(EE)
EN / RU
News

Are Political Uprisings and Ecology in Western Asia Interconnected?

A wheat field in Beshindlaye, Syria, 1996
Frank Kidner / Wikimedia Commons

Jadaliyya is a platform that brings together scholars, artists, and activists to distribute relevant research about the regions of West Asia and North Africa. Their environmental page is launching an open call, asking for articles that critically analyze the relationship between political uprisings and the environment. Submissions are accepted at any time and selected articles will be published by the end of 2021.

Ten years after the start of the Arab Spring, environmental issues and political confrontations have not lost their importance. The editors of the publication mention that the analysis of the Arab uprisings revealed links between the climate crisis and the Syrian conflict, defining it as the first "climate war." While the organizers are interested in the relationship between civil unrest and environmental change in 2010-2011, the editors also welcome the analysis of the trans-regional and transnational consequences of these events. Relevant topics include, but are not restricted to: critical discussion of the myths associated with the concept of "climate wars," the relationship of uprisings to dominant narratives of scarcity and inequality of resources’ distribution in the region (e.g. oil and water), agricultural and development issues and their relationship to crises, and others.

Jadaliyya's editors are looking forward to materials that will help rethink and expand the often narrow framework that determines the environmental agenda in the region. Both full texts and ideas for future articles are accepted for the competition. Send your research and questions to environment@jadaliyya.com.

Read more on the website.

(EE)
EN / RU
Новости

Как взаимосвязаны экология и политические восстания в Западной Азии?

Пшеничное поле в Бешиндлае, Сирия, 2019 год
Frank Kidner / Wikimedia Commons

Jadaliyya — это платформа, объединяющая ученых, художников и активистов для распространения актуальных исследований о регионе Западной Азии и Северной Африки. Сотрудники раздела, посвященного экологии, проводят опен-колл — просят прислать материалы, содержащие критический анализ взаимосвязи между восстаниями и состоянием окружающей среды. Исследования принимают в любое время, а избранные статьи опубликуют до конца 2021 года.

Спустя 10 лет после начала «арабской весны» вопросы экологии и политического противостояния не теряют своего значения. Редакторы издания отмечают, что анализ арабских восстаний выявил связи между климатическим кризисом и сирийским конфликтом, определяя его как первую «климатическую войну». Несмотря на то что организаторов интересует взаимосвязь народных волнений и экологических изменений в 2010–2011 годах, редакция также приветствует анализ трансрегиональных и транснациональных последствий этих событий. Среди обозначенных тем: критическое обсуждение мифов, связанных с понятием «климатические войны»; взаимосвязь восстаний с доминирующими нарративами о дефиците и неравенстве распределения ресурсов в регионе (например, нефти и воды); вопросы сельского хозяйства и развития и их связь с кризисами.

Редакция Jadaliyya ждет материалов, которые помогут переосмыслить и расширить зачастую узкие рамки, определяющие экологическую повестку в регионе. На конкурс принимают как полные тексты, так и идеи для будущих статей. Исследования и вопросы отправляйте на environment@jadaliyya.com.

Подробнее — на сайте.