(EE)
EN / RU
News

Poetic Movie On Friendship, Loss, and Hope Screens at Qatar Film Days

Still from Talking About Trees (Suhaib Gasmelbari, 2019)
Qatar Film Days 

The fourth online premiere of the Qatar Film Days project is a documentary by the Sudanese director Suhaib Gasmelbari, Talking about Trees. The film is about people who dream of making and showing movies. The video is available to watch for free from the 8th to the 22nd of February.

The film’s main characters are four elderly directors. In their youth, they represented Sudan at prestigious festivals, but after the military coup in 1989, the film industry in the country died due to economic collapse and religious prohibitions, forcing them to give up their profession. In the past, friends spent years in foreign film schools, but were forced to emigrate and return to their homeland. The contemporary state of affairs is a struggle with bureaucracy and censorship for the opportunity to show films by Chaplin and Tarantino. The cinema for them becomes a symbol of the lost freedom of society. This film about friendship, loss, hope, and the magic of cinema, has won many nominations and awards, including the prize for the best documentary film and the audience award for the Berlinale 2019.

In addition, an online discussion will appear on the site with the participation of Beat Film Festival co-founder Kirill Sorokin and film critic, deputy editor-in-chief of the Art of Cinema magazine Zara Abdullaeva. They will talk about true love of cinema, industry enthusiasts, and how cinemas are affecting society today.

Read more on the website.

(EE)
EN / RU
Новости

Поэтичная лента о дружбе, утратах и надежде доступна на Qatar Film Days

Кадр из фильма «Разговоры о деревьях» (Сухаиб Гасмелбари, 2019)
Qatar Film Days

Четвертая онлайн-премьера площадки — документальный фильм суданского режиссера Сухаиба Гасмелбари «Разговоры о деревьях». Картина повествует о людях, живущих мечтой делать и показывать кино. Видео доступно бесплатно с 8 до 22 февраля.

Герои фильма — четыре пожилых режиссера. В молодости они представляли Судан на престижных фестивалях, но после военного переворота 1989 года киноиндустрия в стране умерла из-за экономического коллапса и религиозных запретов, и им пришлось оставить профессию. В прошлом друзей — годы в заграничных киношколах, вынужденная эмиграция и возвращение на родину. Их настоящее — борьба с бюрократией и цензурой за возможность показывать фильмы Чаплина и Тарантино. Кинотеатр для них становится символом потерянной свободы общества. Лента о дружбе, утратах, надеждах и магии кино удостоилась множества номинаций и наград, в том числе приза за лучший документальный фильм и приза зрительских симпатий Берлинале-2019.

Кроме того, на сайте появится онлайн-дискуссия с участием сооснователя Beat Film Festival Кирилла Сорокина и кинокритика, заместителя главного редактора журнала «Искусство кино» Зары Абдуллаевой. Они поговорят о настоящей любви к кино, энтузиастах в индустрии и о том, как кинотеатры влияют на общество сегодня.

Подробнее — на сайте