, что это вообще когда-либо может произойти. Казалось, что война в Сирии уже закончилась, и я спросил женщину, что она думает о возвращении домой. В ее ответе не было оптимизма: район Нуры полностью разрушили, и возвращаться было некуда.

ХАЛДИ АМХАЛИД. БАР-ЭЛИАС, БЕКАА, ЛИВАН — МАЙ 2018 ГОДА

III

Халди Амхалид бежала из Сирии в Ливан в 2013 году с мужем и семью детьми, арендовав участок земли возле города Бар-Элиас в долине Бекаа. Рядом с хижиной из гофрированных металлических кусков Амхалид разбила большой огород, за которым помогают ухаживать дети. Возможность питаться тем, что вырастает на своем небольшом участке, приносит всем огромное удовольствие. Любимый цветок Амхалид — львиный зев, многолетнее растение с долгим периодом цветения. Женщина мечтает однажды вернуться в Сирию и продолжить заботиться о собственном саде. Но она понимает, что это может случиться нескоро, поскольку ее дом и все вокруг было разрушено. Их временное убежище в долине Бекаа находится всего в 20 километрах, но над руинами дома сейчас кружат лишь вороны. 

ВАЛИД МЕХРЕ. СААДНАЭЛЬ, БЕКАА, ЛИВАН — МАЙ 2018 ГОДА

IV

Однажды я обнаружил настоящий оазис. Там было так много цветущих растений, что мне показалось, будто я в цветочном магазине. Вскоре мне объяснили: островок рая принадлежит Валиду Мехре. Он заверил меня, что все эти растения были не для продажи, но иногда преподносились соседям в качестве подарков. Валид признался, что растения для него словно любимые дети: «В мире нет ничего прекраснее цветущих растений!» Каждое утро Валид пьет чай в саду с женой, затем приступает к повседневным делам: уходу за садиком, поливу и обрезке. Валид разговаривает со своими растениями, и ему даже кажется, что они отвечают. Он считает, что забота о саде — необходимый элемент психологического здоровья, способ отвлечься и на некоторое время забыть о страданиях. Огромное количество растений, которыми окружил себя мужчина, намекает на ужасы прошлого, от которых ему удалось убежать. Когда я спросил Валида о любимом цветке, он вынес из палатки две гардении — цветы постоянно находятся в помещении, чтобы избежать вредного для них прямого контакта с солнцем. Когда он говорит о своем увлечении, его глаза начинают светиться, однако вскоре взгляд затухает, вновь выдавая в нем глубоко травмированного человека.

После поездки в долину Бекаа я рассказал историю Валида одному другу-ливанцу из Бейрута. Подобная любовь к цветам ему была знакомой. Во время гражданской войны, которая бушевала в Ливане с 1975 по 1990 год, для многих цветок был символом надежды. Как только пыль от очередной бомбардировки оседала, первым открывал двери своей лавки пекарь, а вторым всегда был владелец цветочного магазина. 

ХАЯТ АБУ ДЖАБА. БАР-ЭЛИАС, БЕКАА, ЛИВАН — МАЙ 2018 ГОДА
КАНАРЕЙКИ В ЛАГЕРЕ «ЗААТАРИ», ИОРДАНИЯ — АПРЕЛЬ 2018 ГОДА

V

Больше двух лет бабушка Хаят Абу Джаба живет со своей семьей в ливанской долине Бекаа. Дома, в Сирии, у нее был сад с множеством цветов и растений. Когда война подобралась слишком близко, она бежала из страны с детьми и внуками — сад, к сожалению, пришлось оставить. Но как только семья нашла место для временного жилья, Хаят тут же взялась за садоводство — вскоре занятие вошло в ее привычный распорядок дня. Герани в горшках сейчас цветут в большой комнате, а розы красуются на пестрой грядке у входа. Дочь Хаят рассказала мне, что эти растения играют важную роль в сплочении семьи. Приятная атмосфера, которую благодаря зелени ощущаешь в большой комнате, превратила ее в сердце дома, где семья и друзья могут собраться вместе и отдохнуть. За несколько лет, проведенных в Бекаа, Хаят вырастила столько черенков, что сейчас может спокойно раздавать их всем желающим — ее растения разошлись по членам семьи и соседям. Хаят нравится этим заниматься, говорит дочь. Амариллис растет у дома, прямо в земле — его называют свадебным растением, так как на каждом стебле распускаются сразу два цветка.

АХМЕД САЛИМ АХМЕД. СААДНАЭЛЬ, БЕКАА, ЛИВАН — МАЙ 2018 ГОДА

VI

Рядом с домом Ахмеда Салима Ахмеда есть газон с травой — явление для лагеря беженцев исключительное, раньше я никогда не видел ничего подобного. Ахмед признался, что соседи часто бросают в его сторону завистливые взгляды: от собственного газона вряд ли бы кто-то отказался. Мужчина предпочитает газон декоративным или горшечным растениям, потому что им можно наслаждаться сидя — чем, собственно, он и занимается: каждое утро на рассвете Ахмед вместе с семьей завтракает прямо на лужайке. Газон косится каждые две недели косилкой, позаимствованной у фермера по соседству. Запах свежескошенной травы возвращает мужчину в прошлое, в Хомс. Ухаживая за травой, он чувствует себя ближе к родине: рядом с его домом когда-то тоже был просторный газон. Но вернуться туда невозможно. Хомс превратился в руины. 

ОЧИТОК СКАЛЬНЫЙ. ТЕРБОЛ, БЕКАА, ЛИВАН — МАЙ 2018 ГОДА
СВЕКЛА. КАЛЕ, ФРАНЦИЯ — ОКТЯБРЬ 2016 ГОДА

Свекла (Beta vulgaris subsp. Vulgaris) родом из стран Средиземноморья, Азии и с побережья Европы. В Северную Европу растение, возможно, попало благодаря римлянам. Столетия селекции увенчались выведением нескольких съедобных сортов, в том числе и красной свеклы с ее пухлым красным корнем и съедобными зелеными листьями, также известными как мангольд

VII

Саженцы в близлежащих деревнях покупали, а затем сажали в песчаной почве на территории лагеря «Чуча» в основном суданцы. Для полива они использовали гениальную систему орошения. Пластиковые бутылки наполняли смесью песка и воды и засовывали в землю горлышком вниз — так растения получали необходимую им в условиях пустынной жары влагу не сразу, а постепенно. Местные сообщили мне, что методу их обучили на родине, в Судане. Многие из тех, кого я встретил в лагере, бежали из Дарфура — провинции, населенной преимущественно кочевыми племенами. Но сама фотография с бутылками — не из Дарфура, это долина Бекаа в Ливане. На ней — технология, которую Ахмад придумал вместе с сыном. В основании пластиковой бутылки они вырезали отверстие, а затем приклеили ее к горлышку другой бутылки, создав таким образом систему капельного полива. И это была далеко не единственная идея Ахмада относительно возможностей применения пустых бутылок в целях ирригации.

АБУ ХАМЗИ. ПЕРСИКОВОЕ ДЕРЕВО. ЛАГЕРЬ «ЗААТАРИ», ИОРДАНИЯ — АПРЕЛЬ 2018 ГОДА
ЛАЙМОВОЕ ДЕРЕВО. ЛАГЕРЬ «ЗААТАРИ», ИОРДАНИЯ — АПРЕЛЬ 2018 ГОДА

Лаймовое дерево (Citrus aurantifolia) изначально росло в Юго-Восточной Азии, откуда затем распространилось по всему Средиземноморскому региону. Его высота может достигать 6–7 метров

VIII

Спасаясь от ужасов войны в Сирии, Абу Хамзи и его семья попали в лагерь беженцев «Заатари» в Иордании в 2013 году. В Дамаске Абу работал садоводом и специализировался на стрижке кустов. Вокруг своего жилища он высадил прекрасный сад с цветами и множеством суккулентов, которые хорошо растут на сухой почве. Сад помогает ему бороться со стрессом: Абу говорит, что красота расслабляет его, а забота о растениях полезна для души. Несколько недель назад он обнаружил персиковый росток, пробивающийся из земли в отдаленной части садика, где когда-то находилась мусорная яма. Абу накрыл саженец ящиками, чтобы «защитить его от детей, которые за твоей спиной способны выдернуть из земли все, что попадется им на глаза». Он надеется, что персик однажды превратится в прекрасное большое дерево и подарит ему свои плоды и тень.

МЕРИАМ. РОЗА. БАР-ЭЛИАС, БЕКАА, ЛИВАН — МАЙ 2018 ГОДА
ГОРОХ. КАЛЕ, ФРАНЦИЯ — ИЮЛЬ 2016 ГОДА

Горох — один из множества бобовых (нут, чечевица, бобы и так далее), выращиваемых в странах Средиземья с доисторических времен. До сих пор остается важным компонентом повседневной кухни ряда культур. В настоящее время «садовым горохом» называют в основном представителей вида Pisum sativum, вьющегося растения, которое может достигать 150 см в высоту. Горох, бобы и некоторые другие бобовые хорошо себя чувствуют также в холодном климате, например в Северной Европе

IX

Белая роза — любимый цветок Мериам из Алеппо. Для нее каждый раскрывающийся бутон — словно новорожденный ребенок. «Приятно, когда новая розочка улыбается тебе по утрам», — признается Мериам. Возвращаясь домой после напряженного рабочего дня на открытом воздухе, она радуется встрече с ухоженным садом. «Выращивать розы в долине Бекаа сложнее, чем в Сирии», — рассказывает Мериам. На одном кусте не удалось вырастить больше четырех бутонов. Она предполагает, что причина — в качестве сирийской почвы: все-таки это ее родная земля. В Сирии одно растение дает по крайней мере двенадцать роз.

Перевод с английского Ольги Бубич

Авторы
Хенк Вилдсхут
Документальный фотограф из Нидерландов. Получил образование в Королевской академии искусств в Гааге, много путешествует по миру, работая над личными и коммерческими проектам. Живет и работает в Амстердаме.