(EE)
EN / RU
News

EastEast Announces (no) borders Open Call Finalists

Rakhim Kalybaev. Tashkent, Uzbekistan. August 2020

The next issue of EastEast will be called (no) borders and centered around borders as a primary theme: real and imaginary, cultural and geographical. In October, we announced an open call: we asked artists and researchers from around the world to submit their ideas for future materials related to the topic.

The finalists of the competition were Asli Uludag, Yiannis Christidis, and Vanessa Grossman and Ciro Miguel. We will publish the winners' texts on the website starting from February next year.

Turning to the concept of slow violence, Asli Uludag will look at the impact of geothermal energy on olive and fig trees in the Buyuk Menderes Graben in Turkey. Yiannis Christidis will conduct an ethnographic study of the sounds of everyday life that unite the Greek- and Turkish- speaking populations of the divided island in the center of Nicosia, Cyprus. Vanessa Grossman and Ciro Miguel will prepare material on the emu birds and other wildlife that support the ecosystem in Brazil in close collaboration with local architecture.

We will publish the texts and visuals from the rest of the finalists in other sections of our website and on our social networks. These include the work of: Bella Radenovic, Sara Naim, Yelena Zhelezov, Monishankar Prasad, Natalia Andrianova, Makar Tereshin, Azad Asifovich, and Arina Atik.

We would like to thank all the participants of the open call for their contributions.

(EE)
EN / RU
Новости

EastEast объявляет финалистов опен-колла (no) borders

Рахим Калыбаев. Ташкент, Узбекистан. Август 2020

Следующий номер нашего издания будет называться (no) borders — посвятим его теме границ: реальных и воображаемых, культурных и географических. В октябре мы объявили опен-колл: попросили художников и исследователей со всего мира прислать идеи для будущих материалов, связанных с этим сюжетом. 

Финалистами конкурса стали Асли Улудаг, Яннис Кристидис, Ванесса Гроссман и Сиро Мигель. Тексты победителей начнем публиковать на сайте с февраля следующего года. 

Обращаясь к концепции медленного насилия (slow violence), Асли Улудаг рассмотрит воздействие геотермальной энергии на оливковые и фиговые деревья в долине реки Большой Мендерес в Турции. Яннис Кристидис проведет в центре города Никосия на Кипре этнографическое исследование звуков повседневности, которые объединяют население разделенного острова, говорящее на греческом и турецком языках. Ванесса Гроссман и Сиро Мигель подготовят материал о птицах эму и других представителях животного мира, которые поддерживают экосистему в Бразилии в тесном взаимодействии с местной архитектурой. 

На сайте и в социальных сетях мы опубликуем тексты и визуальные материалы других финалистов. Это Белла Раденович, Сара Наим, Елена Железов, Монишанкар Прасад, Наталья Андрианова, Макар Терешин, Азад Асифович, Арина Атик. 

Благодарим всех участников опен-колла за интерес к нашему проекту.