(EE)
EN / RU
News

Black Quantum Futurism to Create an Artwork at Large Hadron Collider

Black Quantum Futurism at Community Futures Lab (Philadelphia).
Kenzi Foto / CERN

A multidisciplinary art group Black Quantum Futurism from Philadelphia will be taking part in a residency at CERN, the European nuclear research organization that operates the Large Hadron Collider. The duo of musician Camae Ayewa, known under her artistic alias Moor Mother and community activist Rasheedah Phillips were one of the winners of the annual competition Collide, where their proposal was selected out of 564 entries.

During a two-month residency in the summer of 2021, Black Quantum Futurism will be working with scientists from CERN on a new artwork: CPT Symmetry And Violation, based on the physics concept of charge conjugation, parity transformation, and time reversal.

"The project seeks to understand the ways in which quantum physics can influence how people think about, experience, and measure time in everyday reality, exploring the possibilities that quantum physics offers beyond the limitations of traditional, linear notions of time," explain the artists. "Through the project we will connect with scientists based at CERN to learn more about their investigations of time in physics—specifically through studying experiments being done on CPT symmetry, CERN scientists' investigations into quantum theories of gravity, and other phenomena of quantum physics as it concerns inquiries into time."

Black Quantum Futurism is a multidisciplinary collaboration between artists Camae Ayewa and Rasheedah Phillips. The duo explores the intersections of futurism, creative media, DIY-aesthetics, and activism in marginalized communities through an alternative temporal lens. They use writing, music, film, and visual art within creative research projects that center the idea that quantum mechanical interpretations of time are more in line with Afrocentric ways of thinking than those of the prevailing Western schools.

CERN is a European nuclear research organization and the largest particle physics laboratory in the world, based in Switzerland and France. Their main project since 2008 is the Large Hadron Collider—the world's largest and highest-energy particle collider and the largest machine in the world.

Read more on the website

(EE)
EN / RU
Новости

Black Quantum Futurism готовит проект в Большом адронном коллайдере

Black Quantum Futurism в лаборатории Community Futures Lab (Филадельфия).
Kenzi Foto / CERN

Междисциплинарная художественная группа Black Quantum Futurism из Филадельфии примет участие в исследовательской резиденции в ЦЕРН — крупнейшей в мире лаборатории физики высоких энергий, которая занимается экспериментами с Большим адронным коллайдером. Дуэт, состоящий из артистки Камае Айевы, известной под сценическим псевдонимом Moor Mother, и общественной активистки Рашиды Филипс, стал одним из победителей ежегодного конкурса Collide: предложение отобрали среди 564 заявок.

Во время двухмесячной резиденции летом 2021 года группа Black Quantum Futurism совместно с учеными ЦЕРН будет работать над художественным проектом CPT Symmetry And Violations, замысел которого основан на физической концепции инверсии заряда, четности и обратного хода времени.

«Цель этого проекта — понять, какими способами квантовая физика может влиять на то, как люди думают о времени, ощущают и измеряют его в каждодневной реальности, изучить возможности, которые квантовая физика может предложить вне рамок традиционного, линейного представления о времени, — объяснили художницы. — С помощью этого проекта мы установим контакт с учеными, живущими в ЦЕРН, и узнаем больше об их исследованиях времени в физике — в частности, путем изучения экспериментов в области CPT-симметрии, исследований квантовых теорий гравитации и других феноменов квантовой физики, касающихся времени».

Black Quantum Futurism — это междисциплинарная коллаборация художниц Камае Айевы и Рашиды Филипс. Дуэт занимается исследованиями пересечений футуризма, медиа, DIY-эстетики и активизма в маргинализированных сообществах, обращаясь к концепции альтернативного времени. В своих художественных практиках они используют тексты, музыку, кино и визуальное искусство, сосредоточенные на интерпретации времени в квантовой механике, которая больше соответствуют афроцентричным способам мышления, чем господствующим западным школам.

ЦЕРН — это Европейская организация по ядерным исследованиям и крупнейшая в мире лаборатория физики высоких энергий. Она находится на территории Швейцарии и Франции. Именно там в 2008 году открыли Большой адронный коллайдер — крупнейший в мире ускоритель заряженных частиц.

Больше информации — на сайте ЦЕРН.