(EE)
EN / RU
News

Three Decades of Net Art Available to Study Online

Left: Leon Eckert, Vytas Jankauskas. We Leak Too. 2020
Right: ZHOU Pengan. Computer museum in the web. 2020
We=Link by Chronus Art Center

The We = Link: Sideways group exhibition includes works by artists and collectives across generations—from pioneers to millennials—and spans three decades of internet-era artworks. The online exhibition is available until May 23rd.

Internet art, or net art, emerged with the advent of the Internet in the early 90s and in those years experienced a peak. But, according to some art historians, by 1997 it had reached a dead end or a turning point. The exhibition sees this period of crisis as a new beginning for a variety of strategies, critical positions, and experiments after the "crash of the dot.com bubble." The online exhibition looks similar to a desktop, where each label contains artworks aimed at undermining corporate monopoly and network infrastructure. The exhibition also features a rare collection of artifacts from early Chinese Internet culture during its formative years, the late 1990s to the early 2000s.

Participants include Mike Bennett, Wafaa Bilal, CHEN Pengpeng, exonemo, Everest Pipkin, Ubermorgen, and many others. The exhibition is hosted by the Chronus Art Center, the first non-profit organization in China dedicated to the presentation, research, and creation of media art.

Read more on the website.

(EE)
EN / RU
Новости

Три десятилетия сетевого искусства доступны для изучения онлайн

Слева: Leon Eckert, Vytas Jankauskas. We Leak Too. 2020 год
Справа: ZHOU Pengan. Computer museum in the web. 2020 год
We=Link by Chronus Art Center

Групповая экспозиция We = Link: Sideways включает работы художников и коллективов разных поколений — от пионеров до миллениалов — и охватывает три десятилетия развития сетевого искусства. Онлайн-экспозиция доступна до 23 мая. 

Сетевое искусство, или нет-арт, возникло с появлением интернета, с начала 90-х, и в те годы пережило период бурного расцвета. Но, по мнению некоторых искусствоведов, к 1997 году оно зашло в тупик или достигло поворотного момента. Выставка рассматривает этот кризисный период как новую отправную точку для разнообразных стратегий, критических позиций и экспериментов после «краха пузыря доткомов». Онлайн-экспозиция выглядит как рабочий стол, где в каждом ярлыке скрыты произведения, направленные на подрыв корпоративной монополии и сетевой инфраструктуры. На выставке также представлена редкая коллекция артефактов ранней китайской интернет-культуры в годы ее становления, конец 1990-х — начало 2000-х.

Среди участников: Майк Беннетт, Вафаа Билал, Чэнь Пэнпэн, exonemo, Everest Pipkin, Ubermorgen и многие другие. Выставка проходит на базе Chronus Art Center — первой некоммерческой организации в Китае, занимающейся презентацией, исследованием и созданием медиаискусства. 

Подробнее — на сайте