(EE)
ISSUE 2: DREAM
Making space for dreaming means increasing the field of possibility
EN / RU
Artifacts

Dastshui from Bukhara

Dastshui. Shakhrisabz school, 19th century
Bukhara State Architectural Art Museum-Preserve / National Museum Fund of the Republic of Uzbekistan

In Central and West Asian states, the Persian word dastshui was used to describe a metal or ceramic wash basin consisting of two main parts: a reservoir for collecting water and a bowl with drain holes. A dastshui was taken out to the guests in order for them to wash their hands before and after dinner, along with a special water jug with a long curved spout: abdasa or aftoba. These items were also used for ritual washing in mosques, common in the Muslim world.

The copper dastshui presented in this image is a part of the collection of the Bukhara State Architectural Art Museum-Preserve. It was made in the 19th century in the city of Shakhrisabz, a large craft center of the Emirate of Bukhara that existed until 1920 on the territory of contemporary Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, and part of Turkmenistan. The dastushui is covered with sheet silver, on top of which there is an islimi ornament, commonly known as an arabesque—a complex pattern that combines geometric and plant forms. The ornament is partially covered with niello, while the petals drawn from the center—with green, blue, and red paint. The outer belt of the bowl is inlaid with turquoise. In the same museum there is also a copper aftoba jug made in Bukhara from the same materials and using the same techniques—these objects prove their owners’ wealth— they were intended to be used by the guests of the house and were to be included with the items that were brought out by the servants. Cheaper ceramics were definitely in use as well. Dastshui and aftoba were especially widespread in Qajar Iran in the 19th century and in neighboring states, such as the aforementioned Emirate of Bukhara and Khwarazm. Today in some Muslim regions you can find plastic aftoba, although more and more they have been replaced by the modern sanitary ware with which we are now more familiar.

Washing your hands before and after having a meal is not a ritual in a strict sense—at least, such washing is not prescribed by the Islamic code of conduct and social norms known as fiqh. Instead, people are ordered to follow the procedures of “partial” (wudu) or “full ablution” (ghusl) after having contact with impure substances or committing impure activities. Thus, partial ablution—washing one’s face, arms, ears, and feet below the ankles—is required after coming in contact with the secretions and blood of animals and humans, touching a dead body, deep sleep, urinating, defecation, touching the genitals with a hand, and touching the body of a person of the opposite sex who is of an age that makes them suitable to be someone’s spouse. Full ablution is required after sexual intercourse, menstruation, and childbirth. In addition, partial ablution must also be performed before each prayer, visiting a mosque, or reading the Quran.

Contributors
Mikhail Garder
Anthropologist, translator. Graduated from the Department of European Languages of the Russian State University for the Humanities, holds an MA in folklore studies.

(EE)
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
Артефакты

Дастшуй из Бухары

Дастшуй – рукомойник. Шахрисябзская школа. XIX век
Бухарский государственный музей-заповедник / Государственный каталог Национального музейного фонда Республики Узбекистан

Персидским словом «дастшуй» в центрально- и западноазиатских государствах называли металлический или керамический рукомойник, состоящий из двух основных частей: резервуара для сбора воды и чаши со сливными отверстиями. Дастшуй выносили гостям для мытья рук перед обедом и после него вместе со специальным кувшином для воды (с длинным изогнутым носиком), который называется «абдаса», или «афтафа». Эти предметы также использовались для ритуального омовения в мечетях, принятого в мусульманском мире.

Представленный на изображении медный дастшуй из коллекции Бухарского государственного музея-заповедника был изготовлен в XIX веке в городе Шахрисабз, крупном ремесленном центре Бухарского эмирата, существовавшем до 1920 года на территории современных Узбекистана, Таджикистана и части Туркменистана. Чаша дастшуя покрыта листовым серебром, поверх которого нанесен орнамент «ислими», известный нам как арабеска, — сложный узор, сочетающий геометрические и растительные формы. Орнамент частично покрыт чернью, расходящиеся от центра «лепестки» — зеленой, синей и красной краской, а внешний пояс чаши инкрустирован бирюзой. В том же музее хранится изготовленный в Бухаре с применением таких же материалов и тех же техник медный кувшин афтафа — эта пара предметов свидетельствовала о богатстве их владельцев и предназначались для гостей дома, которым их выносили слуги. Конечно, в ходу были и более дешевые керамические изделия. Особое распространение дастшуй и афтафа получили в XIX веке в каджарском Иране и в соседних государствах, таких как упомянутый Бухарский эмират и Хорезм. Сегодня в некоторых мусульманских регионах можно найти пластиковую афтафу, хотя все чаще ее функцию высполняет привычная нам сантехника. 

Умывание рук до и после приема пищи не является ритуалом в строгом смысле — по крайней мере, такое омовение не предписано исламским сводом правил поведения и общественных норм, который называется «фикх». Им предписывается проходить малое (вуду) или полное (гусль) омовение после контакта с нечистыми веществами или совершения загрязняющих действий. Так, малое омовение лица, рук, ушей, ног до щиколоток требуется после контакта с выделениями и кровью животных и человека, прикосновения к мертвому телу, глубокого сна, мочеиспускания, испражнения, прикосновения рукой к гениталиям, касания тела представителя противоположного пола, который по возрасту годится человеку в супруги. Полное омовение тела требуется после полового акта, периода менструации и родов. Кроме того, малое омовение необходимо совершать перед каждой молитвой, посещением мечети или чтением Корана.

Авторы
Михаил Гардер
Переводчик с английского, антрополог. Выпускник кафедры европейских языков РГГУ и аспирантуры Центра типологии и семиотики фольклора РГГУ. Участник фольклорных экспедиций Лаборатории фольклористики РГГУ и прикладных исследований по городской антропологии.