(EE)
EN / RU
News

Book Presentation About Diplomat and Rebel Karim Khakimov Goes Online

Jordan Center for the Advanced Study of Russia

The Jordan Center for the Advanced Study of Russia at New York University will present a book by Professor Norihiro Naganawa on the interaction between Soviet Russia and the Muslim world. The focus of the publication is the biography of Karim Abdraufovich Khakimov (1890–1938). The online event will take place over the Zoom platform on February 16th at 21:00 Moscow time.

In the presented book, Making an Anti-imperialist Empire: Revolutionary Russia and the Muslim World, Norihiro Naganawa, a professor at the Center for Slavic and Eurasian Studies at Hokkaido University in Sapporo (Japan), analyzes the history of relations between Soviet Russia, Iran, and countries on the shores of the Red Sea through the biography of the Tatar revolutionary and Soviet diplomat Karim Khakimov. The purpose of the book is to open new horizons in understanding the Soviet Union as a state that resisted the imperial ambitions of the West.

According to the author of the book, Khakimov used the same methods of waging a civil war in Russia against the British Empire in Western Asia. He participated in the party struggle in Turkestan, in the seizure of Bukhara, and worked as a diplomat in northern Iran after the failed revolution in the Gilan province. Khakimov is regarded as a pioneer of Soviet diplomacy, thanks to whom Saudi Arabia was recognized as a state in 1926.

Read more on the website.

(EE)
EN / RU
Новости

Презентация книги о дипломате и бунтаре Кариме Хакимове пройдет онлайн

Jordan Center for the Advanced Study of Russia

Jordan Center for the Advanced Study of Russia Нью-Йоркского университета представит книгу профессора Норихиро Наганавы о взаимодействии Советской России и мусульманского мира. В фокусе издания — биография Карима Абдрауфовича Хакимова (1890–1938). Онлайн-мероприятие пройдет на платформе Zoom 16 февраля в 21:00 по московскому времени.

В представленной работе Making an Anti-imperialist Empire: Revolutionary Russia and the Muslim World Норихиро Наганава, профессор Центра славянских и евразийских исследований Университета Хоккайдо в Саппоро (Япония), анализирует историю взаимоотношений Советской России, Ирана и стран на берегу Красного моря через биографию татарского революционера и советского дипломата Карима Хакимова. Цель книги — открыть новые горизонты в понимании Советского Союза как государства, сопротивлявшегося имперским амбициям Запада.

По мнению автора книги, Хакимов использовал в Западной Азии против Британской империи методы ведения гражданской войны, применявшиеся в России. Он участвовал в партийной борьбе в Туркестане, в захвате Бухары и работал дипломатом в северном Иране после неудавшейся революции в остане Гилян. Хакимов рассматривается как первопроходец советской дипломатии, благодаря которому в 1926 году как государство была признана Саудовская Аравия.

Подробнее — на сайте.