(EE)
EN / RU
ISSUE 2: DREAM
Making space for dreaming means increasing the field of possibility
EN / RU
Glossary

Jeongjagwan from the Museum of Oriental Art in Moscow and the Early 20th Century Korean Clothing

Men's headwear jeongjagwan. Korea, early 20th century
The State Museum of Oriental Art in Moscow

Jeongjagwan is traditional Korean indoor headwear. It was designed exclusively for high-class, neo-Confucian scholars—philosophers, politicians, and public officials of the Korean Joseon state, which existed from the 14th century up until 1897. This headwear style was also used during the short period of time before Korea lost its independence—until that point the country was known as Daehan Jeguk. Similar to other horsehair hats, jeongjagwan were manufactured using a special block to shape the woven structure which was then lacquered. Its specific shape, with eight or twelve peaks, led to the jeongjagwan’s common association with mountains. The headdress was most likely shaped this way intentionally: mountains were seen as symbols of honor and wisdom and the jeongjagwan was worn to emphasize the noble origins of its owner. Just as neo-Confucianism came to Korea from China and was further developed by local philosophers, the jeongjagwan was an upgraded version of a Chinese model. 

This particular item dates back to the early 20th century, when the variety of everyday Korean headdresses reached its climax. Men and women wore different pieces depending on their marital and social status, as well as their circumstances: at home or at work, on weekdays, during festivities, or in periods of mourning. This differentiation was important because of the particular features of the neo-Confucian philosophy, the foundation of which lied in the preservation of a social order that assigned every member of society their own role.

Men's headwear samo. Korea, late 19th to early 20th century
Men's headwear yugeon. Korea, 19th century
The State Museum of Oriental Art in Moscow

Portrait of Gang Se-hwang. Unknown author of the Joseon Dynasty
Portrait of Seo Jik-su. Yi Myeong-gi and Kim Hong-do, 18th century
National Museum of Korea

In addition to the jeongjagwan, both Confucian noble scholars and especially students at Confucian academies also wore yugeon—tall headgear with two triangular peaks on the upper edge. They were made out of hemp, cotton, or ramie (China grass). Both the jeongjagwan and the yugeon were worn over a tanggeon headdress, which was usually put on a top knot—thus, their “graded” shape. Middle and high-class citizens usually wore tanggeon at home and put something over it when going outside. Another piece of headwear—a black samo with the same tanggeon-like “grade” and two round-shaped “wings” on the sides—was supposed to be worn by public officials on duty. The rest of the citizens were allowed to wear samo during weddings. A white samo was worn during the time of mourning. 

Men's headwear tanggeon. Korea, 19th to early 20th century
The State Museum of Oriental Art in Moscow

Portrait of U Dang. Unknown artist of the Joseon Dynasty
National Museum of Korea
One of the Five Portraits of Yun Jeung. Yi Myeong-gi, 1788
Cultural Heritage Administration

A Korean traditional garment called the hanbok underwent massive changes at the late 19th—early 20th century. During the same period, important neighbouring countries began interfering with the internal affairs of the Korean state, which was weakened by a national crisis. The country began to rapidly lose its internal independence while other countries were virtually deciding who should rule over the country. In 1910, the country was annexed by Japan. Up until the end of the 19th century, Korea stayed a closed, almost unexplored and barely accessible territory, in particular to Western cultures. Although Russian diplomats, who played an important role in the Far East policy, started to make their way to the land during this period, in Russia very little was known about Korean culture up until the middle of the 20th century. Indeed, objects from Korea submitted to the Ars Asiatica museum (now called the State Museum of Oriental Art) which opened in 1918, were often attributed to the Chinese and were only assigned into a separate Korean collection decades later. 

According to Irina Eliseeva, custodian of the Korean collection at the Museum, the question of determining whether or not objects belong to the Korean or Japanese or Chinese traditions still remains one of the most popular topics of discussion. The austere Joseon porcelain and incrustated celadon ceramic ware of Goryeo era (X—XIV centuries) have unique artistic features—this incrustation technique was invented by Korean ceramists and distinguishes their work from the Chinese celadon pieces. Another specific feature of the Korean style is the flamboyant color combinations in traditional garments, the use of which was, however, was subject to strict regulations—as was the use of headwear. 

Translated from Russian by Liya Ebralidze

Contributors
Mikhail Garder
Anthropologist, translator. Graduated from the Department of European Languages of the Russian State University for the Humanities, holds an MA in folklore studies.

(EE)
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
Артефакты

Корейский чонджагван

Мужской головной убор чонджагван. Корея, начало XX века
Государственный музей искусства народов Востока

Чонджагван — корейский головной убор, предназначенный для ношения в помещении. Его использовали исключительно высокостатусные неоконфуцианские ученые: философы, политики или чиновники корейского государства Чосон, существовавшего с XIV века до 1897 года. Его продолжали носить и в краткий период, предшествовавший потере Кореей независимости, когда страна именовалась империей Тэхан чегук. Как и другие головные уборы из конского волоса, чонджагваны изготавливали с помощью специальных болванок, вокруг которых создавали плетеную структуру, которую затем покрывали лаком. Из-за специфического внешнего вида — направленных вверх восьми или двенадцати углов — чонджагван часто сравнивают с горной грядой. Вероятно, такая форма придавалась убору намеренно: горы считались символом благородства и мудрости и ношение чонджагвана подчеркивало высокий статус ученого. Как и неоконфуцианство, пришедшее в Корею из Китая и впоследствии развитое местными философами, чонджагваны представляли собой форму, доработанную на основе китайской модели.

Конкретно этот предмет датирован началом XX века, когда разнообразие повседневных корейских головных уборов достигло пика. Мужчины и женщины меняли их в зависимости от семейного и социального положения, а также от обстоятельств: дома или на службе, в обычный будний день, при участии в празднестве или соблюдении траура. Такая дифференциация была важна в том числе из-за особенностей философии неоконфуцианства, основой которой считалось сохранение социального порядка, где каждому члену общества отведена своя роль.

Мужской головной убор само. Корея, конец XIX– начало XX веков
Мужской головной убор югон. Корея, XIX век
Государственный музей искусства народов Востока

Портрет Кан Се Хвана. Неизвестный автор периода династии Чосон
Фрагмент портрета Со Чжик-су. Ли Мён-ги и Ким Хон-до, XVIII век
National Museum of Korea

Кроме описанных чонджагванов, конфуцианские ученые, прежде всего студенты конфуцианских академий, также носили югоны — высокие головные уборы с двумя треугольными выступами по краям. Они изготавливались из конопли, хлопка или рами (крапивы китайской). И чонджагваны, и югоны иногда надевались на тхангоны, которые носились поверх собранных в пучок волос — этим объясняется их «ступенчатая» форма. Тхангоны горожане среднего или высшего сословия обычно носили дома, но когда собирались в публичное место, надевали поверх что-то еще. Существовали также черные само — их было положено носить чиновникам на службе, а другим горожанам разрешалось надевать на свадебные торжества. Белые само носили в дни траура.

Мужской головной убор тхагон. Корея, XIX – начало XX веков
Государственный музей искусства народов Востока

Портрет Ю Дан. Неизвестный автор периода династии Чосон.
National Museum of Korea
Один из «Пяти портретов Юн Чжин». Ли Мён-ги, 1788 год
Cultural Heritage Administration

Немало изменений в традиционном корейском костюме, известном также как ханбок, происходит в  конце XIX — начале XX века. В это время в дела Кореи, ослабленной государственным кризисом, стали вмешиваться крупные соседи. Страна стремительно теряла независимость во внутренних делах, и фактически в это время решалось, кто будет ею управлять. В 1910 году она была окончательно аннексирована Японией. Хотя российские дипломаты, игравшие важную роль в дальневосточной политике, и стали проникать в Корею в конце XIX века, уровень знакомства с местной культурой в России оставался невысоким вплоть до середины XX века. Так, корейские предметы, поступавшие в основанный в 1918 году музей Ars Asiatica (ныне Государственный музей Востока), первое время нередко атрибутировали как китайские, и только спустя годы они вошли в состав корейского раздела коллекции.

Как говорит куратор корейской коллекции Государственного музея Востока Ирина Елисеева, вопрос об отличиях предметов корейской культуры от тех, что принадлежат японским и китайским национальным традициям, остается одним из наиболее часто задаваемых на лекциях. Неповторимыми художественными особенностями обладает, например, строгий чосонский белый фарфор и инкрустированная глинами серовато-зеленая селадоновая керамика эпохи Корё (X — XIV века) — именно техника инкрустации селадонов глинами явилась изобретением корейских гончаров, отчетливо выделяя их продукцию на фоне китайских селадоновых изделий. Другая специфическая черта — это нередко бросающееся в глаза в ханбоке сочетание ярких контрастных цветов, использование которых, однако, строго регламентировалось, как и ношение головных уборов.

Авторы
Михаил Гардер
Переводчик с английского, антрополог. Выпускник кафедры европейских языков РГГУ и аспирантуры Центра типологии и семиотики фольклора РГГУ. Участник фольклорных экспедиций Лаборатории фольклористики РГГУ и прикладных исследований по городской антропологии.