(EE)
ISSUE 2: DREAM
Making space for dreaming means increasing the field of possibility
EN / RU
News

Moscow Museum of Oriental Art Will Host Two New Exhibitions in August

The Moscow Museum of Oriental Art will present two exhibitions this August. One is devoted to contemporary South Korean printed graphics and the other presents painting and sculpture of the Caucasus and Central Asia from the second half of the 20th and early 21st centuries.

Park Sang-a. The Non-Mathematical Greens (How to Grow Plants 1), 2019

The exhibition of South Korean artists, titled Polyphony, will be held between August 5-30. The technique of the printed graphics has developed dynamically in the Republic of Korea since the late 1950s, although the museum will only feature works from the past several decades. This mode of art is still popular, according to the curator of the exhibition Irina Eliseeva; it remains democratic, accessible, and understandable to a broad audience. The organizers managed to collect more than sixty works made using different techniques, such as woodcut, linocut, and silk-screen printing. Polyphony showcases works by authors such as Kim Seung-Yeon, Lee Jong Han, Choung Za Kim, among others.

In addition, the exhibition Selected for Half a Century: Painting, Graphics, and Sculpture of the Caucasus and Central Asia will be held between August 7th and November 8th. The exhibition will include about 100 works, the authors of which sought to combine the artistic experience of the East and West. Resistance to the dictate of Socialist Realism and an appeal to national traditions determined some of the common features in the works of the represented artists who include Tair Salakhov, Kirill Zdanevich, Akop Akopyan, Iya Gigoshvili, and many others from Armenia, Georgia, Azerbaijan and Uzbekistan. The main idea of ​​the exposition is not about confrontation or struggle, but more about self-awareness and the acquisition of one's own artistic language among the diversity of world culture.

Top left: Lekim Ibragimov. Rainbows, 2003
Top right: Azam Atakhanov. Midday Rest, 1998

Bottom left: Lekim Ibragimov. Valley of Flowers, 1996
Bottom right: Iya Gigoshvili. Autumn from the Seasons series, 1983

Museum of Oriental Art

Curator Svetlana Khromchenko tells the following about the preparation of the exposition: “Many works for the exhibition were selected directly from the artists' workshops. At that time, trips to different regions were taken to get acquainted with the artistic life. It was very helpful. When we got to Georgia and found ourselves among these wonderful hills, we understood very clearly why in Tengiz Mirzashvili's painting there are such restrained and noble rhythms, and the same noble colors glowing from within his works. When we got to the latitudes dried by the wind, we understood why the paintings of contemporary Azerbaijani artists are so contrasting. Now the modern viewer has the opportunity to understand the peculiarities of the world in which they worked.”

The institution Ars Asiatica, later renamed the State Museum of Oriental Art, was founded in 1918 in Moscow through an initiative of the scientist Pavel Muratov and the art critic Igor Grabar. After the creation of the national republics within the USSR, it became necessary to organize a specialized museum with the purpose of representing and studying the cultures of the Soviet East. At the moment, the museum is still active and its collection includes about 150,000 works of painting, sculpture, graphics, and decorative and applied art of the peoples of the Far East, Western and Central Asia, the Caucasus, and other regions.

More information about exhibitions and the Museum of Oriental Art are available on their website orientmuseum.ru.

(EE)
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
Новости

В августе в московском Музее Востока откроются две новые выставки

В августе в московском Музее Востока откроются две выставки, одна из которых посвящена современной южнокорейской печатной графике, а другая — живописи и скульптуре Кавказа и Средней Азии второй половины ХХ — начала ХХI века.

Пак Сана. Не математическая зелень (Как выращивать растения 1), 2019 год

Выставка работ южнокорейских художников «Многоголосие» пройдет с 5 по 30 августа. Печатная графика динамично развивалась в Республике Корее с конца 1950-х годов, но в экспозиции преимущественно будут представлены произведения последних двух десятилетий. Это искусство там до сих пор сохраняет популярность: по мнению куратора выставки Ирины Елисеевой, оно привлекает широтой диапазона художественного видения и творческих приемов. Организаторам удалось собрать около 60 работ, выполненных в разных техниках, например ксилографии, линогравюры, шелкографии. Покажут работы таких авторов, как Ким Сынъён, Ли Джонхан, Ким Чхансу, и других.

Кроме того, с 7 августа по 8 ноября там же пройдет выставка «Избранное за полвека. Живопись, графика, скульптура Кавказа и Средней Азии». В экспозиции покажут около сотни произведений, авторы которых стремились объединить художественный опыт Востока и Запада. Сопротивление диктату социалистического реализма и обращение к национальным традициям определили общие черты в работах таких художников, как Таир Салахов, Кирилл Зданевич, Акоп Акопян, Ия Гигошвили, и многих других авторов из Армении, Грузии, Азербайджана, Узбекистана. Центральная идея экспозиции — повествование не столько о противостоянии и борьбе, сколько о самосознании и обретении собственного художественного языка среди разнообразия мировой культуры. 

Вверху слева: Леким Ибрагимов. Радуги, 2003 год
Вверху справа: Азам Атаханов. Полуденный отдых, 1998 год

Внизу слева: Леким Ибрагимов. Долина цветов, 1996 год
Внизу справа: Ия Гигошвили. Осень из серии Времена года, 1983 год

Государственный музей Востока

Куратор Светлана Хромченко так рассказывает о подготовке экспозиции: «Многие работы для выставки отбирались непосредственно в мастерских художников. В то время были приняты поездки в разные регионы для ознакомления с художественной жизнью. Это было очень полезно. Когда мы попадали в Грузию и оказывались среди этих чудных холмов, очень четко понимали, почему в живописи Тенгиза Мирзашвили такие сдержанные и благородные ритмы и такие же благородные, светящиеся изнутри краски. Когда мы попадали на высушенные ветром широты, мы понимали, почему так контрастна живопись современных азербайджанских художников. Сейчас у современного зрителя есть возможность понять особенности того мира, в котором они работали».

Учреждение Ars Asiatica, переименованное позже в Государственный музей искусства народов Востока, было основано в 1918 году в Москве по инициативе ученого Павла Муратова и искусствоведа Игоря Грабаря. После создания национальных республик в составе СССР возникла необходимость в организации специализированного музея — его целью была репрезентация, а позже и научное исследование культур советского Востока. Музей продолжает активно работать, в его собрании около 150 000 произведений живописи, скульптуры, графики и декоративно-прикладного искусства народов Дальнего Востока, Западной и Средней Азии, Кавказа и других регионов. 

Больше информации о выставках и музее Востока — на сайте orientmuseum.ru.