(EE)
EN / RU
News

Shanghai Biennale Opens with “Bodies of Water” Theme

Paula Vilaplana. Produced for the 13th Shanghai Biennale, 2020
Shanghai Biennale

The 13th Shanghai Biennale, the theme of which is “Bodies of Water,” has opened in a new format: access to different phases of the program will be provided to visitors gradually over the course of eight months. The exhibition will end on June 27th, 2021.

This year the Biennale will present art that explores the possibilities for planetary re-alliance and transspecies collectivity, with a focus on art projects that discuss the relationship between humans and nature in a changing world. Curators want to show that art is not an autonomous sphere, but is in fact a developing system that constantly interacts with social, scientific, and technological centers, becoming an important platform for the accumulation of knowledge.

Shanghai's life is closely connected with water: it is washed by the East China Sea and is located at the intersection of the Yangtze and Huangpu rivers. The exposition of the Biennale will be located at the former coal-electric plant on the Huangpu. The first phase, where the participants present their work in the form of a performative meeting along the Yangtze River, has already ended. The second phase, which began on November 15th, takes place in offline and online formats, and will last until April 9th. The third episode will be the exhibition, which will be open from April 10th until June 27th, 2021.

Learn more at powerstationofart.com.

(EE)
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
Новости

Bodies of Water стала темой недавно открывшейся биеннале в Шанхае

Паула Вилаплана. Работа сделана специально для 13-й Шанхайской биеннале, 2020
Shanghai Biennale

13-я Шанхайская биеннале, тема которой Bodies of Water, открылась в новом формате: доступ к разным блокам программы посетителям будут предоставлять постепенно на протяжении восьми месяцев. Выставка закончится 27 июня 2021 года.

В этом году на биеннале представят искусство, позволяющее исследовать возможности для планетарного воссоединения и межвидовой коллективности, с фокусом на художественные проекты, посвященные обсуждению связей человека и природы в изменяющемся мире. Кураторы хотят показать, что искусство не автономная сфера, а, наоборот, развивающаяся система, которая постоянно взаимодействует с социальными, научными и технологическими центрами, становясь важной платформой для накопления знаний.

Жизнь Шанхая тесно связана с водой: он омывается Восточно-Китайским морем и находится на пересечении рек Янцзы и Хуанпу. Экспозиция биеннале расположится на бывшей угольной электростанции на Хуанпу. Первый этап, где участники представляли свои работы в виде перформативного собрания вдоль реки Янцзы, уже закончился. Второй этап, начавшийся 15 ноября, проходит в офлайн- и онлайн-форматах и продлится до 9 апреля. Третьим этапом станет выставка, которая будет открыта с 10 апреля до 27 июня 2021 года.

Подробнее — на сайте powerstationofart.com.