(EE)
ISSUE 2: DREAM
Making space for dreaming means increasing the field of possibility
EN / RU
News

Nalchik hosts Summer Platform 2020

Photo by Alisa Ludinshina

The seasonal urban culture festival, Summer Platform, will take place from August 21st to the 23rd in Nalchik, Kabardino-Balkaria. The schedule of events includes street artists, curators of contemporary art, and progressive musicians from the Russian independent music scene. Additionally, the festival program includes lectures, master classes, art events, concerts, and DJ sets. The festival is organized by the “Platforma” institute with the support of Nalchik Administration. EE had a brief conversation with Bulat Khalilov, one of the event’s organizers, and discussed the festival’s origins and current lineup.


BULAT KHALILOV

Ethnographer, co-founder of Ored recordings

It’s a seasonal festival of urban culture—we want to invite movements and individuals doing creative work to come to our city. Through this festival we want to think about the culture of Nalchik and its identity, how to make an impact on Nalchik's culture, to build it and showcase it. This translates to us putting together something really local but with global features.

In 2019 we invited a variety of different speakers, activists, and scientists working on music, urbanism, anthropology to Nalchik. This was the theoretical part. The most important part was the musical line-up: from free-jazz and local traditional music to dream pop and experimental post-rock. This year we invited specialists of contemporary art (from V-A-C foundation, Garage museum), music festivals ("Боль" festival, Moscow Music Week), and some from the IT-business (ITV Group). My record label, Ored Recordings, is curating the music portion. The musical line-up is Пасош (Moscow post-punk), Утро (Motorama's side project with a more avant, post-punk sound) and Zaur Nagoy who will perform traditional Circassian music. 

Overall, the subjects and goals of this festival are very serious and we work very hard, but at the same time we want to make it entertaining. We are not forcing the people of Nalchik to do some kind of academic research, we want to invite them to think about their home and have some fun.

Read more at platforma-nalchik.ru.

(EE)
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
Новости

В Нальчике пройдет фестиваль «Летняя платформа 2020»

Фотография: Алиса Людиншина

Фестиваль городской культуры «Летняя платформа» пройдет с 21 по 23 августа в Нальчике, столице Кабардино-Балкарской Республики, при поддержке местной администрации. В нем участвуют уличные художники, кураторы современного искусства и представители российской независимой музыкальной сцены. В программе запланированы лекции, мастер-классы, художественные акции, концерты и диджей-сеты. Мы узнали у Булата Халилова, одного из организаторов, как появился фестиваль и чего ждать в этом году.


БУЛАТ ХАЛИЛОВ

Этнограф, сооснователь лейбла Ored Recordings

«Летная платформа» — ежегодный фестиваль, с помощью которого мы хотим привлечь в Нальчик людей из творческой индустрии и важные для современной культуры явления. Мы бы также хотели поразмышлять об идентичности города и о том, как позитивно влиять на его культуру, развивать и продвигать ее. Мы стараемся делать что-то локальное, но не оторванное от глобального контекста.

В 2019 году мы пригласили в Нальчик спикеров, активистов и ученых, занимающихся музыкой, урбанизмом и антропологией. Это была теоретическая часть. Но главной была, конечно, музыкальная программа: от фри-джаза и местной традиционной музыки до дрим-попа и экспериментального построка. В этом году мы пригласили специалистов из области современного искусства (из фонда V-A-C, музея «Гараж»), организаторов музыкальных фестивалей («Боль», Moscow Music Week), а также экспертов из IT-бизнеса (ITV Group). Мой лейбл Ored Recordings курирует музыкальную часть программы. Состав такой: «Пасош» (московский постпанк), «Утро» (сайд-проект участников группы «Моторама» с более авангардным, постпанковым звучанием) и Заур Нагой, который исполнит традиционную черкесскую музыку. 

В целом темы, которым посвящена «Летняя платформа» не самые простые, а ее цели достаточно амбициозные. Нам приходится много работать, но в то же время мы не хотим, чтобы фестиваль был чересчур серьезным. Мы не заставляем весь Нальчик проводить какие-то академические исследования, а хотим дать людям возможность подумать о своем доме и немного повеселиться. 

Подробнее — на сайте platforma-nalchik.ru.