(EE)
ISSUE 2: DREAM
Making space for dreaming means increasing the field of possibility
EN / RU
East Meets East

Imaginary National Costume

Designer Jenia Kim was born in Tashkent, but she has lived in Moscow for almost twenty years. Two years ago, she returned to her hometown to start working on a new collection dedicated to the ethnic and cultural identity of the local Korean diaspora, which emerged due to the deportation of the Soviet Koreans to Uzbekistan in 1937.

EastEast presents a collaboration between photographer Masha Demianova and Jenia Kim, in which the designer’s memories of Uzbekistan and Korean traditions are inscribed into a dreamy visual landscape. It is complemented by a conversation between Jenia and EastEast editor-in-chief Furqat Palvan-Zade, also a native of Tashkent, about the changes that have taken place in the city, the reasons for her return, and the process of creative searches and material production.

Furqat Palvan-Zade:Do you miss Tashkent?

Jenia Kim:I really miss its warm weather and mountains, that’s true. Although I have pretty much stayed in Uzbekistan for the last two years. Longer than in Moscow.

FPZ:You left the country many years ago. What is your first memory of the city? Tell us about a few things you associate with your childhood.

JK:We moved to Moscow in 2001. I really didn't want to go away—I could even say that my parents took me by force, but, of course, for the sake of my own future. During the first five years, I lived constantly looking forward to my summer vacations—the time when I could travel back. And every autumn when I had to return to school I cried. But as I was growing up, I felt less and less drawn to Tashkent.

I often thought about the benches in my yard, the glass-wool-wrapped pipes along the river near the garages. The field I used to hang around in a lot when I was growing up—first playing there in the dust, making balls out of it with my saliva, and later—waving goodbyes to boys I dated. I remembered the terrible road we took roller-skating on rattling wheels, and the relief we felt when riding on the presidential highway. I remembered little bazaars where one felt like all the sellers were your family, the well my grandmother used to sit on every day, selling gum and single cigarettes and big pigodis (stuffed pies, a Korean dish popular in the Russian Far East and Central Asia—Ed.) that we ate during our school breaks. I also remembered taxi drivers in white Nexia, Damas, and Matiz cars, narrow streets with low houses, melon and watermelon on the tapchan (a type of outdoor furniture popular in Central Asia, it combines a large bed capable of holding up to eight adults with a table for meals—Ed.).

The most vivid memory of my childhood is Broadway (a pedestrian street in the center of Tashkent—Ed.). On almost every day my mother had off, we used to go to the Alisher Navoi Theater and then take a walk along it. For me, those outings always felt like little holidays. The street was full of artists and street cafes with oilcloth curtains at the entrance, at cafes my mother got roses as presents, and on our way home we bought trinkets.

FPZ:How did it feel to return to Tashkent after such a long break?

JK:Actually, I used to come to Tashkent rather often, and I still have many close relatives living there. When my grandmother was alive, we used to visit her with the whole family—our tradition was to meet every two or three years. But when I returned not on vacations, but to spend some time actually living in Tashkent, I was surprised to see how much it had changed: new buildings appeared, as well as new city lights—at places where I had never seen them before, new supermarkets and coffee shops…

I was also very much surprised to meet local creatives. I returned there a completely different person, you know, eager to discover some like-minded people. And the chances of finding those treasures around the city turned out to be rare. There were not as many creative people as in Moscow. I was very excited to get to know everyone who had something to do with any kind of creativity—because one needs to have a strong spirit and a love for art in order to develop something there. First, I was very impressed because I had little hope that I would meet someone, but six months later I realized how sad the situation actually was and how much the city was suffering from cultural stagnation.

FPZ:And in general, what do you think about the city now?

JK: In some ways Tashkent has become more comfortable—for example, now one can find European cuisine and coffee shops around. But at the same time, it has become fake and faceless. In the past, everything was real and now we have Alucobond everywhere (metal panels used for covering the walls of buildings.—Ed.), which annoys me a lot. I know that soon I will not feel anything while walking around Tashkent’s streets because nothing is going to be left. Thus, I try to come here more often before it becomes an “Alucobond city.”

Once I failed to hold my tears when passing by another plastic building. I really hope that someone will be able to stop this, and people in power will see the beauty of what belongs to them. This is largely why I have chosen dowry as the topic of my collection: I wanted to show that a modern collection can be made of Uzbek materials and techniques. I truly believe it is beautiful.

FPZ:Tell us about your labor collective. How is your production organized in Tashkent? Where did you find seamstresses?

JK:I returned to Tashkent in 2018 having decided to take a break from design. I was even considering the possibility of closing my brand. It was not an easy period for me: I lost my dream and had no idea of what my life was about. I could not do anything but meditate or drink. In Tashkent, I came across seamstresses and started sewing again, together with them. No big plans, just for myself. And it helped me to find my calling.

First, I found an embroiderer who gave me the contact of a woman who dyed fabrics. Then I traveled across Uzbekistan—to Samarkand, Nurata, and Angren—searching for good tailors. I used Nexia cars to move around—well, not so comfortable, but very memorable, I should say. Then I started sewing my collection at a production facility that a friend of mine had suggested, but we failed to find a common language. I started looking for tailors again—this time through OLX (an international online service that provides spaces for ads.—Ed.), called numbers I found in ads. Setting up the process took me about six months. There are still a lot of difficulties, but I see the progress. Now everything works like this—in the workshop or with homeworkers I make technical drawings and embroidery patterns that are sent to Angren and Nurata, pieces are then sewn in Tashkent or Moscow. Well, I should say I still do not know where I want to be based, so there is no permanent production yet.

FPZ: So, you're their boss, aren’t you?

JK:No, I'm not their boss, this is an open relationship. I’d rather describe us as partners because they are still on their own. They sew a lot of my pieces, but remain independent, because I can leave at any time. In Moscow, I had tailors and designers who worked for me, and I was responsible for them. I'm not sure if I'm ready for this in Tashkent, as I lack stability. Now I want to study in Antwerp, so I cannot take responsibility for people.

FPZ:Tell us about this photo shoot. Together with Masha you were planning to come to Tashkent for a shoot, but the city went into lockdown, right?

JK:I really wanted Masha to take pictures of Korean-Uzbeks. While doing research, I met people who were connected with Korean culture. My latest collection is about the search for identity, about the self-identification of a person with my background. This is a long way towards the formation of a Korean-Uzbek woman's own language, because I would be the very person to create it, but it just does not exist. I don’t think other Koreans from this area understand me, no one seems to be concerned about the fact that we must express ourselves in our own way, but for me it is really important. I look at it with an artist’s eye, imagining how people could come up with their own costume. This collection is not a final result, but a search: in it you find Korean hairstyles borrowed, for example, from films, or forms inspired by Korean architecture. All this does not belong to us, but I’m trying to mix it with my childhood memories, Soviet materials, and my silhouettes in order to get something I could identify myself with.

Through these photos, you can feel the life of Koreans at different times and trace the path that brought them to Uzbekistan, where their life became a series of feasts at which numerous stories from the past and present are discussed.

Сredits

Creative direction: Jenia Kim
Photography: Masha Demianova
Style: Stacey Batashova
Hair and makeup: Julia Rada
Model: Yumi @ UTRU Talent base
Production: Svetlana Bevz
Production assistant: Elizaveta Dmitrievna
Photography assistant: Paul Lehrer

Special thanks to Ivan Markovich

All clothing J.KIM

Translated from Russian by Olga Bubich

Contributors
Masha Demianova
Photographer based in Moscow. Before turning to photography, she studied journalism and worked as a photo shoot producer. She has taken photographs for Dazed, i-D, Vogue, Metal, Purple among others.
Jenia Kim
Fashion designer, who lives in between Moscow and Tashkent. Founder of the J.Kim brand.
Furqat Palvan-Zade
Editor-in-chief at EastEast. Co-founder of Syg.ma and Budka (Tbilisi). Author of the "Tashkent-Tbilisi" telegram-channel. This year he will join the Sandberg Instituut's "F for Fact" program.

(EE)
EN / RU
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
Встречи

Воображаемый национальный костюм: фотопроект Жени Ким и Маши Демьяновой

Дизайнер Женя Ким родилась в Ташкенте, но уже почти 20 лет живет в Москве. Два года назад она вернулась в родной город и начала там работать над новой коллекцией, посвященной этнической и культурной идентичности местной корейской диаспоры, которая сложилась после депортации советских корейцев в Узбекистан в 1937 году.

EastEast публикует совместный проект фотографа Маши Демьяновой и Жени, вписывающий в призрачный визуальный ландшафт воспоминания об Узбекистане и корейских традициях. Его дополняет беседа Жени с главным редактором нашего издания Фуркатом Палван-Заде, тоже уроженцем Ташкента, о том, как изменился город, причинах возвращения и процессе творческого поиска и материального производства.

ФУРКАТ ПАЛВАН-ЗАДЕ:Скучаешь по Ташкенту?

ЖЕНЯ КИМ:Очень скучаю по теплу и по горам, да. Хотя последние два года я много времени провела в Узбекистане. Больше, чем в Москве.

ФПЗ:Ты довольно давно отсюда уехала. Какое у тебя первое воспоминание о городе? Расскажи о своих ассоциациях с детством.

ЖК:Мы переехали в Москву в 2001 году. Я очень не хотела переезжать. Можно сказать, родители меня увезли насильно, но, конечно, ради моего будущего. Первые лет пять только и жила мыслями о летних каникулах, когда можно будет поехать в Ташкент. И плакала каждый раз, когда возвращалась на учебу осенью. Но постепенно взрослела, и меня все меньше туда тянуло.

Я часто тогда прокручивала в памяти скамейки в моем дворе, обернутые стекловатой трубы на речке у гаражей. Поле, на котором я росла, — сначала играла там в пыли, делая из нее камушки слюнями, потом прощалась там с парнями после свиданий. Помнила плохую дорогу, по которой мы ехали на роликах, тарахтя колесами, и облегчение, которое мы испытывали, въезжая на президентскую трассу. Вспоминала базарчики, где всегда было ощущение, что все продавцы — твои родные; колодец, на котором каждый день сидела бабушка, продававшая жвачки и сигареты поштучно, а еще большие пигодя (пирожки с начинкой, национальное корейское блюдо, распространенное на Дальнем Востоке России и в странах Центральной Азии. — Прим. ред.), которые мы ели на перемене. Таксистов на белых нексиях, дамасах и матизах, узкие улицы с низкими домами, дыню и арбуз на топчане.

Из самого детства самое яркое воспоминание — это «Бродвей» (пешеходная улица в центре Ташкента. — Прим. ред.). Мы с мамой почти в каждый ее выходной отправлялись в театр Алишера Навои, а потом прогуливались по «Бродвею». Для меня эти выходы были всегда маленькими праздниками. Там было много художников и уличных кафе с клеенчатыми занавесками на входе, маме дарили розочки в кафе, мы покупали украшения по дороге домой.

ФПЗ:Какое было впечатление, когда ты вернулась в Ташкент после долгого перерыва?

ЖК:Вообще, я часто приезжала в Ташкент, у меня там осталось много близких родственников. Когда бабушка была жива, мы ее навещали всей семьей — у нас была традиция встречаться раз в два или три года. Но когда я вернулась не на каникулы, а именно чтобы пожить в Ташкенте, то была удивлена тем, как он изменился: появились новостройки, освещение там, где его никогда не было, супермаркеты и кофейни.

Еще я была очень сильно удивлена, когда познакомилась с местной богемой. Я же вернулась туда совсем другой и начала искать людей, с которыми у нас могут быть близкие взгляды. Они были как сокровища, которые я находила в городе. Концентрация креативных людей там намного ниже, чем в Москве. Мне было очень интересно узнать каждого, кто как-то связан с творчеством, — потому что нужно обладать сильным духом и любовью к искусству, чтобы развиваться там. Сначала я была под впечатлением, потому что не ожидала кого-то найти, а через полгода поняла, как все на самом деле грустно и насколько стагнирует культура в городе.

ФПЗ:Как ты в принципе воспринимаешь сейчас город?

ЖК: В чем-то Ташкент стал более комфортным — например, теперь там есть европейская еда и те же кофейни. Но при этом он стал фейковым и безликим. Раньше все было настоящее, сейчас везде алюкобонд (металлические панели, которыми покрывают стены зданий. — Прим. ред.), он меня сильно раздражает. Я знаю, что скоро ничего не буду испытывать, прогуливаясь по улицам Ташкента, потому что ничего не останется. Поэтому хочу чаще приезжать, пока он не стал окончательно алюкобондовым городом.

Однажды я не сдержалась и заплакала, когда проходила мимо очередного пластикового здания. Я очень надеюсь, что кто-то это остановит и люди, у которых есть власть, смогут увидеть красоту того, что им принадлежит. Во многом поэтому темой моей коллекции стало приданое: я хотела показать, что можно сделать современную коллекцию, используя узбекские материалы и техники. Я действительно считаю, что это красиво.

ФПЗ:Расскажи о своем трудовом коллективе — как устроено твое производство в Ташкенте? Где ты нашла швей?

ЖК:Я вернулась в Ташкент в 2018 году, когда решила взять перерыв от дизайна. Даже думала закрыть свой бренд. Тогда было сложно: я потеряла свою мечту, вообще не понимала, в чем смысл жизни. В тот период я ничего не могла делать, только медитировала или пила. В Ташкенте я случайно встретила женщин-портных и вместе с ними снова начала шить. Без каких-либо планов, просто для себя. И это помогло осознать свое призвание.

Сначала я нашла вышивальщицу, которая посоветовала мне красильщицу тканей. Потом я ездила по Узбекистану — в Самарканд, Нурату и Ангрен — в поиске хороших портных. Сама передвигалась на нексиях: путешествие было не очень комфортное, но зато запоминающееся. Потом я начала отшивать коллекцию на производстве, которое мне посоветовал знакомый, но мы не сработались. Я стала снова искать портных через OLX (международный онлайн-сервис для размещения объявлений. — Прим. ред.). У меня ушло около шести месяцев на то, чтобы более-менее наладить процессы. Сложностей все еще очень много, но прогресс есть. Сейчас это устроено так: я разрабатываю лекала в мастерской или с надомницами, мы делаем заготовки под вышивки, их отправляют в Ангрен и Нурату, отшивают в Ташкенте или Москве. Правда, я все еще не понимаю, где хочу базироваться, поэтому постоянного производства пока нет.

ФПЗ: Ты их босс, получается?

ЖК:Я им не босс, у нас свободные отношения. Мы скорее партнеры, потому что они сами по себе. Они отшивают много моих вещей, но остаются независимыми, потому что я могу в любой момент уехать. В Москве у меня были портные и конструкторы, которые работали на меня, и я несла за них ответственность. Не уверена, что готова на это в Ташкенте, так как нет стабильности в моей голове. Сейчас я хочу уехать учиться в Антверпен, и я не могу пока что брать ответственность за людей.

ФПЗ:Расскажи про эту съемку. Вы с Машей должны были приехать в Ташкент поснимать, но случился карантин?

ЖК:Я очень хотела, чтобы Маша сняла узбекских корейцев. Пока делала ресерч, я познакомилась с людьми, которые связаны с корейской культурой. Моя последняя коллекция — о поиске идентичности, о репрезентации человека с моим бэкграундом. Это долгий путь формирования собственного языка кореянки из Узбекистана, потому что я его создаю сама, его не существует. Не думаю, что меня понимают другие корейцы оттуда, никто как будто не озабочен тем, что мы должны выражать себя по-своему, а для меня это важно. Я смотрю на это как художник, воображаю, как люди могли бы придумать собственный костюм. Эта коллекция не финальный результат, а поиск: в ней проскальзывают корейские прически, например, которые я видела в фильмах; формы, вдохновленные корейской архитектурой. Это все не принадлежит нам, но я пытаюсь смешивать это с воспоминаниями из детства, советскими материалами, моими силуэтами, чтобы получить что-то свое.

Через съемку можно прочувствовать жизнь корейцев в разных промежутках времени, путь, который привел их в Узбекистан, где жизнь превратилась в череду застолий, во время которых обсуждаются самые разные истории из прошлого и настоящего.

Команда

Арт-директор: Женя Ким
Фотограф: Маша Демьянова
Стилист: Настя Баташова
Волосы и макияж: Юлия Рада
Модель: Yumi @ UTRU Talent base
Продюсер: Светлана Бевз
Ассистент продюсера: Елизавета Дмитриевна
Ассистент фотографа: Павел Лерер

Особая благодарность Ивану Марковичу

Все вещи J.KIM

Авторы
Маша Демьянова
Фотограф, живет в Москве. До того, как заняться фотографией, изучала журналистику и работала продюсером съемок. Снимала для Dazed, i-D, Vogue, Metal, Purple и других изданий.
Женя Ким
Дизайнер, живет между Москвой и Ташкентом. Основательница марки одежды J.Kim.
Фуркат Палван-Заде
Главный редактор EastEast, сооснователь платформы «Сигма» и пространства Budka, автор телеграм-канала «Ташкент-Тбилиси». В 2020 году начнет свое исследование в рамках программы F for Fact в Sandberg Instituut.