(EE)
ISSUE 2: DREAM
Making space for dreaming means increasing the field of possibility
EN / RU
News

Exhibition of Artist Lee Bul to be Held in St. Petersburg

Left: Willing To Be Vulnerable, 2015–2016
Photo by Myung Yi Shik
Right: Civitas Solis II, 2014
Photo by Linda Nylind

Utopia Saved” is the first personal exhibition of Lee Bul in Russia. The artist's works over the past fifteen years will be presented together with the works of Russian authors who have become a major source of her inspiration. The exhibition will run from November 13th until January 31st, 2021, at the Manege Central Exhibition Hall in St. Petersburg.

Architectural sculptures, spatial installations, and drawings created by Lee Bul since 2005, including some drawings, and models that have never been presented to audiences before, will become central works of the exhibition. In the mid-2000s, Lee Bul began to create architectural models and images inspired by constructivism, so an important part of the project lies in the visualization of the creative dialogue between the artist herself and representatives of the Russian avant-garde movement. Lee Bul uses the symbols and metaphors of utopian modernism, which she transforms, allegorically depicts, and connects in her works.

Lee Bull was born in 1964 and lives and works in Seoul. She was educated as a sculptor in the 1980s during a period of profound social and political changes in South Korea. At the beginning of her career, she created performances using soft “sculptural” costumes. Since the 2000s, she has been under the influence of the history of modernism, therefore her works include reflections on personal memories, experiences, and events of the past. Recently, Lee Bul has been creating immersive installations.

More details are available on the website manege.spb.ru.

(EE)
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
Новости

В Санкт-Петербурге пройдет выставка южнокорейской художницы Ли Бул

Слева: Инсталляция «Желание быть уязвимым», 2015–2016 год
Фотография: Мён Ли Сик
Справа: Общий вид выставки «Город Солнца II», 2014 год
Фотография: Линда Нюлинд

«Утопия Cпасенная» (Utopia Saved) — первая персональная выставка Ли Бул в России. Произведения художницы за последние 15 лет представят совместно с работами русских авторов, ставшими источником ее вдохновения. Выставка в Центральном выставочном зале «Манеж» в Санкт-Петербурге продлится с 13 ноября 2020-го по 31 января 2021 года.

Ключевыми экспонатами станут архитектурные скульптуры, пространственные инсталляции и рисунки, созданные Ли Бул начиная с 2005 года, включая некоторые рисунки и макеты, которые будут представлены зрителям впервые. В середине 2000-х годов Ли Бул начала создавать архитектурные макеты и изображения, вдохновленные конструктивизмом, поэтому отдельная задача проекта — визуализация творческого диалога между художницей и представителями русского авангардного движения. Ли Бул использует символы и метафоры утопического модернизма, которые она трансформирует, аллегорически изображает и соединяет в своих произведениях.

Ли Бул родилась в 1964 году, живет и работает в Сеуле. Получила образование скульптора в 1980-х годах, в период глубоких социальных и политических перемен в Южной Корее. В начале творческой карьеры создавала перформансы с использованием мягких «скульптурных» костюмов. С 2000-х годов под влиянием интереса к истории модернизма в ее работах отразились раздумья о событиях прошлого, личные воспоминания и переживания. В последнее время Ли Бул создает иммерсивные инсталляции. 

Подробнее — на сайте manege.spb.ru.