(EE)
ISSUE 2: DREAM
Making space for dreaming means increasing the field of possibility
EN / RU
News

Pera Museum Hosts Miniature 2.0 Exhibition

Hamra Abbas
Pera Müzesi

Pera Museum in Istanbul is hosting Miniature 2.0, an exhibition dedicated to contemporary miniature art that will last from August 11th, 2020 until January 17th, 2021. Moving beyond a focus on miniature that has been primarily concerned with form and content, this exhibition considers the multi-layered issues of colonialism, orientalism, economic inequality, gender, politics of identity, discrimination, social violence, and representation that artists grapple with and uncover through thier work. The framework of the exhibition is meant to illustrate the varied and multifaceted approach of each artist while simultaneously pointing to the commonalities between them. 

Miniature 2.0 features fourteen artists from different countries, including Turkey, Iran, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, and Azerbaijan. The artists were selected partially for their distinct approaches; bringing miniature out of books, where the practice has existed for centuries, they have incorporated miniature into various forms such as sculpture, video, photography, and installations. Miniature 2.0 emphasizes miniature’s theoretical potential as a contemporary art form and represents a search for ways in which it can live in the contemporary world.

The exhibition is curated by Azra Tüzünoğlu and Gülce Özkara and features work by Hamra Abbas, Rashad Alakbarov, Halil Altındere, Dana Awartani, Fereydoun Ave, CANAN, Noor Ali Chagani, Cansu Çakar, Hayv Kahraman, Imran Qureshi, Nilima Sheikh, Shahpour Pouyan, Shahzia Sikander, and Saira Wasim.

Read more at peramuseum.org.

(EE)
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
Новости

В стамбульском музее Pera проходит выставка Miniature 2.0

Хамра Аббас
Pera Müzesi

В стамбульском музее Pera до 17 января 2021 года будет идти Miniature 2.0 — выставка, посвященная современной миниатюре. Ее кураторы не ограничиваются исследованием формальных и содержательных особенностей этого жанра: они обращаются также к сложным вопросам колониализма, ориентализма, экономического неравенства, гендера, политики идентичности, дискриминации, общественного насилия и репрезентации. Экспозиция призвана продемонстрировать разнообразие и многогранность авторских подходов и в то же время указать на совпадения между ними.

В Miniature 2.0 участвуют 14 художников из таких стран, как Турция, Иран, Пакистан, Саудовская Аравия и Азербайджан. Одним из критериев отбора участников стал характерный, ни на что не похожий подход каждого из них: миниатюра, на протяжении веков существовавшая лишь в книгах, используется приглашенными художниками в скульптуре, видео, фотографии и инсталляциях. Выставка подчеркивает теоретический потенциал миниатюры как современной формы искусства и посвящена поиску способов ее существования в современном мире.

Кураторами выставки выступили Азра Тюзюноглу и Гюльче Озкара. Среди представленных художников — Хамра Аббас, Рашад Алакбаров, Халил Алтындере, Дана Авартани, Ферейдуна Аве, CANAN, Нур Али Хагани, Джансу Чакар, Хив Кахраман, Имран Куреши, Нилима Шейх, Шахпур Пуян, Шахзия Сикандер и Саира Васим.

Более подробно — на сайте peramuseum.org.