(EE)
EN / RU
News

Open Call for Articles Connecting Sound And Colonialism

Still from The Unreal (Sive Hamilton Helle, 2019)
Sive Hamilton

The Journal of Media Art Study and Theory (MAST) invites artists, researchers, and others to reflect on Sound, Colonialism, and Power and answer the question of how sound practices interact with systems of colonial rule and oppression. The deadline for applications is June 30th.

Listening is a tool for recognizing the sound traits that colonized peoples use. In a 1961 essay on Canadian music, composer and acoustic ecology theorist Raymond Murray Schafer found "a marked similarity between the singing of an Eskimo and Sir Winston Churchill clearing his throat." Schafer compared the vocalizations of the Inuit peoples with musical noise and traced the adherences of Western tonal systems. Despite the comic nature of this analogy, markers of cultural and racial oppression can be acoustically encoded. The next issue of MAST magazine will focus on the relationship between sound and colonial power relations.

The magazine accepts essays on the problems of field recordings and sound landscapes, information carriers (cassettes, discs), the role of technology, sound mapping, acoustic ecology, and related topics. The volume of the text is 1000-2000 words, accompanying materials must comply with the submission guide. Send questions and articles to editors@mast-nemla.org.

Read more on the website.

(EE)
EN / RU
Новости

Журнал о медиаискусстве принимает статьи о связи звука и колониализма

Заявку можно отправить до 30 июня

Кадр из видео The Unreal (Sive Hamilton Helle, 2019)
Sive Hamilton

The Journal of Media Art Study and Theory (MAST) приглашает художников, исследователей и других авторов поразмышлять на тему Sound, Colonialism, and Power и ответить на вопрос, каким образом звуковые практики взаимодействуют с системами колониального господства и угнетения. Крайний срок подачи заявок — 30 июня.

Слух выступает инструментом для распознавания звуковых черт, которые используют колонизированные народы. Композитор и теоретик акустической экологии Реймонд Мюррей Шефер в эссе о канадской музыке 1961 года обнаружил «заметное сходство между пением эскимоса и сэром Уинстоном Черчиллем, прочищающим горло». Вокализацию инуитов Шефер сопоставил с музыкальным шумом и проследил совпадения с западными тональными системами. Несмотря на комическую природу подобной аналогии, маркеры культурного и расового угнетения могут быть акустически закодированы. Следующий выпуск журнала MAST будет посвящен теме взаимосвязи звука и колониальных властных отношений.

В номер принимают эссе о проблемах полевых записей и звуковых ландшафтов, информационных носителей (кассеты, диски), роли технологий, звуковой картографии, акустической экологии и на близкие темы. Объем текста — 1000–2000 слов, сопроводительные материалы должны соответствовать инструкции по оформлению заявки. Вопросы и статьи отправляйте на editors@mast-nemla.org.

Подробнее — на сайте