(EE)
ISSUE 2: DREAM
Making space for dreaming means increasing the field of possibility
EN / RU
Community

The House in the Skies

Jun Kitazawa is a Tokyo-born artist who currently lives in Yogyakarta, Indonesia. In his projects, he works with various communities to create spaces that are “neither private, nor public,” to introduce a sense of lightness into what are at times critical circumstances, and to explore the possibilities of everyday life and different ways of home-making. Jun told EastEast about his initiatives in Japan and Indonesia as well as what he’s been learning from his homelands. 

I’m from Japan, but I’m living in Indonesia now. I worked in Japan for around ten years, with community residents all over the state, both in the countryside and in cities—because my work always implies collaboration with other people. But later, some of the long-term projects with local residents just came to their logical end. For example, the project with people living in the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear disaster area—around 50-60 km from the nuclear station. The area was damaged by the tsunami more than by the nuclear accident—entire villages disappeared beneath the waves. The residents I worked with in Japan lived in the sea-side village that was destroyed by the tsunami. Four years later, they got their new houses—and just like myself, they have changed. For four years they had lived in temporary housing, but after their situation had changed, in 2015, my projects were finished too. I was seeking change as an artist too.

When I moved to Jakarta, I was so shocked—I had real culture shock. I was born in Tokyo, and the reason why I became an artist is connected to my life in Tokyo. When I was a highschool student, communication with other people would always confuse me. In my teens, when I was conversing with others, I would always think: why am I talking about this? Why do I know what I know? Expressing myself, I’m always feeling conscious about what I’m conveying. And this became my artistic thinking. But I’m still wondering where the way I express myself is coming from. Why can I express this or that, why can I use the language that I’m communicating with, what is the identity of my expression? This was an important question for me. Becoming an artist was my answer. In my daily life, I’ve always been creating. When my parents sent me to school, I was playing a student—we are always playing someone in society. 

And this constructed daily life is so systemic in Tokyo. You know, if you need to go somewhere, you never have to wait for more than ten minutes at the station. In Tokyo, everyone works very hard, and we cannot create our rules by ourselves, our daily lives are already being constructed by someone else. So I wanted to let my art projects out into this constructed society, to create an alternative daily life. With projects like Living Room and Sun Self Hotel, I used the names of ordinary places to create fictional spaces. But ten years later, I was done creating the alternative daily life as a long-term project in Fukushima, as well as with Living Room and Sun Self Hotel. We need to always keep changing, so I wanted to join a daily life that I didn’t know. That’s why I moved to Indonesia.

Living Room in Kujiragaoka arcade, Hitachiota city, Ibaraki prefecture, Japan. 10 September – 20 November 2016

Jun Kitazawa started the first Living Room by having the interior of an abandoned clothing store painted white. Used carpets and furniture were collected from households in the neighbourhood, furnishing the newly emerged “living room,” where people could spend time at their will, chatting or reading books. From 2010 to 2016, the project was carried out in Kitamoto Danchi (Kitamoto, Saitama Prefecture), Ryogoku Honmachi (Tokushima, Tokushima Prefecture), Takanosu (Kitaakita-city, Akita Prefecture), Sakaemachi-Ichiba (Naha-city, Okinawa prefecture), Izumicho Kaikan (Mito city, Ibaraki prefecture), Kujiragaoka arcade (Hitachiota city, Ibaraki prefecture), and in Sankhu (Kathmandu, Nepal).

Living Room is one of my representative projects. It’s a long-term undertaking addressing the present-day social situation in Japan. My projects don’t just come  from my own initiative—I always join the community that I’ve suggested my project to. Living Room had to do with the transformation of space: I changed the vacant store into a public space. Many shops are closing, because in the recent twenty or thirty years a great number of malls appeared in suburban areas—most people stopped going to the stores near their own houses. The population of Japan is decreasing too… 

My projects often have to do with the idea of home. Home has many meanings. A house can be only one of them, but home is also about a feeling, not just a place. Many people who join my projects do not have a home. One of the examples are the people who lost their homes after the tsunami. And in the cities too, many people participating in the Living Room project didn’t have a "home" of their own either. In the area where I created Living Room, one of the locals had a mental disability and didn’t have a feeling of home in the community. Some people cannot feel at home anywhere, but they join my projects to experience it. This is similar in all of my initiatives.

In Jakarta, society is not so rigidly constructed as in Japan. There was no particular reason why I chose Indonesia—it was all about the first impression. I didn’t know what to expect further, but looking back, I can explain what I felt at the time. There was no pre-constructed daily life—from my own point of view, not from the point of view of the people of Jakarta, of course. But I saw how people living in Jakarta were creating their daily lives for themselves: they would build houses out of materials found in the streets… It might be called a slum, but it’s artwork as well. I understood why I was creating my art projects in Japan: I wanted to intervene with pre-constructed patterns, but there wasn’t anything like that in Indonesia. After that, having encountered a fundamentally different daily life, I think I upgraded myself, got a new concept of a dual locality. In Tokyo, the reason why I wanted to make my projects was an essential question for me, but they were also created by the society itself. Artists themselves are being created by the society. But when I’m asked about the dual locality, the dual common sense, I can depart from the local rules, both Japanese rules and Indonesian rules. Now I’m looking for the similarities and differences between the two communities. For two or three years now I’ve been working with Indonesians and other immigrants living in Japan. There are so many different people from other countries living in Tokyo, but locals cannot see them, because the Japanese society is very closed and introverted. 

Neighbour's Land took the form of an exhibition at Yokohama CreativeCity Center, where members of different immigrant communities put together an imaginary city.

Neighbour’s Land is the project I conducted in 2018, after I moved to Indonesia. It took place at YCC, in Yokohama. Yokohama was one of the first places in Japan that opened to other countries. The American Navy first entered Japan from the harbor in Yokohama in 1853. So, Yokohama has a long history of connecting with other countries, both in a good sense and in a bad sense. As a result, there are many people from around the world living there: from America, the Philippines, Indonesia, as well as those from European countries. I offered them to join my project and create a fictional land, a fictional country in the exhibition space. 

In my view, Indonesian society offers so many opportunities, there are already so many gathering places. Many people cannot rely on the government: the ones who live in slums, or people with disabilities. But the atmosphere of the neighbourhoods can help them. What I was doing in Japan as an art project already exists in the communities of Indonesia. In a sense, it’s a much more inclusive society. If the society in Indonesia doesn’t fail, they will preserve their intrinsic discipline and their gathering places. The reason why I want to keep doing my projects in Indonesia is because many of their participants aren’t aware of what they already have. I think it is important to notice the beauty there, and I still have the motivation to show it.

One of my main projects in Jakarta is also connected to the concept of home: it is called Ideal Home Contest. Because of the urban development in Jakarta, there are numerous areas that are like small villages within the city area. In Indonesian, they are called kampung—it’s a typical phenomenon in Southeast Asian cities. Kampungs become targets for destruction during government-driven urban development. So, I worked with the former inhabitants of one of the kampungs that had been demolished. In 2017, I met the residents of Kampung Akuarium—I was invited there by my friends. When Indonesia was occupied by the Netherlands, Dutch companies constructed lots of buildings in North Jakarta, one of which would later give the name to the kampung. Later, Japan occupied Indonesia, and after Indonesia got its independence in 1945 many people from the countryside started actively moving to Jakarta and settling in the available areas. 

In April 2016, the Kampung Akuarium people were asked to leave the village so that the government could build apartment houses there and turn it into a tourist area. Eleven days later Kampung Akuarium was destroyed entirely, all of the houses, everything. When I came to Kampung Akuarium in March 2017, nearly one year after the demolition, many of the people were still living there, in tents or in improvised constructions. The landscape shocked me. The people of Kampung Akuarium reconstructed their settlements on their own. They brought electric cables, got access to water… But in the media, it was presented in a controversial way—some of them said it wasn’t the government, but the residents who were guilty, because it was regarded as illegal to settle in this area. This has been one of the most disputed areas in Jakarta at that time—there have been numerous publications, including one in National Geographic, and many NGO’s have been helping the residents.

Seeing this, I started asking myself: what is a home? The inhabitants of Kampung Akuarium had to move, they had to create their dwellings themselves. There are all kinds of people living in Jakarta, and many of them can not imagine what has been happening in this area. But those who are being forced to move have to constantly think of what a home means to them, what they want to get back is not just the land, but the soul as well, the feeling, the connection; not only the visible, but also the invisible. The question I got for the people living in Kampung Akuarium, in a situation that other residents of Jakarta  could hardly imagine, was “What is a home? What is an ideal home?” Humans in general are always moving, they have never stopped moving around. The common belief in Japan these days is that Japanese culture was formed in a vacuum, but that’s not true. There have always been numerous connections—because humans are always moving. Throughout our long history, we’ve all been constantly searching for an ideal home.

My project in Kampung Akuarium was aimed at thinking about what makes an ideal home. Many of the kampung residents celebrate the Indonesian Independence Day by organizing various contests—like eating contests where people compete to see who can eat their food faster. There are all kinds of contests being held on that day. And Jakarta is frequently facing political conflict, but the people there always love having fun. I wanted to connect my questioning of the political situation with the Independence Day celebrations, so I organized a new contest: although everything that it was about was already there. This way, it could be fun, and it could be an art project as well. The contest for the residents of Kampung Akuarium was about creating an ideal home. I was going there daily for about three weeks, and we would be discussing everything. The residents put together seven teams and each of them created a model of an imaginary house. There was a House in the Skies, a House with a Stage, a Folding House… The House in the Skies was a dreamy idea coming from the children of Kampung Akuarium. They said, “If we have a house in the sky, no one can come and destroy it.” 

Contributors
Jun Kitazawa
Artist working with community-based projects. Born in Tokyo. Got a PhD from Tokyo University of the Art. In 2016, Kitazawa was listed in Forbes' 30 Under 30 Asia and selected as a fellow of Japan Foundation Asia Center. Jun currently lives and works in Yogyakarta, Indonesia.

(EE)
ВЫПУСК 2: МЕЧТА
Создать пространство для мечты — значит расширить поле возможного
EN / RU
Сообщество

Дом на небесах

Дзюн Китадзава — художник из Токио, живущий в индонезийском городе Джокьякарта. Его проекты основаны на работе с разными сообществами и посвящены созданию пространств, которые бы не были «ни частными, ни публичными». Цель — привнести легкость в обстоятельства, которые порой кажутся критическими, и исследовать возможности повседневности и различные способы обустройства дома. Дзюн рассказал EastEast о своей деятельности в Японии и Индонезии, а также о том, чему его научили родные места.

Я родом из Японии, но сейчас живу в Индонезии. Я работал с сельскими и городскими жителями по всей Японии около десяти лет, так как все мои начинания основаны на сотрудничестве с другими людьми. Но со временем некоторые из проектов подошли к логическому завершению. К примеру, тот, что был создан вместе с теми, кто жил в районе аварии на «Фукусима-дайити» — примерно в 50–60 километрах от АЭС. Больше, чем от аварии на ядерном реакторе, район пострадал от цунами — множество деревень сгинуло под волнами. С жителями одной из них я и работал. Четыре года спустя они покинули временное жилье и получили новые дома, проект закончился. Они изменились, и я как художник тоже искал перемен.

После переезда в Джакарту я испытал настоящий культурный шок. Я родился в Токио, и причины, по которым я стал художником, связаны с моей жизнью в этом городе. Когда я был старшеклассником, общение с другими людьми всегда меня смущало. Будучи подростком, во время бесед я всегда думал: почему я говорю именно об этом? Почему я знаю то, что знаю? Высказываясь, я всегда осознаю то, что выражаю. И это стало основанием моего художественного мышления. Однако мне по-прежнему интересно, откуда взялся мой способ самовыражения. Почему я могу выражаться так или иначе, почему я способен использовать язык, на котором общаюсь, что за идентичность стоит за моим высказыванием? Все эти вопросы для меня важны. Становление художником было моим ответом на них. Я всегда творил в повседневной жизни. Когда родители отправили меня в школу, я отыгрывал ученика — в обществе мы всегда отыгрываем те или иные роли.

И эта сконструированная повседневность в Токио повсеместна. Вам не придется ждать поезда дольше трех минут, если нужно куда-то ехать. В Токио все много работают, и там невозможно самим создавать правила — наши жизни уже кем-то выстроены. C помощью своих художественных работ я хотел создать альтернативную повседневность. В таких проектах, как Living Room и Sun Self Hotel, я использовал названия обычных мест для создания вымышленных пространств. Но десять лет спустя долгосрочный проект по созданию альтернативной повседневности в Фукусиме — как и Living Room, и Sun Self Hotel — был закончен. Всем нужно меняться, и мне захотелось пожить той жизнью, которой я еще не знал. Поэтому я переехал в Индонезию.

Living Room в галерее «Кудзирагаока». Хитатиота, префектура Ибараки. 10 сентября — 20 ноября 2016 года

Впервые Living Room был создан Дзюном Китадзавой в заброшенном магазине одежды и начался с покраски его стен в белый. Чтобы обставить «гостиную», где люди могли бы проводить время, общаться или читать, художник взял подержанные ковры и мебель из соседних домов. Проект также реализовывался в жилищном комплексе «Китамото» (Китамото, префектура Сайтама); в «Рёгоку хонмачи» (Токусима, префектура Токусима); в «Санкху» (Катманду, Непал); в «Таканосу» (Китаакита, префектура Акита); на рынке «Сакаэмати», (Наха, префектура Окинава); в «Идзумитё Кайкан» (Мито, Ибараки)

Living Room — один из моих образцовых долгосрочных проектов, посвященный текущей общественной ситуации в Японии. Проекты появляются не просто по моей инициативе — я всегда присоединяюсь к сообществам, для которых их создаю. Living Room был связан с преобразованием пространства: я превратил пустующий магазин в публичное место. Многие магазины закрываются, поскольку за последние двадцать или тридцать лет в пригородах появилось множество торговых центров — никто уже не ходит за покупками рядом с домом. Да и число населения Японии падает…

Мои проекты зачастую связаны с идеей дома. У дома много смыслов. Жилое здание — лишь один из них; дом также обозначает некое чувство, а не просто место. Многие участники моих проектов не имеют дома. К примеру, это люди, которые потеряли свои жилища после цунами. Но и в городах ситуация та же — у многих людей, участвующих в проекте Living Room, тоже нет собственного дома. В районе, где я создал такую «гостиную», у одного из местных жителей с ментальным расстройством его не было. Некоторые люди нигде не могут почувствовать себя дома, но они присоединяются к моим проектам ради этого ощущения. Вот что связывает все мои начинания.

В Джакарте общество выстроено не так строго, как в Японии. Нельзя сказать, что я выбрал Индонезию по какой-то конкретной причине — все дело в первом впечатлении. Я не знал, чего ждать, но, оглядываясь назад, могу объяснить, что чувствовал в то время. Здесь не было никакой заранее выстроенной повседневности — с моей точки зрения, разумеется, а не с точки зрения населения Джакарты. Но я видел, как живущие в Джакарте люди сами создают повседневность: они строят жилища из материалов, найденных на улицах… Их можно было бы назвать трущобами, но в то же время это произведения искусства. Я понял, почему инициировал художественные проекты в Японии: я хотел вторгнуться в заранее выстроенные паттерны, но ничего подобного в Индонезии не обнаружил. И вот, столкнувшись с радикально отличающейся обыденностью, мне кажется, я смог обновить себя, приобрести новую точку зрения — двойной локальности. В Токио я хотел создавать проекты, потому что не мог иначе, но в их создании также участвовало само общество. Сами художники создавались обществом. Когда меня спрашивают о двойной локальности, о двойном здравом смысле, я могу оттолкнуться от местных правил — как в Токио, так и в Джакарте. Теперь я ищу сходства и различия двух сообществ. Уже два или три года работаю с индонезийцами и другими иммигрантами, живущими в Японии. В Токио живет множество людей из других стран, но местные их не видят, потому что японское общество весьма закрыто и сосредоточено на себе.

Проект Neighbours Land — выставка в Yokohama Creativecity Center, где представители различных иммигрантских сообществ вместе создавали воображаемый город

Проектом Neighbour’s Land я занимался в 2018 году, уже после того, как переехал в Индонезию. Он был выставлен в Yokohama Creativecity Center. Иокогама одной из первых открыла двери для иностранцев. Американский флот впервые вошел в Японию через ее гавань. У города долгая история связей с другими странами — как в хорошем, так и в плохом смысле. Поэтому здесь живет множество людей со всего мира: из Америки, Филиппин, Индонезии, Европы. Я предложил им присоединиться к моему проекту и создать вымышленную местность, вымышленную страну в выставочном пространстве.

По-моему, индонезийское общество предлагает массу возможностей, здесь столько мест для встреч. Многие местные жители не могут полагаться на правительство: те, кто живет в трущобах, или люди с ограниченными возможностями. Но соседская атмосфера их поддерживает. То, что я создавал в Японии в качестве художественных проектов, уже существует в сообществах Индонезии. Здесь намного более инклюзивное общество. Если оно не развалится, то ему удастся сохранить присущую ему дисциплину и места для встреч. Причина, по которой я хочу продолжать делать проекты в Индонезии, — в том, что многие из их участников не знают, что у них есть. Мне кажется, важно замечать здешнюю красоту, и у меня все еще есть желание показывать ее другим.

Один из моих главных проектов в Джакарте также связан с понятием дома: он называется The Ideal Home Contest. Вследствие особенностей городского развития в Джакарте множество районов, похожих на маленькие деревни в черте города. На индонезийском языке их называют кампонгами — это типичное явление в городах Юго-Восточной Азии, которое, однако, уничтожается градостроительными процессами, инициированными государством. В 2016 году я встретился с жителями кампонга Акуариум — меня пригласили туда друзья. Когда Индонезия была оккупирована Нидерландами, голландские компании построили в северной Джакарте множество зданий, одно из которых впоследствии дало название кампонгу. Позднее Индонезию оккупировала Япония, а после обретения Индонезией независимости в 1945 году многие сельские жители стали активно переселяться в Джакарту и занимать освободившиеся территории.

В апреле 2016 года жителей Акуариума попросили покинуть деревню, чтобы правительство могло построить там многоквартирные дома и превратить кампонг в туристическую зону. Через одиннадцать дней Акуариум был полностью разрушен — было снесено абсолютно все. Когда я приехал туда в марте 2017 года, спустя почти год после сноса, многие люди все еще жили там, в палатках или в импровизированных постройках. Пейзаж шокировал меня. Жители кампонга самостоятельно восстанавливали свои поселения. Они провели электричество, получили доступ к воде… Но в медиа это было представлено спорно: заявлялось, что виновато не правительство, а жители, поселившиеся в этом районе незаконно. Это был один из районов в Индонезии, по поводу которых шли постоянные дискуссии, — он стал предметом большого количества публикаций, включая статью в National Geographic. Многие неправительственные организации тоже помогали жителям.

Увидев это, я начал спрашивать себя: что такое дом? Обитателям кампонга Акуариум пришлось переехать, им пришлось самим создавать себе жилища. В Джакарте живут разные люди, и многие из них не знают, что происходит в этом районе. Но те, кого вынуждают переезжать, должны постоянно думать о том, что для них значит дом, ведь они хотят вернуть не только землю, но и душу, ощущение, родство — что-то не только видимое, но и невидимое. Вопрос, который я задавал людям, живущим в кампонге Акуариум, звучал так: «Что такое дом? Что такое идеальный дом?» Как правило, люди всегда находятся в движении, они не перестают двигаться. В Японии принято считать, что наша культура сформировалась в вакууме, но это не так. Всегда имелось множество связей, и на протяжении всей нашей долгой истории мы постоянно искали идеальный дом.

Целью моего проекта в кампонге Акуариум было задуматься о том, что именно делает дом идеальным. Многие из жителей кампонга отмечают День независимости Индонезии, организуют конкурсы, например состязания по поеданию на скорость. И пускай в Джакарте часто случаются политические конфликты, люди там любят повеселиться. Мне хотелось связать свое исследование политической ситуации с празднованием Дня независимости, так что я организовал новый конкурс. Получилось и развлечение, и художественный проект. Я ездил туда ежедневно на протяжении трех недель, и мы обсуждали буквально все. Жители собрали семь команд, каждая из которых создала модель воображаемого дома. Были «Дом на небесах», «Дом со сценой», «Складной дом»… «Дом на небесах» — мечта детей кампонга. По их словам, «если у нас будет дом на небе, никто не может прийти и разрушить его».

Перевод с английского Артема Морозова

Авторы
Дзюн Китадзава
Художник, чьи проекты основаны на работе с сообществами. Родился в Токио. Закончил аспирантуру Токийского университета искусств. В 2016 году Китадзава вошел в рейтинг журнала Forbes «30 до 30» (Азия), а также получил премию от Japan Foundation Asia Center. Живёт и работает в Джокьякарте, Индонезия.