(EE)
ISSUE 2: DREAM
Making space for dreaming means increasing the field of possibility
EN / RU
News

Moscow International Experimental Film Festival to Start Soon

Still from The Time Is Now. (I+II) by Heidrun Holzfeind
Moscow International Experimental Film Festival

The fifth Moscow International Experimental Film Festival will take place in Moscow from August 19th to 25th. This international cultural and educational platform was founded in 2016, with a focus on works that involve a wide variety of artistic strategies and practices that go beyond classical film aesthetics. In compliance with all recommended anti-epidemic measures, screenings will be held at several venues: the Illusion cinema, the Moskino halls, the Richter space, and the Garage museum.

In addition to the annual international competition, a Russian competition will be held for the first time this year and is aimed at supporting local directors and artists. Other programs include a special series of shows called “Fireworks”, about the nature of the spectacle, and the first retrospective in Russia by the avant-garde director and artist Barbara Hammer.

EastEast senior editor and co-curator of the international competition, Kirill Rozhentsov, says that this year “the festival program turned out to be very diverse: in this impressive collection of artistic approaches and spatio-temporal routes, dystopian sensibility can coexist with media nostalgia, while conceptual performances and queer dances can coexist with structural cinema and decolonial visual research.” In his opinion, it’s more important “that experiments with form were not the determining criterion for inclusion in the program; an important condition has always been attentiveness to local contexts and sensitivity to ethical issues.”

Learn more at mieff.com.

(EE)
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
Новости

Фестиваль экспериментального кино MIEFF скоро начнется в Москве

Кадр из фильма «На часах — сейчас (I+II)» Хайдрун Хольцфайнд
Moscow International Experimental Film Festival

С 19 по 25 августа в Москве пройдет пятый по счету фестиваль экспериментального кино MIEFF. Эта международная культурно-образовательная платформа была основана в 2016 году и фокусируется на работах, которые задействуют самые разные художественные стратегии и практики, выходящие за рамки классической киноэстетики. Показы пройдут на нескольких площадках с соблюдением всех рекомендованных противоэпидемических мер: в кинотеатре «Иллюзион», залах сети «Москино», пространстве «Рихтер» и музее «Гараж».

В этом году на фестивале, помимо международного конкурса, впервые будет конкурс российских работ, организованный для поддержки местных режиссеров и художников. Среди других программ — специальный цикл показов «Фейерверки», посвященный природе зрелища, и первая в России ретроспектива авангардного режиссера и художницы Барбары Хаммер. 

Старший редактор EastEast и сокуратор международного конкурса Кирилл Роженцов рассказывает, что в этом году «фестивальная программа получилась очень разнообразной: в этой впечатляющей сборке художественных подходов и пространственно-временных маршрутов антиутопическая чувственность может соседствовать c медиальной ностальгией, а концептуальные перформансы и квир-танцы — со структурным кино и деколониальными визуальными исследованиями». Самое же важное, по его мнению, — «что эксперимент с формой не являлся определяющим критерием включения в программу; важным условием была внимательность к локальным контекстам и чуткость к этическим вопросам».

Подробнее — на сайте mieff.com.