(EE)
EN / RU
News

Fatima al-Qadiri's Dreamlike Album Is Available for Listeners

Fatima al-Qadiri.
Bandcamp

The Kuwaiti-based artist, musician, and composer has returned to Hyperdub to release an album inspired by classical Arabic female poetry. On Medieval Femme, Fatima al-Qadiri "invokes a simulated daydream through the metaphor of an Islamic garden, at the border between depression and desire, where the present temporarily dissolves, leaving only past and future."

Following the publication of the release of Shaneera for Hyperdub, Fatima recorded the soundtrack for the film Atlantics by French director and screenwriter Mati Diop, which won the 2019 Cannes Grand Prix. The restrained composition mixes drone sounds with the faint outline of an Arabic melody, bringing together the intense emotion of the film and the feeling of traveling between worlds.

The album Medieval Femme develops the ideas used on the soundtrack for Atlantics. It conveys the state of melancholic longing embodied in the medieval poetry of Arab women. Fatima seeks to transfer the listener to “a place of reverie and desolation, to question the line between two seemingly opposite states and rejoice in celestial sorrow.”

(EE)
EN / RU
Новости

Меланхолический альбом Фатимы аль-Кадири доступен для прослушивания

Фатима аль-Кадири.
Bandcamp

Художница, музыкант и композитор из Кувейта вернулась на лейбл Hyperdub, чтобы издать альбом, вдохновленный классической арабской женской поэзией. На пластинке Medieval Femme Фатима аль-Кадири «создает мечту-симуляцию через метафору исламского сада на границе между депрессией и желанием, где настоящее временно растворяется, оставляя только прошлое и будущее».

После публикации релиза Shaneera для Hyperdub Фатима записала саундтрек к фильму «Атлантика» французского режиссера и сценаристки Мати Диоп, получившей Гран-при Каннского фестиваля в 2019 году. Сдержанная композиция смешивает звуки дронов и слабые очертания арабской мелодии, совмещая напряженные эмоции фильма и ощущение путешествия между мирами.

Альбом Medieval Femme развивает идеи саундтрека к «Атлантике». Он передает состояние меланхолической тоски, воплощенное в средневековой поэзии арабских женщин. Фатима стремится перенести слушателя в пространство задумчивости и запустения, подвергнуть сомнению границу между этими несовместимыми состояниями и через них возрадоваться небесной печали.