(EE)
EN / RU
Artifacts

Ghanaian Coffins, Centre Pompidou, and Coca-Cola

Top: Artist Ataa Oko Addo and his wife posing behind a coffin in the form of a battleship. Ghana Greater Accra region, 1957
Archives and copyright Regula Tschumi

Bottom left: Seth Kane Kwei in Teshie. Ghana Accra region, 1987
Roberta Bonetti / Kane Kwei family archive

Bottom right: Eric Adjetey Anang. Even the One Who Worked for It Is Dead, 2017
Collection of the artist / International Folk Art Market

In 1957, the Ghanaian carpenter Seth Kane Kwei was commissioned to make a ceremonial palanquinpalanquinType of human-powered transport, often taking the form of open chairs or beds carried by two or more carriers. in the shape of a cocoa pod for one of the local chiefs. Unfortunately, the chief unexpectedly died and the palanquin was changed into a coffin in which the man was eventually buried. When the carpenter's grandmother passed away not long after, he remembered her love for airplanes that often flew overhead and made an aircraft-shaped coffin. After the funeral, Kane Kwei started receiving tons of orders—this is how the appearance of the first fantasy coffins is described on the website of his still operating carpentry workshop, now managed by Eric Adjetey Anang—Seth Kane Kwei’s grandson. 

The same story was retold by Western authors until the anthropologist Regula Tschumi, through her PhD research, disproved this popular version. According to her research, the Ga people’s chiefs had long been buried in figurative coffins that repeated the shape of their ceremonial palanquins, which in turn were made in the form of their kin’s symbols. This was due to the fact that the chiefs’ initiations and funerals complemented each other. Accordingly, various carpenters had made what would later be called “fantasy coffins”—prior to Kane Kwei.

Funeral procession in Teshie. Ghana Accra region, 2002
Photography Roberta Bonetti

For example, Tschumi herself found the retired master Ataa Oko Addo, asked him to draw from memory something from his carpentry works of the past, and thus relaunched his career in a new direction—now as an artist. The researcher concludes that if Ataa Oko Addo made palanquins and coffins for chiefs back in the 1940s, then Kane Kwei did not invent a new form, but turned out to be one of those who democratized it: what used to be a part of the rituals of the elite became available to a broader circle. 

Today coffins differ greatly. The owner of a taxi company, or at least one taxi, can be buried in a car-shaped coffin, a shoemaker—in a giant sneaker, a fisherman—in a fish or boat. One can only guess who the coffin in the form of a mobile phone was intended for and who was given a coffin shaped like a can or a bottle of popular soft drink. The shape of the coffin is supposed to either speak to what the deceased was famous for or reflect his or her character traits: the meaning of lion- or eagle-shaped coffins are probably obvious. 

By the 1970s, fantasy coffins not only had gained popularity in the neighboring cities of Teshie, Nungua, and Labadi, where they by then had become a part of the modern burial culture of the Ga people, but also started to draw the attention of Western collectors. In 1989, Kane Kwei’s and his nephew and former apprentice Paa Joe’s works appeared at the Magiciens de la terre exhibition at Centre Pompidou and La Grande Halle de la Villette. Its curator Jean-Hubert Martin collected the works of fifty African and fifty Western artists, and since then, fantasy coffins have become part of the African art export market. They are ordered by both private collectors and museums and exhibition spaces.

Moreover, as noted by another researcher Roberta Bonetti, Western perceptions and international museums also affect the context for manufacturers. Firstly, coffins are turned from utilitarian ritual objects into art objects, and their authors go, from artisans—to artists (which at the same time has caused art criticism debates). Secondly, the Western gaze chooses what looks the weirdest, brightest, and characteristic: it is not coffins shaped like lions and cocoa beans, but those that reproduce the products of international brands from Nike and Nokia to Coca-Cola. While in the domestic market, the demand for coffins-telephones is still inferior to the demand for the fauna and flora of genesis and individual symbols. 

Be that as it may, the most successful workshops seek to benefit from growing international recognition. And it is not only related to galleries and museums commissions—the already mentioned Eric Adjetey Anang is consistently turning the name of his grandfather Kane Kwei into a brand, noting that the use of the workshop’s website and the Wikipedia article has brought numerous tourists to his workshop . Thus, it has ceased to be a place only for the provision of ritual services and the production of art objects and has gradually turned into an exhibition space instead. 

Top: A road worker being buried in a bulldozer-shaped coffin made by Kudjoe Affutu. Ghana Volta region, 2018

Bottom left: A priest being buried in a teakettle-shaped coffin made by Kudjoe Affutu. Ghana Central region, 2009

Bottom right: A bus driver being buried in a bus-shaped coffin made by Kudjoe Affutu. Ghana Central region, 2013

All photos © Regula Tschumi

As the culminating point in this intricate mix of rituals, crafts, art, and market there stands a 1.5-minute video starring Eric Adjetey Anang, where a story of Kane Kwei’s workshop and fantasy coffins ends up as an advertising campaign for a drink produced by the Spanish division of Coca-Cola. The advertising agency dug deep enough to build a concept around the Ghanaian name for the fantasy coffins—“abebuu adekai,” which means “receptacles of proverbs.” Kane Kwei’s workshop made two coffins shaped like a can of this drink, one of which, as part of the campaign, collected the dreams of Spanish buyers. The circle was closed: the reproduction of brands attracted a new brand, exotisation and commodification unfolded at the meta-level; “receptacles of proverbs” turned into a box of fairy tales.

Translated from Russian by Olga Bubich

Contributors
Vladimir Lyashchenko
Video essayist and film critic, teacher at the Moscow Film School. Graduated from the Department of Philosophy of Moscow State University.

(EE)
EN / RU
Артефакты

Гробы из Ганы, Центр Помпиду и кока-кола

Вверху: Мастер Атаа Око Аддо и его жена с гробом в виде линкора. Большая Аккра, Гана, 1957 год
Архив Регулы Чуми

Внизу слева: Сет Кане Квей в городе Теши. Аккра, Гана, 1987 год
Роберта Бонетти / семейный архив семьи Кане Квей

Внизу справа: Эрик Аджетей Ананг. Even the One Who Worked for It Is Dead. 2017 год
Коллекция художника / International Folk Art Market

В 1957 году ганский плотник Сет Кане Квей получил заказ на изготовление церемониального паланкинапаланкинаСредство передвижения в виде укрепленного на длинных шестах кресла или ложа, переносимого носильщиками. в виде стручка какао для одного из местных вождей. К несчастью, вождь скоропостижно скончался, паланкин переделали в гроб — в нем и похоронили. Когда же вскоре умерла бабушка плотника, тот вспомнил о ее любви к пролетавшим над головой самолетам и изготовил гроб в виде воздушного судна. После этих похорон на Кане Квея посыпались заказы — именно так описано появление первых фантазийных гробов (fantasy coffins) на сайте его столярной мастерской, которая работает по сей день под управлением Эрика Аджетея Ананга, внука Кане Квея. 

Эту же историю воспроизводили до недавнего времени и западные авторы, пока антрополог Регула Чуми не указала на ее недостоверность. Согласно ее исследованию, вождей народа га издавна хоронили в гробах, повторяющих форму их церемониальных паланкинов, которые, в свою очередь, изготавливались в виде родовых символов. Дело в том, что инициации и похороны вождей дополняли друг друга. Соответственно, плотники мастерили то, что потом назовут fantasy coffins, и до Кане Квея. 

Похоронная процессия в городе Теши. Аккра, Гана, 2002 год
Photography Roberta Bonetti

Чуми нашла уже отошедшего от дел мастера Атаа Око Аддо, попросила его нарисовать по памяти какую-нибудь столярную работу прошлого и перезапустила таким образом его карьеру в новом качестве — теперь уже как художника. Исследовательница делает вывод, что если Атаа Око Аддо мастерил паланкины и гробы для вождей в 1940-е, значит, Кане Квей не был изобретателем новой формы, а оказался одним из тех, кто демократизировал ее: то, что было частью ритуала элит, пошло в массы. 

Теперь гробы могут быть совершенно разными. Владелец таксопарка или хотя бы одного такси может быть похоронен в гробу в форме автомобиля, обувщик — в гигантском кроссовке, рыбак — в рыбе или лодке. Можно гадать, кому предназначался гроб в виде мобильного телефона, а кому — в форме бутылки популярной газировки. Считается, что форма гроба или говорит о том, чем был славен усопший, или отражает черты его характера: гроб-лев или гроб-орел, вероятно, не нуждаются в особой расшифровке.

К 1970-м фантазийные гробы не только набрали популярность в соседствующих со столицей Аккрой городах Теши, Нунгуа, Лабади, где стали частью современной погребальной культуры народа га, но и попали в поле зрения западных коллекционеров. А в 1989-м работы Кане Квея и его племянника и бывшего подмастерья Паа Джо оказались на выставке «Маги Земли» (Magiciens de la Terre) в Центре Помпиду и Гранд-аль в парке Ла-Виллет. Ее куратор Жан-Юбер Мартен собрал работы пятидесяти африканских и пятидесяти западных художников, и с тех пор фантазийные гробы стали частью африканского арт-экспорта: их заказывают частные коллекционеры, музеи и выставочные пространства. 

Причем, как отмечает исследовательница Роберта Бонетти, западное восприятие и международный музейный контекст влияют на производителей. Во-первых, гробы из утилитарных ритуальных объектов превращаются в арт-объекты, а их авторы, соответственно, из ремесленников — в художников (что попутно порождает искусствоведческую полемику). Во-вторых, взгляд с Запада выбирает то, что представляется ему наиболее диковинным, ярким, — и это не гробы в форме львов и какао-бобов, а те, что воспроизводят продукцию международных брендов: от Nike и Nokia до Coca-Cola. На внутреннем рынке спрос на гробы-телефоны все-таки уступает спросу на животно-растительный мир родовых и индивидуальных символов. 

Самые успешные мастерские ищут выгоду в росте международной узнаваемости. И не только за счет заказов галерей и музеев. Уже упомянутый Эрик Аджетей Ананг последовательно превращает имя своего деда Кане Квея в бренд. Сайт мастерской и статья в «Википедии» привели к нему поток туристов. Мастерская перестала быть лишь местом оказания ритуальных услуг и производства арт-объектов и постепенно превращается в выставочное пространство.

Вверху: Дорожного рабочего хоронят в гробу-бульдозере, созданном Куджо Аффуту. Вольта, Гана, 2018 год

Внизу слева: Священника хоронят в гробу-чайнике, созданном Куджо Аффуту. Центральная область, Гана, 2009 год

Внизу справа: Водителя хоронят в гробу-автобусе, созданном Куджо Аффуту. Центральная область, Гана, 2013 год

Фотографии Регулы Чуми

Кульминационная точка в сложном сплетении ритуала, ремесла, искусства и рынка — полутораминутный ролик с Эриком Аджетеем Анангом в главной роли. Рассказ про мастерскую Кане Квея и фантазийные гробы оборачивается в нем рекламной кампанией напитка, производимого испанским подразделением Coca-Cola. Рекламное агентство копнуло достаточно глубоко для того, чтобы выстроить концепцию вокруг ганского названия фантазийных гробов — abebuu adekai, что переводится как «хранилище притч». Мастерская Кане Квея изготовила два гроба в форме банки этого напитка, в один из которых в рамках кампании «собирали мечты» испанских покупателей. Круг замкнулся: воспроизводство брендов приманило бренд, экзотизация и коммодификация осуществились на метауровне, «хранилище притч» обернулось сундучком со сказками. 

Авторы
Владимир Лященко
Видеоэссеист-кинокритик, преподаватель Московской школы кино. Выпускник кафедры философской антропологии философского факультета МГУ.