Lebanese Musicians’ Collaboration “Drone Sessions Vol. 1” Released

The project features fourteen different musicians grouped into pairs

Elyse Tabet.
Lujain Jo / Tunefork Studios

Ruptured Records has joined (virtual) forces with experimental musician Nathan Larson and his collective Lumen Project in Stockholm, Sweden to produce a series of recordings at Tunefork Studios in Beirut. Featuring a who’s who of leftfield Lebanese musicians: Jad Atoui, Liliane Chlela, Nadia Daou [NAR], Tony Elieh, Charbel Haber, Ziad Moukarzel, Sary Moussa, Jawad Nawfal, Julia Sabra, Anthony Sahyoun, Sharif Sehnaoui, Fadi Tabbal and Elyse Tabet, and Egyptian musician Aya Metwalli.

The fourteen musicians were grouped in pairs and invited to compose and play an original “drone” recording using the instrument(s) of their choice. The final result is seven tracks that freely incorporate ambient soundscapes, glitchy analog electronica, experimental drone rock, and free-floating vocals.