(EE)
EN / RU
News

CCA Announces the Winners of the Qatari Culture Research Grant

Piri Reis (1465-1555). Book of the Sea, copy of the 17th-18th centuries, Ottoman Empire. W.658.
The Walters Art Museum

In October, the Cultural Creative Agency held an open call among independent Russian researchers to participate in a grant program for the study of Qatari history and culture. The aim of the project is to look at the intangible heritage of Qatari through new perceptions within the current theoretical discourse, as well as to identify some of the unexpected parallels, analogies, and points of cross-cultural dialogue between the countries of the East.

Five researchers won the competition. Anna Varfolomeeva will develop the theme of care within heritage of the pearl in Qatar, Alevtina Borodulina will take up the traditions of storytelling using the example of expositions of Qatari museums, Alena Shapovalova will present a project about the past and future of the traditional decoration of the battoulah, Nikolai Smirnov will look for alternative geopolitical and geocultural models of nomadism, and Eva Rapoport will study the culture of nomads and the ways that digital technologies have pervaded it.

Each of them will receive a grant of 70,000 rubles, as well as the opportunity to travel to Doha (the exact date depends on the epidemic situation). The trip will be organized by and paid for by CCA. We will publish their research projects on the EastEast platform or in the print edition of the EastEast Paper.

(EE)
EN / RU
Новости

CCA объявило победителей гранта на исследования катарской культуры

Пири-реис (1465-1555). «Книга морей», копия XVII-XVIII вв., Османская империя W.658
The Walters Art Museum

В октябре Cultural Creative Agency проводило опен-колл на участие в грантовой программе по изучению катарской истории и культуры среди независимых российских исследователей. Цель проекта — новое прочтение катарского нематериального наследия внутри актуального теоретического дискурса, а также выявление неожиданных параллелей, аналогий и точек кросс-культурного диалога между странами Востока.

В конкурсе победили пять исследователей. Анна Варфоломеева будет развивать тему заботы в жемчужном наследии Катара, Алевтина Бородулина займется традициями сторителлинга на примере экспозиций катарских музеев, Алена Шаповалова представит проект о прошлом и будущем традиционного украшения «баттула», Николай Смирнов будет искать альтернативные геополитические и геокультурные модели номадизма, а Ева Рапопорт изучит культуру кочевников и проникновение в нее цифровых технологий.

Каждый из них получит грант в размере 70 000 рублей, а также возможность поехать в Доху (точная дата зависит от эпидемической ситуации), поездки организует и оплатит ССА. Исследования будут опубликованы на платформе EastEast и в печатном издании EastEast Paper.