(EE)
EN / RU
Artifacts

Tlingit Headdress from Alaska

Left: Mosquito mask. Southeastern Alaska, before 1843
2002.602.1 / The Metropolitan Museum of Art

Right: Headdress depicting a mosquito. Alexander Archipelago (Alaska), 1844
571-20 / Peter the Great Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography (Kunstkammer), Saint Petersburg

A hero takes revenge on a man-eating ogre for the murder of his older brothers. He burns the body of the ogre on a pyre and scatters the ashes—its particles transform into mosquitoes. That is why their bite is painful: they are what is left of that ogre. Thus the genesis of mosquitoes is explained in a storystoryNora Marks Dauenhauer, Richard Dauenhauer Haa shuká, our ancestors: Tlingit oral narratives. Classics of Tlingit oral literature vol. 1. (Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1987). recorded in July 1971 in Angoon (Alaska) as told by Robert Zuboff (Shaadaax'Shaadaax'Tlingit name of the storyteller Robert Zuboff, meaning “on the mountain” or “around the mountain.”), one of the Tlingits, people native to the Northwestern coast of North America. In one of the texts put togetherput togetherJohn Reed Swanton, Tlingit Myths and Texts, Recorded by John R. Swanton (Washington: Govt. print. off., 1909). by the American anthropologist, folklorist, and linguist John Swanton in 1904 in Wrangell, Alaska, the mythological demiurge Raven burns the body of Wolverine. The bones in the pyre ask to be pulverized and scattered. Turning into mosquitoes, they stay in this world forever and continue to torture Raven himself, as well as all other living things. The Tlingit tradition has a rather large number of texts about killing Mosquito, who even after his own death continues to cause human beings trouble.

The image of the mosquito was frequently usedfrequently usedSteven Brown. Spirits of the Water: Native Art Collected on Expeditions to Alaska and British Columbia, 1774-1910 (Seattle: University of Washington Press, 2000). by the Tlingits when making masks and headdresses. These were worn by chiefs during important processions accompanying peacemaking and during festive ceremonies. They were used in funerary rites. Headdresses also played a part in dancing rituals, which were theatrical reenactments of myths. Masks could moreover depict helpful spirits—not necessarily mosquitos—which inhabited shamans so that the latter could carry out their rituals. Many Tlingit beliefs and rites were related to living creatures and fantastical elements were added to their depictions. For example, two practically identical headdresses with toothed mosquitoes have survived to this day. One of them is in the collection of the St. Petersburg Kunstkammer, while the second is stored in the vaults of the New York Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Left: Mosquito mask. Klukwan (Alaska), ca. 1900
6981 / National Museum of the American Indian, Smithsonian Institution

Right: Mosquito mask with removable proboscis. Alexander Archipelago, Alaska, 19th century
2448-13 / Peter the Great Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography (Kunstkammer), Saint Petersburg

The first headdress ended up in St. Petersburg due to an expedition led by Ilya Voznesensky. In 1839 he was sent to the Russian colonies in America to gather zoological and botanical collections. Voznesensky was a commoner; he studied specimen preparation at the Zoological museum and he did not have to be paid much. The congress of the Academy of Sciences decided to use this opportunity and tasked Voznesensky with acquiring materials for the collections of the Kunstkammer Ethnographical Museum of the Petersburg Academy of Sciences as well, for which he received a separate set of instructions.

After eight months at sea, Voznesensky arrived at Sitka island (now officially called Baranof island) in the Southeast of Alaska. In the course of the following four years, moving all across the coast, he gathered hundreds of cultural artifacts belonging to the native inhabitants of Alaska, Kamchatka, and Northern California, among them clothes, weapons, tools, whole boats and, of course, masks and headdresses, including that very same mosquito headdress. All this he described and sent to Petersburg with the ships of the Russian-American company. Voznesensky bought and exchanged most of these objects from merchants, officials, and missionaries; sometimes he received them as gifts. This makes his part of the Kustkammer collections stand in a more favorable light in relation to the items that we can learn from the catalogue may have belonged to the natives whose settlement was burned by the first governor of Russian America, Alexander Andreyevich Baranof—the very same man whose name Sitka island now bears.

The American headdress surfaced at the very end of the 1990s at a small auction in New York, where it was acquired rather cheaply by the private collector and scientist Ralph T. Coe. The seller took the artifact to be a modern replica—a copy of a shaman mask from the Northwestern coast of America. But Coe pointed out that despite a slight difference in size and preservation of detail (one headdress retained feathers and baleen hairs, while the other had a fragment of a bristle and copper eyebrows), the two objects belonged to a pair. The state of the objects, signs of wear, the age of the paint, and their similarity all point to the fact. Where the second headdress had been for all those years and why Voznesensky did not purchase both of them straight away remains a mystery.

Translated from Russian by Diana Khamis

Contributors
Nastya Indrikova
Visual & Ethnographic Research Editor and Photo Editor at EastEast. Author of «Мурмолка», the channel on museum anthropology. She worked as a Photo Editor at Arzamas and Esquire Russia, took part in the expeditions of the Center for Typology and Semiotics of Folklore and the Educational and the Scientific Laboratory of Folklore Studies of the Institute of Philology and History at Russian State Humanitarian University (Moscow).
Vladimir Lyashchenko
Video essayist and film critic, teacher at the Moscow Film School. Graduated from the Department of Philosophy of Moscow State University.

(EE)
EN / RU
Артефакты

Тлинкитский наголовник с Аляски

Слева: Маска комара. Юго-Восточная Аляска, ранее 1843 года
2002.602.1 / The Metropolitan Museum of Art

Справа: Наголовник, изображающий комара. Архипелаг Александра (Аляска), 1844 год
571-20 / Музей антропологии и этнографии им. Петра Великого РАН (Кунсткамера)

Герой мстит гиганту-людоеду за смерть своих старших братьев, сжигает его тело на костре и развеивает пепел — его частицы превращаются в москитов. Поэтому их укус болезнен, ведь они — то, что осталось от того людоеда. Так происхождение комаров объясняется в рассказерассказеNora Marks Dauenhauer, Richard Dauenhauer Haa shuká, our ancestors: Tlingit oral narratives. Classics of Tlingit oral literature vol. 1. (Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1987). одного из тлинкитов — коренных жителей северо-западного побережья Америки — Роберта Зубова (Shaadaax'Shaadaax'Тлинкитское имя рассказчика Роберта Зубова, которое переводится как «на горе» или «вокруг горы».), записанном в июле 1971 года в Ангуне (Аляска). В одном из текстов, собранныхсобранныхJohn Reed Swanton, Tlingit Myths and Texts, Recorded by John R. Swanton (Washington: Govt. print. off., 1909). американским антропологом, фольклористом и лингвистом Джоном Суонтоном в 1904-м во Врангеле (тоже Аляска), мифологический демиург Ворон сжигает тело Росомахи. Кости в костре просят, чтобы их раздробили и развеяли. Став комарами, они навсегда остаются в этом мире и продолжают мучить как самого Ворона, так и всех других живых существ. Текстов об убийстве комара, который даже после смерти продолжает причинять людям неприятности, у тлинкитов довольно много. 

Образ комара часто использовалсячасто использовалсяSteven Brown. Spirits of the Water: Native Art Collected on Expeditions to Alaska and British Columbia, 1774-1910 (Seattle: University of Washington Press, 2000). при изготовлении масок и наголовников тлинкитов. Их надевали вожди во время важных процессий, сопровождающих заключение мира, и праздничных церемоний. Их задействовали в поминальных обрядах. С наголовниками танцевали во время театрализованных ритуалов, воспроизводящих мифы. Маски также могли изображать духов-помощников — не обязательно комаров, — в которых шаманы перевоплощались для проведения ритуалов. Множество верований и обрядов тлинкитов было связано с живыми существами, к их изображениям часто добавляли фантастические детали. Так, сохранились два практически идентичных наголовника с зубастыми комарами. Один находится в собрании петербургской Кунсткамеры, второй сейчас хранится в запасниках нью-йоркского Метрополитен-музея.

Слева: Маска комара. Клукуан (Аляска), около 1900 года
6981 / National Museum of the American Indian, Smithsonian Institution

Справа: Маска комара, со съемным хоботком. Архипелаг Александра, Аляска (США), XIX век
2448-13 / Музей антропологии и этнографии им. Петра Великого РАН (Кунсткамера)

В Петербурге наголовник оказался благодаря экспедиции Ильи Вознесенского. В 1839 году его направили на территории русских колоний в Америке собирать зоологические и ботанические коллекции: Вознесенский был по происхождению мещанином, выучился на препаратора в Зоологическом музее, платить ему можно было немного. Конференция Академии наук решила воспользоваться случаем и заодно поручила Илье Гавриловичу пополнить коллекции Этнографического музея Кунсткамеры Петербургской академии наук, для чего составили отдельную инструкцию. 

После восьми месяцев в море 1 мая 1840 года Вознесенский прибыл на остров Ситка (сейчас официально — остров Баранова) на юго-востоке Аляски. За следующие четыре года, активно перемещаясь по побережью, он собрал сотни предметов материальной культуры коренных жителей Аляски, Камчатки и Северной Калифорнии: одежду, инструменты, оружие и орудия, целые лодки и, конечно, маски и наголовники, в том числе тот самый — с комаром. Все это описывал и отправлял в Петербург с попутными кораблями Российско-американской компании. Предметы Вознесенский покупал и выменивал, иногда получал в дар от уже находившихся на этих территориях дельцов, чиновников и миссионеров. Это выгодно отличает данную часть коллекций от тех, о которых каталог Кунсткамеры сообщает, что они могли принадлежать индейцам, чье поселение сжег первый губернатор Русской Америки Александр Андреевич Баранов. Тот самый, имя которого теперь носит Ситка.

Американский же наголовник обнаружился в самом конце 1990-х годов на небольшом аукционе в Нью-Йорке, там его довольно дешево купил частный коллекционер и ученый Ральф Т. Коу. Продавец считал работу новоделом — повтором шаманской маски с северо-западного побережья Америки. Но Коу указывал на то, что, несмотря на небольшое различие в размере и сохранности деталей (на одном наголовнике остались перья и ус морского кита, на другом — фрагмент щетинки и медные брови), когда-то эти предметы — из Кунсткамеры и купленный им — образовывали пару. На это указывают состояние объектов, износ, возраст краски, а также схожесть. Где второй наголовник был все эти годы и по какой причине Вознесенский не приобрел сразу оба, остается загадкой.

Авторы
Анастасия Индрикова
Редактор этнографических материалов и фоторедактор EastEast. Автор телеграм-канала о музейной антропологии «Мурмолка». Бывший фоторедактор проекта Arzamas и русской версии журнала Esquire, участница экспедиций Центра типологии и семиотики фольклора РГГУ (г. Москва) и Учебно-научной лаборатории фольклористики ИФИ РГГУ (г. Москва).
Владимир Лященко
Видеоэссеист-кинокритик, преподаватель Московской школы кино. Выпускник кафедры философской антропологии философского факультета МГУ.